We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy West, Sandestin, FL 32550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sandestin
Nicholasville, Kentucky
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Stayed in March in the Luau. All the rooms are way overpriced, even through BookIt with the lowest rates we could find. The studio is ~$250/night, got it for 149.
ROOM: Luau Studio. Was nice sized, perfect for two, but no burner in kitchen so no way to cook at home. No balcony or opening windows which was rough, but we knew ahead of time. Ask for a high floor for a good view. Great soft bed. Sundeck was nice, but locked twice so we couldnt use it.
COST: On the beach, the set of umbrellas and 2 chairs was $70. The WiFi was $10/day. Roomservice was extra, there was a resort fee for EACH day you stay. Plus a cleaning fee. The shuttle was nice, and free, but the Village was WAY overpriced, the "nicer" restaurants had sandwiches for 17, ended up eating at the 50's burger place. There is a Village fee on top of the sales tax, Id say ~3% of the bill. Walked around once and that was enough for the trip. Beautiful landscaping, as was expected with the price.
BEACH: Beautiful, white sand blue water. Saw dolphins and lots of birds. However, it was suprisingly crowded and I can't imagine what it's like in the summer with all the people. Lots of teens blasting music, who's mommy and daddy are probably owners, or check them in (there is a rule you have to be 25 to check in, except at LeCiel. Very few waves, except after a rainy day we had. Lots of sandbars to walk on. Freezing water temps in March. Nice pool, always packed hot tub.
LOCATION: Perfect. 2 mins to the outlets, 10 mins to the Destin beaches. Lots of restaurants and shops. Only negative was the county roads to get there, over 2.5 hrs of our 10hr drive was county roads, after Montgomery to the beach there is no Interstate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high as possible to get a view. Even the non beach views are great. Just get high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear gocatsgo1010,

We thank you for choosing Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort for your most recent visit to our area. We were saddened to see you were not completely satisfied with your stay. We have so much to offer and a little bit of something for everyone. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss your stay in more detail at executiveoffice@sandestin.com. We do hope you will choose to visit us again!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    187
    110
    87
    65
See reviews for
311
163
8
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, Indiana, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Nice location and secured resort. We stayed at LeCiel on the bayside of the property. Shuttle service was rather slow at times so only use if you have an hour to get back to your room. Rooms were clean but nothing really spectacular. It suited our needs and had a keurig which was nice.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
JessicaN,

Thank your for your review of Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. We appreciate your business and we look forward to your next stay with us. We have so much to offer here among our 2400 acre playground...everything from beach to bay, bikes and tennis and of course...golf. We hope you had a chance to enjoy some of our complimentary amenities during your stay at LeCiel. We do apologize for the transportation being a bit behind. We have just revamped the entire system and we are confident you will see a difference on your next stay.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tullahoma, Tennessee
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the Sandestin Resort. The staff were very friendly and had a wealth of local knowledge like shortcuts and better places to eat, most importantly how to avoid the crazy spring breakers and their traffic. The resort is wonderfully maintained and very meticulously landscaped and cleaned daily by staff and street sweepers. The Baytowne Wharf area was great, it really puts everything you may need right at your front door. We stayed on the Fifth (top) floor of the Pilot House location, which backs up to the Wharf, and provided a great view of the golf course and some of the residential area. The food at each of the places we went was better than average, we particularly enjoyed Acme Oyster House, Bistro Bijoux, Marlin Grill and Another Broken Egg (great breakfast). Avoid Hartell's Diner, mediocre at best. The room was very well appointed except for the old tube tv's and no wifi, but are you really going to sit in the room. The full kitchen and washer and dryer were very helpful as we were there for over a week. We enjoyed our stay immensely, and if you are a golfer, play a round at the Links Course its is worth the cost.

Room Tip: Just ask what the view will be, they will tell you what to expect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
jr37388,

Thank you so much for staying with us here at Sandestin. We thank you for your business and we do hope you will choose to join us again soon. We have so much to offer here at Sandestin and we hope you had a chance to take advantage of some of our many complimentary amenities we offer our registered guests. I see you had a great time in the Village and enjoyed many of the shops and restaurants. When you are here...golf is a must! Links is a great course and happy to see you enjoyed your game. Please know, our staff is always here to help! We love being able to assist our guests in any way possible. Do not hesitate to contact me at executiveoffice@sandestin.com if I can ever be of assistance.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reston va
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We checked into Sandestin Golf Resort at 9 PM on a weekday night. Though we asked for kingsized bed, none were available to us at check in. So they gave us two queens. Not the same thing. Our room at le Ciel (a separate building of many in the resort which is huge) was small and made me claustrophobic. The view was nice. But the room needed an updating. The electrical plate in the bathroom was actually loose and hanging. We changed the next morning to a 1 bedroom condo for more money. It was very nice and provided us with everything we needed and more. But nowhere in the room was there any information about the resort, the spas, the golf, NOTHING. Usually, they give you a packet at check in info. NO info! The good thing about Sandestin Resort is that the Baytowne area has a lot of shops and restaurants. There are several golf courses, but we were surprised to see that there was not a nice little golf course cafe at our course. Just a place OUTdoors. And it was a windy 50 degrees. And it was very crowded on the course, indeed.

Room Tip: The wind is wicked in Springtime. Try to find a balcony room that is protected from wind!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
RestonVaDentist,

Thank you for choosing Sandestin for your most recent stay in our area. We appreciate your business and we do hope you will visit us again soon. I was saddened to see the experience you had here at the resort. Please know this is not the standard at Sandestin. We strive to meet all of our guests needs and expectations and I see we failed you. Please contact me at executiveoffice@sandestin.com at your convenience as I would like to discuss your stay in more detail. We have so much to offer here at Sandestin and we do want you to come and join us again soon. I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I recently stayed here with my family and overall we were very happy with our stay at Observation Point North in the Village of Baytowne Wharf. The condo we rented from the owner was very clean and in a perfect location, just steps away from the action in the village, plus it had a private pool and hot tub and a nice courtyard area that was very up-kept. We were very disappointed though that the village area was practically a ghost town and many activities were either not open or had limited hours. We understand now that it's only the beginning of the busy season, but when I called to ask questions before we made the reservation, everyone I talked to said things would be open and that it would be very busy and there would be lots of nightlife for us to enjoy because of spring break. We still had a really good time and everyone we ran into that worked in the resort was very friendly, but I wish when I called before I had been given a more accurate idea of what it would be like this time of year. I would recommend this resort to anyone who wants to relax but if you're looking for somewhere with lots to do with other young adults, don't come in early March (it's mostly empty, except older people!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
TravelChickMeg,

Thank you for choosing Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort for your most recent stay in our area. We appreciate your business and we do hope you will visit us again soon. We are so pleased to see you had a great stay and enjoyed the resort and all we have to offer among our 2400 acres. We apologize you were not completely satisfied with the activities in the Village. We are now in full swing of Spring Break and then we will be a haven of activity for the rest of the spring and summer season. We do have a period of limited hours due to business until around March 12th. Again, we appreciate your choosing us and we look forward to you visiting us again.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We are two couples and booked golf packages at Sandestin for three nights and two rounds of golf for each. Our planner, Lynn Creek, put us in a very well appointed cottage proved comfortable for two couples. The only problem we had was on checkout. We had requested a late checkout since we were playing golf on the final day. We were told that it would be a $44 charge for 3PM checkout. Reluctantly we agreed, but when we returned to load our luggage we were locked out. However, a call to Ms. Creek settled the matter a bellman quickly arrived with a proper key. We played the Raven and Baytown courses and, although windy and cold, we enjoyed both. The pro shop was well stocked for cold weather gloves and sock hats. .

Room Tip: The resort has a variety of rooms and if a couple, the cottages offer great convenience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Owner at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
traveler938,

Thank you so much for your review and for visiting Sandestin! We appreciate your business and are so glad you had such a wonderful stay with us. Thank you for your comments on Lynn Creek...she does an amazing job handling our golf group reservations and tee times. She is certainly an asset to Sandestin. We do hope you enjoyed great golf at Baytowne and Raven Golf Clubs. Please contact me at executiveoffice@sandestin.com regarding the $44.00 charge you received as I would like to discuss in more detail. Again, we appreciate your choosing Sandestin and we look forward to you joining us again soon.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My small business had a one-day conference and we all spent the weekend on the property. Most of us were in the Grand Sandestin, while one of our families had a small dog and stayed in an adjacent pet-friendly building. All this is adjacent to the Village at Baytowne Wharf. Service related to our conference was first rate, regardless of the fact we were fewer than 20 participants. The room we stayed in was a condominium with a full kitchen, eating area, and gathering place, along with one bedroom and two bathrooms. It was very clean and importantly, quiet. Our view was out the front of the building with a wooded residential area and part of one of the golf courses. There was a very large porch with a table and chairs. The staff in the lobby and at the door were genuinely friendly and helpful. The lobby is grand with a small bar at one end. There is parking under the building, which is convenient when loading and unloading. This time of year, the azaleas were in bloom as were pansies and tulips everywhere. Grass was green. Although it was quite cool and often windy, the grounds lend themselves to nice walks, with the shops and restaurants a short distance away. Enjoyable all the way around.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of Choctaw Bay, but having stayed there a several times in the past, we'v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
PensacolaPeg,

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are pleased to see that you had a great stay with us here at Sandestin and that your conference was a success. We strive to meet all of our guests and group needs, whether large or small. We do hope you had a chance to get out on the resort and enjoy some of our 2400 acres and the complimentary amenities we offer. We do have a lot to see and do and something for all ages. We look forward to your next stay with us as you mix business with pleasure and get the best of both worlds here at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort

Address: 9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy West, Sandestin, FL 32550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Sandestin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sandestin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 1265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Venere and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandestin Golf And Beach Hotel Sandestin
Sandestin Hotel And Beach
Sandestin Resort And Beach
Sandestin Golf Beach Resort
Sandestin Resort Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.