We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy West, Sandestin, FL 32550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Sandestin
Columbus, Georgia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

A beautiful resort with lots to do and amenities galore! Great for a family getaway or a romantic trip for two. You can stay on the property for dining and entertainment. Four golf courses and swimming pools everywhere!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
dsmith_allen,

We are so pleased to see you had such a great time with us here at Sandestin. We have so much to offer and to do among our 2400 acres. There are miles of bike trails and walking trails to explore and check out all the lakes and wildlife. From bikes to beach there is something for everyone...not to mention the four amazing golf courses we have here on the property. We appreciate you choosing Sandestin and please visit us again soon and enjoy all we have to offer.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

763 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    339
    169
    106
    85
    64
See reviews for
298
147
6
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The property has some great attributes - lovely beaches, spacious rooms/ condos, nice pools. But it's very strangly laid out. If you're staying at a beach walk condo, there's no well marked path to the beach. The few paths they have are not lit at night. The restaurants are miles away (literally). And the "town" area where most of the restaurants are reminds me of a multi unit Chuckee Cheeses mixed with an enormous TGIFs (only jot as nice). It's completely charmless. I suppose if you like to drink badly mixed cocktails and have kids who like charmless kids attractions it would be fine. But it wasn't really for me.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Kim T,

Thank you for visiting us here at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. We appreciate your business and for you choosing Sandestin. We were saddened to see you were not completely satisfied with your time here. We have so much to offer and we do hope you had a chance to take advantage of some of our complimentary amenities. We look forward to you choosing Sandestin when you are in our area again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VEAZIE ME
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Excellent resort. Never need to leave the property - golf, beach. walking. Most beautiful beach anywhere. The guys taking care of the beach cabanas etc were excellent - Joey, Jason, Destry and Alex. The 4 golf courses are all fun and challenging to play and Burnt Pine is a first class course.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
JIM M,

Thank you so much for your review of your extended stay with us. We are so pleased you had a great time here at Sandestin. We do have so much to do that you actually never have to leave the resort. From bikes to kayaks and everything in between and of course, plenty of golf and beach for everyone. We are pleased to see you were able to take advantage of all of our courses, Burnt Pine included. Thank you for your comments on the Beach Team...they all do an amazing job on a daily basis 365 days a year for all of our guests and owners. They are the true definition of guest service, hospitality and all that we are about here at Sandestin. Thank you again and we look forward to your stay with us for the 2013-14 winter!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Luau and it was ok. We could hear the people talking in the room next to us. The rooms are a little overpriced, especially when you realize the internet cost almost $10 a day. The staff was great.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Rob W,

Thank you for choosing Sandestin. We appreciate your business and we look forward to you visiting us again soon. We are sorry to see you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We strive to meet all of our guests needs and expectations. We hope you had a chance to take advantage of some of our many complimentary amenities we offer our registered guests. We have so much to do and see here at Sandestin and we look forwrd to your next stay!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Tomorrow is our last night of a week at Sandestin. We are staying in the Grand area of the resort which is perfect for small children because of easy access to the Village. The Village offers great opportunities for kids. Make sure to buy the two day pass for zip lines, etc. It will save you a lot of money and will allow the kids unlimited access.

Our stay began a little rocky with the front desk attendant's inability to find our reservation. I would expect you exhaust every resource when this happens to guests before you make them do the work to prove you have the reservation. Basically the front desk attendant made me print out my reservation although she could have looked this up by the credit card number. Ultimately the manager came to the desk and found the reservation quickly by looking up the card. Unfortunately it took about an hour in the middle of a long travel day with an edgy family. It just really makes me mad when someone act so lazy.

The concierge, Carol was overhearing all of this and was trying desperately to make things right. This is where Sandestin Golf and Beach Club really showed outstanding hospitality and customer service. Even though the night manager had given us a couple of complementary beach set ups, about an hour later we heard a light knock on the door. Carol had gone out of her way to bring us a couple of complimentary meals at the Marina Beach Club.

With that kind of start our stay has been excellent. No doubt about it that this resort is upscale, clean, awesome rooms, and you really never need to leave the campus. The restaurants (some) are good/great. That said, don't think the tram will easily get you around. I heard a lot of people complaining while I was walking by the stops about the timeliness. Also, during Spring Break I have seen very little over the top rowdiness even though I have snuck out at night to have some drinks. Oh, and mentioning drinks, because the bars and restaurants let you walk out with drinks on the resort, parents can enjoy their adult beverages while letting the kids play in all of the open spaces, playgrounds, ziplines, ropes courses, etc. Seriously balanced fun family nights.

For our pretty demanding family, Sandestin ranks up there as one of the best if not the best for families that we have visited.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
TimmyJC,

We are so pleased to see you had such a great time with us here at Sandestin. We have something for everyone of every age. From the activities at Adventure Zone for the kids to sitting and relaxing outside at one of our many restaurants for the adults...we are pleased to see you enjoyed both. We do apologize for the issue you encountered at check-in. Please know this is not our standard. Thank you for your comments regarding Carol as she is amazing and delivers superb guest service on a daily basis without fail. She truly exemplifies what we are all about. We do hope you will choose to visit us again soon and enjoy more of our complimentary amenities. We look forward to your next stay!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We spend our spring break at the Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. We stayed in a one bedroom condo in the Village of Baytowne Wharf and it was a great decision because the weather was a bit chilly 50-60 degrees each day, but sunny and being at the beach was cold! The pool outside our condo was heated, so the kids enjoyed the much needed sun and water time. The condo had all the conveniences of home and the village had lots of activities for the kids to be outside and have fun. Plus the village had some cute shops and good restaurants, especially the Marlin Grill. Many mornings we got up with coffee in hand and explored the large property. There were joggers, bikers and moms with strollers all enjoying the beautiful property and sunshine. Destin is a great area with lots of public beaches where we did spend a few afternoons, but you could also use the tram to take you the beach from the village side of the resort. It was a very relaxing and easy spring break!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
carolanne04,

Thank you for your review of Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort! We certainly appreciate you choosing to stay with us during Spring Break. So happy to see the children enjoyed the heated pool as we did have a few chilly days. We have so much to offer here among our 2400 acres that there is never a lack of entertainment. From bikes trails to walking trails to the Village of Baytowne Wharf and all it has to offer. We do hope you choose Sandestin for Spring Break 2014!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The room was updated, clean and we had spectacuar views of the ocean. Everyone we met from the staff was very friendly and helpful, especially the Front Desk. The Sandestin is the best Resort in the area and it offers so many things to do for the entire family. This is truly a resort - great golf courses, village restaurants with many selections of types of food and great clubs for nightime entertainment for the adults. My kids had a great at the beach, the pools, paddle boarding and use of the resorts complimentary boogie boards. Well be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort

Address: 9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy West, Sandestin, FL 32550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Sandestin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Sandestin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Tingo, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandestin Golf And Beach Hotel Sandestin
Sandestin Hotel And Beach
Sandestin Resort And Beach
Sandestin Golf Beach Resort
Sandestin Resort Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.