We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of Our Favorite Places” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy West, Sandestin, FL 32550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Sandestin
Panama City Beach
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“One of Our Favorite Places”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We are from Panama City Beach and travel to Sandestin a few times a year. There is nothing like having a room just minutes from so many attractions like the beach, restaurants, bars, stores, and the bay. I highly recommend staying in the village if you like a high energy atmosphere without all of the noise. we have never had a bad time.

Room Tip: Sta in the village as opposed to the beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Dear Jon S,

Thank you for choosing to spend your time with us here at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. So nice to see that you chose to come to the resort for your "staycation". We are pleased you had such a great time in the Village of Baytowne Wharf. Between the shopping, dining, entertainment and the beach, you never have to leave Sandestin. We appreciate you choosing us and we look forward to your next visit! Be sure to download our Sandestin App to see all that is going on on the resort!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    352
    175
    108
    87
    64
See reviews for
304
153
6
118
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando FL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have stayed at several hotels in the Fort Walton Beach area over the past couple of years but we decided to try the Sandestin last weekend for a quick getaway. This hotel was incredible-great location and the staff was very friendly. I am a stickler for cleanliness and my room was very, very clean, updated and offered beautiful views. This is now my hotel of choice!

Room Tip: The Sandestin Golf Course was like playing on carpet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
FlyingRN,

Thank you so much for the 5 star review! We appreciate your business and we are so happy to see you had such an amazing stay with us at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. We have so much to offer and something for everyone in the family. We hope you had a chance to take advantage of some of our complimentary amenities we offer our registered guests. Again, thank you for choosing to come STAY and PLAY with us here at Sandestin. We look forward to your next visit!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

All the staff members you encounter are most friendly, you will always receive a warm greeting in the lobby and by the housekeepers. The grounds are maintained and manicured. It is the little things that need attention, in the hallways there is numerous different light bulbs used, towels propping open service doors. The fitness room equipment is a bit outdated, workable but you can see not a a priority. When we were here the pools were being resurfaced they did make other arrangements which was courteous.
The location is great, walking distance to most everything. It's an ok choice but there are a number of alternatives. Attention to detail will help this property

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hopman_333,
Thank you for your review and for choosing Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort on your most recent visit to our area. We appreciate your business and we look forward to your next stay with us. Please know what you encountered is not the standard here at Sandestin. We pride ourselves in keeping "the house" in order and it seems we missed some of the little things during your stay. We do have an amazing staff and they offer the best possible guest service. We do hope you choose Sandestin again. Please feel free to contact me at executiveoffice@sandestin.com if you ever have any questions regarding Sandestin. I would love to assist you in making your next reservation. We look forward to your next stay.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Accompanied my husband on a get-away weekend while he spent a day at a meeting. Simply, the promotional materials on line and in email did not fit the actual establishment. First, we spent nearly an hour trying to find the hotel with backward directions and no spot on our GPS. Second, the place is huge, and if you stay in the Grande hotel, you are not near a beach, which is what I drove 500 miles to see -- I think it was across a main road on another part of the resort. There is no food in the hotel, no spa, and nothing to do if you are not able bodied. The rooms are old and there is no vanity in the bathroom so you have to balance your travel kit on the side of the tub or sink. The TV gave out twice in the afternoon while I wiled away my day. Unfortunately, and not the fault of the hotel, we were here on a 49 degree weekend, so sitting outdoors was not possible.

Here is what I will say, and I will try to be fair:
-- If you are a less mobile person, there are no grab bars on the very, very deep tubs in the rooms.
-- If you are a less mobile person, there are shuttles with steps, porches with steps, etc.
-- If you are a less mobile person, the food is far away and the lines can be long. All restaurants are more expensive than most.
If you are a less mobile person, you will probably not use the free amenities like bikes and boogie boards.

I encountered a slightly fresh young man at the front desk who wondered why I could just not sit in my room while the chamber-lady made up the room, which did not happen until 3:05 pm. By this point, I was ready to go the 500 miles home. Really disappointed that I was not physically able to partake of the activities like eating and manicures. If you are physically fit, perhaps this will be a bettter "fit" for you. It was clean and the grounds are lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Queeniereads,
Thank you for choosing Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. We appreciate your business and we look forward to your next stay. We are saddened to see you did not completely enjoy your stay with us. We apologize you were not satisfied with your assigned unit. We have many different unit types to choose from as well as many beachfront units. We do hope you will choose to visit us again. Please contact me at executiveoffice@sandestin.com when making your next reservation. I will personally see you are placed in a unit that will meet your every need and allow you to enjoy all we have to offer. Again, we thank you for choosing Sandestin and we look forward to your next visit.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

this was my second stay at a resort so far this is number 1 in my books, i was so amaze to what i saw from check in to going to my room, i had a 1 bedroom suite which look like a 2 bedroom apt my room # 4292 Beach towers II, IT HAD EVERY THING YOU NEED , AND I MEAN EVERYTHING, The ONLYthing YOU NEED IS food and drinks,but you want have to go far for that every store you need is right there in town, are there is a market on site,this will not be my last trip, i was very ,very please, and i cant say enough about my room view,just awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: go to you-tube and look and videos it really help me
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Tracy54,
We want to thank you for your five star review of our amazing 2400 acres. We appreciate your business and for you choosing to stay with us again. We are so happy to see you had another amazing stay with us. You are correct....we are a one stop shop. We have everything you could possiby need or want within the gates of Sandestin. We have shopping, dining, activities, golf and so much more. We also have the most amazing beaches around. We are the place to come and stay and play! We look forward to your next stay with us here at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. Please feel free to contact me at executiveoffice@sandestin.com if you need anything during your next stay.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boonville, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Great place for a vacation for a weekend or a couple of weeks or more. If you like golf, this is your place to stay. There are four golf courses on the property. There are walking and bicycling areas and you can even rent the bicycles there. You can eat at various restaurants and shop at interesting shops. In other words, you won't need to leave the property. The only problem we had was it rained for four days we were there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Sportsnut-4,
Thank you so much for choosing Sandestin!!! We appreciate your business and are so happy to see you enjoyed your time with us. We are pleased to see you had a chance to take advantage of some of our many amenities. We are 2400 acres of gorgeous, wonderful and amazing fun. We have so much to offer our registered guest here at Sandestin.

We are glad the rain is gone and we have amazing sunshine and warm weather on the way! We look forward to your return and please do not hesitate to contact me at executiveoffice@sandestin.com if you have any questions at all.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I made reservations at the Luau very late. Our room was a first-floor room with a view of some bushes and the walkway to the parking lot. You enter through the parking garage which leads through a very unattractive basement hallway adjacent to the laundry before entering the elevators. Certainly not very glamorous.
The room had a nice well furnished kitchenette, and a pleasant large sitting area. Both televisions were low end flat panel screens with poor picture quality. The bathroom of course was small with essentially no counterspace around the sink. The tub-shower combination is step in, slippery, and definitely not for the older individual. The bedroom was very small with a cheap mattress. Any movement of your spouse is going to shake the entire bed. Housekeeping is an extra charge. Definitely not on my repeat list.

Room Tip: Choose another floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear TFCJR,
Thank you for your most recent stay with us here at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. We apologize you were not completely satisfied with your accommodations at Luau. We have so much to offer here among our 2400 acres and so many accommodations to choose from. We certainly hope you will visit us again. Please contact me at executiveoffice@sandestin .com when making your next reservation and I will see you are placed in a unit that you will be completely satisfied with and meets your expectations of what we have to offer.
Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and we look forward to your next stay with us here at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort

Address: 9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy West, Sandestin, FL 32550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Sandestin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Sandestin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandestin Golf And Beach Hotel Sandestin
Sandestin Hotel And Beach
Sandestin Resort And Beach
Sandestin Golf Beach Resort
Sandestin Resort Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.