We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good For Golfers and Families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy West, Sandestin, FL 32550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Sandestin
Chattanooga, Tennessee, United States
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good For Golfers and Families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This is a very large , very posh resort with gorgeous landscaping, a beautiful pool and hot tub. We were in condos that were back from the beach. The seventh floor did have vistas of the beach over a parking lot. The walk to the beach was pleasant enough ,past the pool and onto a board walk that leads to the beach.

This beach is breathtakingly white and gorgeous in every way. Although it was Nov. we were able to walk the beach for miles in clean white sand with few people mostly birds. The water is superior.

We rented from an individual and I think we had a great bargain.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear emazon2000,
Thank you for your wonderful review regarding your most recent visit to Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. So happy to see you had a wonderful time and enjoyed the resort. We would love for you to make your reservation with us at 1-800-277-0800 and take advantage of all of the wonderful complimentary amenities we offer...from free bikes to kayaks, tennis, unlimited transportation and more. We appreciate your business and look forward to your return.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    348
    174
    107
    87
    64
See reviews for
303
151
6
117
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We were very pleased with our traded time share week at the Sandestin Resort. We opted for the Bay Club of Sandestin, which is a Wyndham property. The check in went very smoothly and the reception staff were very engaging and helpful. The unit (505) was spacious, well appointed, in good repair, and had a nice view of the bay. The extensive grounds of the entire resort were impeccably maintained, and the resort had an ideal location. As a guest of the resort, we were able to use the facilities and beautiful sugar sand beach of the Hyatt, as well as play any of the four golf courses (4 - 5 star) within the resort. Baytowne Wharf, a dining and entertainment complex within the resort, offers many dining and drinking establishments, with several offering live entertainment and dancing. There is a free tram which circles the entire resort every 20 minutes, so you never have to drive to and from Baytowne Wharf, the pool, the beach, or even the golf courses. There is even an on-line tram tracker for your convenience.

Room Tip: Ask for a unit on the fourth floor, or above, on the bay side for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Dupers,

Thank you so much for the 5 star rating. We appreciate your business and thank you so much for choosing Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. We are glad you enjoyed the resort and all our 2400 acres has to offer. We look forward to your next visit!!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Excellent location for group trip or reunion. Many activities, shopping, dining, and entertainment to keep everyone busy and safe in one place.

However, I was there alone for business and became a little bored on the compound after second night. With a rental car it was a quick trip to Destin proper or venture 20 min east to Seaside. Either way you're in a great location to enjoy the resort or wander around a bit.

Cons-Room left a little bit to be updated. Toliet had been scrubbed so much the white paint was coming off. Thick shag carpet..eh. There's no tolietries availavle either comp, vending or sundries stand. You are in the middle of a very large resort so you'd think they'd have a little shop or something for emergencies. Come prepared. This stay was at the end of the season so the hallways were always vacent...a little Shining creepy.

Pros-Kitchenette was perfect and had everything you needed to dine a few meals on a budget or actually enjoy the leftovers from the night before. Pool and hottubs were great. Beach access great even if you are staying on the Bayside. Tram will drive you over. Staff was beyond helpful and super sweet.

Bottom line, I would love to get a couple friends together and all meet here for a vacation. There was plenty to do for a family and concidering the ave price in the area, cost was fair if not great for amenities provided.

Bonus- Gulf swimming and sunset worth the trip.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear ChiRedFlyer,
Thank you so much for your great review of Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us. We do have so much to offer and we look forward to you returning to enjoy every inch of the resort. I do apologize that you were not completely satisfied with your unit. We strive to keep all of our units in the best possible condition for all of our guests. Please contact me at executiveoffice@sandestin.com upon your return and I will see you are placed in a unit that meets/exceeds your expectations. We look forward to your next visit.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Super getaway with everything you need right on the resort! Tennis courts and staff were awesome! Location, restaurants, shopping, late night scene were perfect! Great for family or a perfect girls weekend!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Stephanie A,

Thanks to you and your girlfriends for choosing Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort for your most recent "Girls Weekend". There is so much fun to be had and shopping to be done here in the Village of Baytowne Wharf. We are so happy to see you all had a great time and enjoyed every minute of it. Todd and everyone at the Tennis Center are great and they always have a good time and go above and beyond when taking care of our tennis guests.
We look forward to your next "Girls Weekend".

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daleville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I booked here for the sole purpose of attending the beer festival so didn't explore much of the property but it is a typical resort property with mostly privately owned condos that they rent out. I stayed right at Baytowne which was perfect, there are shops and clubs right there and has quite a few things for the kids to do also. Zip lines, merry go round etc.. They have a shuttle that will take you around the property so you can catch it to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Fredy F,

Thank you for your most recent stay with us during the BeerFest. We appreciate your business and your choosing to stay at Sandestin. Glad to see you had a great time and enjoyed all of the amenities and festivities at the Village and BeerFest. We have 2400 acres for you to explore and take advantage of golf courses, beach, marina and so much more. We do hope you will visit us again and make good use of our many complimentary amenities we offer our guests who book through Sandestin. We look forward to your stay and your exploring our world here at Sandestin.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

First of all, we wanted to share our experience and what we learned with you all so you can enjoy a negative-free experience.
When we were looking into booking a stay with Sandestin, there were many reviews ranging from excellent to bad online. All the bad ones had "hidden fees" as the main issue. We called the Sandestin Resort and asked them straight out what the "hidden fees" negative write-ups were all about. They explained that anyone booking with a third party company (i.e.: Southwest.com, travelocity, expedia, orbitz, priceline etc..) will not get the real price. Sandestin explained these third party companies are advertising a lower price to get you to book with them, but they do not include 12% of the cost, leaving that for when you check in. Just the kind of surprise you do NOT want when starting your vacation. If you book straight with Sandestin, then everything is included (parking, housekeeping, bikes, canoe, kayak, tennis, etc..) If you book outside (travel site) then you will be paying more when you get there. Sandestin is not the bad guy here, the third party companies are doing them a disservice (and the customer too) when they do not disclose this important info. With that said- here is the rest of the review...

A GREAT time was had! The resort was clean, everyone super friendly, we felt totally safe, walking at night, anywhere on the property. We stayed in the Le Ciel and it was nice, clean and had everything we needed. We loved the free 4 hrs a day bikes, and used the walking and biking trails that go anywhere in the 2500 acre resort. We would definitely go back to Sandestin. The only thing we would change is maybe renting a cottage or small house for the same price as the hotel. We did not know enough about the property to look into this before we got there. But we would love to go back and enjoy ourselves again in the Sandestin Resort!

Room Tip: Check with vrbo.com and get a deal on a house. Bay side rooms have sunny morning only, Resort side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear BandL B,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review about your most recent stay here at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. We are happy to see you and your family were able to enjoy so much of our 2400 acres from beach to bay. I see you had a chance to enjoy many, if not all of our wonderful complimentary amenities we offer our guests who rent through Sandestin or one of our many online travel agencies. We do have a resort fee that is paid by our guests who book with us. If you book with one of our online travel agents this fee is collected upon check in here at the resort. This fee helps to fund the many complimentary amenities as well as our unlimited complimentary resort transportation. Hope you made many memories this time while you were here. We are so happy you and your family had such a great time with us and we look forward to your next stay!
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The pictures online showed the wonderful beach on the Gulf of Mexico. Our room overlooked a bay with trees between us and the bay. The 2400 acre complex is a mostly condo neighborhood with many people living there full time. Some buildings have hotel like setups but the rooms are condos owned by others. There are restaurants and shops on the premises but it is sometimes confusing learning where they are and how to get to them. There is a shuttle that transverses the resort, but we waited 52 minutes for a shuttle that was supposed to run every 30 minutes. The ride back from the beach at sunset was very crowded and we got to know the people next to us a little too well, if you know what I mean. We had a car but we could not find parking except for some decks that are not close to the restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear 1WagMore-BarkLess,
Thank you for sharing feedback about your most recent stay with us here at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. We appreciate your business and glad you chose to stay with us while you were in our area. We are sorry you did not get a chance to stay in one of our many beachfront units while you were here. We have more than 1.5 miles on the Gulf of Mexico and several miles on the bay. We do have units located on both beach and the bay that we know would be just the right spot. We hope you were able to enjoy many of our complimentary amenities we offer our guests. We are currently working on our transportation system and will have many improvements in 2013. We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered as you had to wait on the tram. We do hope you will come visit us again soon and we look forward your stay.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort

Address: 9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy West, Sandestin, FL 32550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Sandestin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Sandestin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, getaroom.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandestin Golf And Beach Hotel Sandestin
Sandestin Hotel And Beach
Sandestin Resort And Beach
Sandestin Golf Beach Resort
Sandestin Resort Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.