We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great resort, but know your surroundings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy West, Sandestin, FL 32550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Sandestin
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great resort, but know your surroundings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The resort is beautiful, has tons to offer you and your family and is a resort to enjoy! We bought through a third party, but on arrival decided we wanted to pay for an upgrade to a larger suite. The hotel accommodated this request (although the pice was relatively high to do so.)The upgrade was beautiful and offered all the comforts of home. We were thrilled... Until the very first morning (Easter Sunday) when the renovation next door began at 7am.... We did not realize this was going to be the tone of our whole stay. On day two, renovation started once again at 7 with jack hammering for several hours. I called and spoke to the guest service manager. She promised to look into the matter and call me back to advise what was happening, if we needed to move, if Reno would discontinue. However, she NEVER bothered to call me back. The communication, her lack of care on follow up, and the lack of rest/relaxation thru our vacation was disappointing to say the least (we get only ONE vacation a year mind you.). This renovation and the poor communication almost ruined our trip. Upon my return home, it took me three calls to FINALLY talk to this MANAGER. One night of the UPGRADE fee was reduced off my bill. To me, seems a VERY MEAGER compensation offer.

Room Tip: Ask if there is anything going on in surrounding units. They claim that homeowners do not have to ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Nadra W,

Thank you for your review and your most recent stay with us. We apologize for the issue you encountered regarding the renovation on the unit close to you. We do our best to work with all of our owners in regards to these types of issues. I am so sorry for the inconvenience to you and your family. We strive to offer all of our guests the best possible guest service and I apologize we failed you. We do hope you will choose Sandestin again soon. Please contact me at executiveoffice@sandestin.com with your direct contact information. I would like to speak with you in more detail regarding your stay. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

755 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    335
    167
    107
    84
    62
See reviews for
294
146
6
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hills Village, CO
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the Baytown Grand in a very nice condo but this place is just not set up to serve as a fine hotel. After a long trip in from Denver we arrived late along with a slew of others only to find 1 competent person Aaron to check in the mob. The other clerk was basically useless since the use of the computer seemed to elude her. She couldn't find any reservations and had to get help on each and very party she attempted to check in. Took almost an hour to check in. Housekeeping provided incomplete or no service on 3 of the 5 nights we were there and took over an hour to get back to us with omissions like towels and washcloths. To be fair the concierge desk did whatever they could to make our stay excellent with special kudos to Carol and Mary .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Charles B,

Thank you for choosing Sandestin...we apologize that we fell short of your expectations of Sandestin and what we have to offer. Please know what you experienced at check-in is not the standard and we are so sorry for the delay and the inconveniences you encountered. Thank you for your comments on Aaron, Carol and Mary. They do a great job and offer amazing guest service. We do hope you will choose us again soon. Please feel free to contact me at executiveoffice@sandestin.com if you have any questions or concerns. We look forward to your next arrival.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I love Sandestin, and this place makes it easy. I have stayed in a different building each time I have been; however, I am always pleased. It provides all of the comforts of home so I don't feel cramped. Go to the grocery store and stock up on essentials to keep in your kitchen and you are all set. The short walk to the Wharf is the icing on the cake. Everything you need is right there. No car needed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
JaimeStanton,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We appreciate your business and we thank you for continuing to choose Sandestin and all we have to offer. You are correct...no need for a car. We have all the complimentary transportation you want and we offer 4 hours of free bike rental per day as well as many other complimentary amenities. We have 2400 beautiful acres to explore and enjoy. We are so glad you choose Sandestin and we look forward to your next visit!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I brought a tennis Dream Team to Sandestin this past weekend. We stayed on the resort at the Luau and played at the Sandestin Tennis Center. We were very pleased with our accommodations & with the staff at the tennis courts. Todd ,director of tennis, and his staff (David, Kevin & Jim) were great! We had so much fun and learned so much from their instruction! It was also fun meeting so many tennis players from all over. We will definitely be back for another Dream Team and for the tennis team challenges!!! Thanks Todd, David, Kevin & Jim.... y'all are great pros & we will be back soon!

Rhonda
Atlanta Georgia

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Rhonda M,

We are so happy to see you and your friends had an amazing time with us during the Dream Team weekend. Todd and the crew at the Tennis Center are the best. They have great tennis pros, staff and an excellent Tennis Retail Shop too. They are a team that always delivers great service, instruction and tons of fun for all of their events. We hope you had a chance to experience some of our complimentary amenities and took a little time out for the beach too!
We look forward to you participating in another Dream Team weekend soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort is out choice for vacation. They really understand the importance of a totally first class guest experience. There is something for everyone in your family and it doesn't matter if it is a family getaway or a romantic getaway, Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort has it all !! The resort goes above and beyond to make each and every guest happy! Why would anyone look for anything else when you have it all at this resort? Thank you for making our vacation one to remember and we definitely plan to return!!

Room Tip: Every accommodation there is exceptional !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Louis Y,

We want to thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us here at Sandestin Golf & Beach Resort. We are so pleased to see that you and your family had such a great time with us and created memories that will last a lifetime. We have so much to offer our registered guests and we are so happy you had a chance to experience our 2400 acres and some of our complimentary amenities. We look forward to you visiting us again to experiencing our wonderful resort and amazing guest service.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We will never stay here again. We stayed in Beachfront 2. We were promised a unit with a sunset view and when we opened the door to our unit is was facing straight East with a wall parallel to the beach. When we went back to the front desk, we were told no other units were available and had to spend the night in the first unit. The following day, after talking to at least 5 agents and explaining our situation to every one of them, we finally were moved to the other side of the building. It did face west but that was the only positive (Beachfront 1 blocked most of the view). The unit looked like it hadn't been upgraded since the 70's! 14 year old mattress (yuck!), dirty windows, dirty carpet, cheap appliances, rotted front door frame that would move when you shut the door, the list goes on...

Room Tip: If can't see a pic of the room online, don't book it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Rob05763,

Thank you for your most recent stay with us here at Sandestin. We were saddened to see that you were not completely satisfied with your accommodations and your stay. We strive to meet all of our guests needs and I apologize we failed you. We do hope you will reconsider and try Sandestin again in the future. We have so much to offer and what you experienced was unacceptable. Please feel free to contact me at executiveoffice@sandestin.com and I will personally take care of your reservations for you and your family. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and we look forward to you visiting us again in the future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Memphis, AR
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We went the last week of march and stayed at Beachside 1, weather wasn't great but the awesome condo made up for it! Great price too! But, the pull out bed in the sofa could've been a lot better, the only thing I can say about this condo that isn't positive is that. 9/10

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Paxton M,

Thank you for sharing your Sandestin experience on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your business and for you choosing to stay with us. We apologize the weather did not cooperate while you were here. We wish we could make the sun shine each and every day of the year for our guests. We have so much to do and we do hope you had a chance to enjoy some of our amenities. Again, we thank you for your business and we look forward to your next visit...we know the sun will be shining bright and you will be able to enjoy all of our 2400 acres!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort

Address: 9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy West, Sandestin, FL 32550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Sandestin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Sandestin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandestin Golf And Beach Hotel Sandestin
Sandestin Hotel And Beach
Sandestin Resort And Beach
Sandestin Golf Beach Resort
Sandestin Resort Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.