We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They always fall short of excellent!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy West, Sandestin, FL 32550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sandestin
Certificate of Excellence
Cherry Hills Village, CO
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
20 hotel reviews
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“They always fall short of excellent!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at the Baytown Grand in a very nice condo but this place is just not set up to serve as a fine hotel. After a long trip in from Denver we arrived late along with a slew of others only to find 1 competent person Aaron to check in the mob. The other clerk was basically useless since the use of the computer seemed to elude her. She couldn't find any reservations and had to get help on each and very party she attempted to check in. Took almost an hour to check in. Housekeeping provided incomplete or no service on 3 of the 5 nights we were there and took over an hour to get back to us with omissions like towels and washcloths. To be fair the concierge desk did whatever they could to make our stay excellent with special kudos to Carol and Mary .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Charles B,

Thank you for choosing Sandestin...we apologize that we fell short of your expectations of Sandestin and what we have to offer. Please know what you experienced at check-in is not the standard and we are so sorry for the delay and the inconveniences you encountered. Thank you for your comments on Aaron, Carol and Mary. They do a great job and offer amazing guest service. We do hope you will choose us again soon. Please feel free to contact me at executiveoffice@sandestin.com if you have any questions or concerns. We look forward to your next arrival.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    218
    117
    90
    73
See reviews for
349
190
11
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I love Sandestin, and this place makes it easy. I have stayed in a different building each time I have been; however, I am always pleased. It provides all of the comforts of home so I don't feel cramped. Go to the grocery store and stock up on essentials to keep in your kitchen and you are all set. The short walk to the Wharf is the icing on the cake. Everything you need is right there. No car needed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
JaimeStanton,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We appreciate your business and we thank you for continuing to choose Sandestin and all we have to offer. You are correct...no need for a car. We have all the complimentary transportation you want and we offer 4 hours of free bike rental per day as well as many other complimentary amenities. We have 2400 beautiful acres to explore and enjoy. We are so glad you choose Sandestin and we look forward to your next visit!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

I brought a tennis Dream Team to Sandestin this past weekend. We stayed on the resort at the Luau and played at the Sandestin Tennis Center. We were very pleased with our accommodations & with the staff at the tennis courts. Todd ,director of tennis, and his staff (David, Kevin & Jim) were great! We had so much fun and learned so much from their instruction! It was also fun meeting so many tennis players from all over. We will definitely be back for another Dream Team and for the tennis team challenges!!! Thanks Todd, David, Kevin & Jim.... y'all are great pros & we will be back soon!

Rhonda
Atlanta Georgia

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Rhonda M,

We are so happy to see you and your friends had an amazing time with us during the Dream Team weekend. Todd and the crew at the Tennis Center are the best. They have great tennis pros, staff and an excellent Tennis Retail Shop too. They are a team that always delivers great service, instruction and tons of fun for all of their events. We hope you had a chance to experience some of our complimentary amenities and took a little time out for the beach too!
We look forward to you participating in another Dream Team weekend soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort is out choice for vacation. They really understand the importance of a totally first class guest experience. There is something for everyone in your family and it doesn't matter if it is a family getaway or a romantic getaway, Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort has it all !! The resort goes above and beyond to make each and every guest happy! Why would anyone look for anything else when you have it all at this resort? Thank you for making our vacation one to remember and we definitely plan to return!!

Room Tip: Every accommodation there is exceptional !
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Louis Y,

We want to thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us here at Sandestin Golf & Beach Resort. We are so pleased to see that you and your family had such a great time with us and created memories that will last a lifetime. We have so much to offer our registered guests and we are so happy you had a chance to experience our 2400 acres and some of our complimentary amenities. We look forward to you visiting us again to experiencing our wonderful resort and amazing guest service.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsford, Vermont
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We will never stay here again. We stayed in Beachfront 2. We were promised a unit with a sunset view and when we opened the door to our unit is was facing straight East with a wall parallel to the beach. When we went back to the front desk, we were told no other units were available and had to spend the night in the first unit. The following day, after talking to at least 5 agents and explaining our situation to every one of them, we finally were moved to the other side of the building. It did face west but that was the only positive (Beachfront 1 blocked most of the view). The unit looked like it hadn't been upgraded since the 70's! 14 year old mattress (yuck!), dirty windows, dirty carpet, cheap appliances, rotted front door frame that would move when you shut the door, the list goes on...

Room Tip: If can't see a pic of the room online, don't book it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Rob05763,

Thank you for your most recent stay with us here at Sandestin. We were saddened to see that you were not completely satisfied with your accommodations and your stay. We strive to meet all of our guests needs and I apologize we failed you. We do hope you will reconsider and try Sandestin again in the future. We have so much to offer and what you experienced was unacceptable. Please feel free to contact me at executiveoffice@sandestin.com and I will personally take care of your reservations for you and your family. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and we look forward to you visiting us again in the future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Memphis, AR
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We went the last week of march and stayed at Beachside 1, weather wasn't great but the awesome condo made up for it! Great price too! But, the pull out bed in the sofa could've been a lot better, the only thing I can say about this condo that isn't positive is that. 9/10

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Paxton M,

Thank you for sharing your Sandestin experience on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your business and for you choosing to stay with us. We apologize the weather did not cooperate while you were here. We wish we could make the sun shine each and every day of the year for our guests. We have so much to do and we do hope you had a chance to enjoy some of our amenities. Again, we thank you for your business and we look forward to your next visit...we know the sun will be shining bright and you will be able to enjoy all of our 2400 acres!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverly Hills, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

THE place to stay on the Emerald Coast! Wide variety of accommodations in all price ranges. User and family friendly with terrific transportation system to get around the property. Clean well maintained beaches, bike rentals, super selection of golf courses, large selection of quality and affordable restaurants with tasty offerings, clean well maintained pools and the Village of Baytown Wharf offers everything a guest with kids could want! Check in was a breeze with knowledgeable and friendly staff. The rooms were clean, well maintained and equipped for a vacationing family! Housekeeping was efficient and prompt with attention to detail that is usually found only at a five star resort! We were impressed and know you will be to! Hint... Try the Marina Grill or BBQ stand! Executive Chef Jay will make your mouth water with a tempting menu, friendly service and reasonable prices. Thanks Jay for providing super service and an outstanding meal! This reviewer and his family will be back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
HospitalityPros,

Thank you so much for choosing Sandestin and for the great five star review. We see you had an amazing time with us here at the resort. It seems you had a chance to take in all we have to offer...especially plenty of our wonderful food and beverage. Chef Jay does and amazing job and the food and beverage is always outstanding. Whether it is a BBQ at the beach on the weekends to the wings and such at the Marina Bar and Grill...it is all mouth watering and fulfilling. Again, thank you for your review, we appreciate your business and we look forward to you visiting us again soon!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort

Address: 9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy West, Sandestin, FL 32550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Sandestin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sandestin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 1265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandestin Golf And Beach Hotel Sandestin
Sandestin Hotel And Beach
Sandestin Resort And Beach
Sandestin Golf Beach Resort
Sandestin Resort Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.