We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy West, Sandestin, FL 32550   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sandestin
York, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Super getaway with everything you need right on the resort! Tennis courts and staff were awesome! Location, restaurants, shopping, late night scene were perfect! Great for family or a perfect girls weekend!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Stephanie A,

Thanks to you and your girlfriends for choosing Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort for your most recent "Girls Weekend". There is so much fun to be had and shopping to be done here in the Village of Baytowne Wharf. We are so happy to see you all had a great time and enjoyed every minute of it. Todd and everyone at the Tennis Center are great and they always have a good time and go above and beyond when taking care of our tennis guests.
We look forward to your next "Girls Weekend".

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    187
    110
    87
    65
See reviews for
311
163
8
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Daleville, Alabama
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I booked here for the sole purpose of attending the beer festival so didn't explore much of the property but it is a typical resort property with mostly privately owned condos that they rent out. I stayed right at Baytowne which was perfect, there are shops and clubs right there and has quite a few things for the kids to do also. Zip lines, merry go round etc.. They have a shuttle that will take you around the property so you can catch it to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Fredy F,

Thank you for your most recent stay with us during the BeerFest. We appreciate your business and your choosing to stay at Sandestin. Glad to see you had a great time and enjoyed all of the amenities and festivities at the Village and BeerFest. We have 2400 acres for you to explore and take advantage of golf courses, beach, marina and so much more. We do hope you will visit us again and make good use of our many complimentary amenities we offer our guests who book through Sandestin. We look forward to your stay and your exploring our world here at Sandestin.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

First of all, we wanted to share our experience and what we learned with you all so you can enjoy a negative-free experience.
When we were looking into booking a stay with Sandestin, there were many reviews ranging from excellent to bad online. All the bad ones had "hidden fees" as the main issue. We called the Sandestin Resort and asked them straight out what the "hidden fees" negative write-ups were all about. They explained that anyone booking with a third party company (i.e.: Southwest.com, travelocity, expedia, orbitz, priceline etc..) will not get the real price. Sandestin explained these third party companies are advertising a lower price to get you to book with them, but they do not include 12% of the cost, leaving that for when you check in. Just the kind of surprise you do NOT want when starting your vacation. If you book straight with Sandestin, then everything is included (parking, housekeeping, bikes, canoe, kayak, tennis, etc..) If you book outside (travel site) then you will be paying more when you get there. Sandestin is not the bad guy here, the third party companies are doing them a disservice (and the customer too) when they do not disclose this important info. With that said- here is the rest of the review...

A GREAT time was had! The resort was clean, everyone super friendly, we felt totally safe, walking at night, anywhere on the property. We stayed in the Le Ciel and it was nice, clean and had everything we needed. We loved the free 4 hrs a day bikes, and used the walking and biking trails that go anywhere in the 2500 acre resort. We would definitely go back to Sandestin. The only thing we would change is maybe renting a cottage or small house for the same price as the hotel. We did not know enough about the property to look into this before we got there. But we would love to go back and enjoy ourselves again in the Sandestin Resort!

Room Tip: Check with vrbo.com and get a deal on a house. Bay side rooms have sunny morning only, Resort side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear BandL B,
Thank you so much for the wonderful review about your most recent stay here at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. We are happy to see you and your family were able to enjoy so much of our 2400 acres from beach to bay. I see you had a chance to enjoy many, if not all of our wonderful complimentary amenities we offer our guests who rent through Sandestin or one of our many online travel agencies. We do have a resort fee that is paid by our guests who book with us. If you book with one of our online travel agents this fee is collected upon check in here at the resort. This fee helps to fund the many complimentary amenities as well as our unlimited complimentary resort transportation. Hope you made many memories this time while you were here. We are so happy you and your family had such a great time with us and we look forward to your next stay!
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The pictures online showed the wonderful beach on the Gulf of Mexico. Our room overlooked a bay with trees between us and the bay. The 2400 acre complex is a mostly condo neighborhood with many people living there full time. Some buildings have hotel like setups but the rooms are condos owned by others. There are restaurants and shops on the premises but it is sometimes confusing learning where they are and how to get to them. There is a shuttle that transverses the resort, but we waited 52 minutes for a shuttle that was supposed to run every 30 minutes. The ride back from the beach at sunset was very crowded and we got to know the people next to us a little too well, if you know what I mean. We had a car but we could not find parking except for some decks that are not close to the restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear 1WagMore-BarkLess,
Thank you for sharing feedback about your most recent stay with us here at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. We appreciate your business and glad you chose to stay with us while you were in our area. We are sorry you did not get a chance to stay in one of our many beachfront units while you were here. We have more than 1.5 miles on the Gulf of Mexico and several miles on the bay. We do have units located on both beach and the bay that we know would be just the right spot. We hope you were able to enjoy many of our complimentary amenities we offer our guests. We are currently working on our transportation system and will have many improvements in 2013. We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered as you had to wait on the tram. We do hope you will come visit us again soon and we look forward your stay.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond, va
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My father and I were in Destin looking at second homes and decided to stay at the Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort to also look at possible purchases there. We stayed at the Sandestin Village of Baytowne Wharf at the "Pilot House" which was right next to the shops/restaurants. What a great location! Restaurants at our fingertips, and if you want to head to the beach, there is a daily shuttle tram that can take you there. We were there Wed - Friday and on Wednesday they had a band playing at the Village which was a nice treat. There is also a boardwalk at the Village that has spectacular sunsets! Our room was really nice. We had a one bedroom with a pullout sofa that was actually comfortable. We had a huge balcony that was also secluded so we could sit out and not have people staring at us. A great place to vacation with lots of children activities as well.

Room Tip: The Pilot House is close to all the shops and restaurants. Not near the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Stacy N,
Thank you so much for your review about your most recent stay here at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. So happy so hear you and your father had such a great stay with us. We are happy you were able to take advantage of many of the complimentary amenities we have to offer including our unlimited tram service. The Village of Baytowne Wharf always has great entertainment during the Wednesday night concert series. Our guests as well as our resort residents love to come to the village and enjoy all it has to offer and the boardwalk at the Village is a spectacular spot to view our amazing sunsets. Again, we thank you for your business and so happy you and your father enjoyed your time with us. We look forward to your next visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had a great long weekend in Sandestin. We rented Luau 6825 studio through VRBO and we had a great experience. The room was on the eighth floor and had an ocean view. We had plenty of room with a king bed, loveseat, fridge and microwave. Luau has a really nice pool and a five minute walk to the beach. We would not hesitate to rent in this complex again. Only negative would be the sorry TV.

Room Tip: Make sure to choose Luau Tower Two. It is located in front of Tower One.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Samcharlieashley,
Thank you so much for choosing Sandestin for your most recent stay in the area. We appreciate your business and look forward to you staying with us again. I see you had a great time at Luau and enjoyed all of the amenities we have to offer. October was a beautiful month to visit as the weather, the beach and the golf were all wonderful. Luau is a great location as you get gulf views, resort views, and the best sunrise and sunset views from Observation Deck. We look forward to your next stay. Do not hesitate to contact our reservations department for the latest specials.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Mississippi
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

I love the Sandestin resort. I have been there many times. I have stayed on the beach side and on the Bayside. While we were there we biked, walked, swam in the pool and played tennis. Be sure to make reservations in advance online for the dinner on the boat that is near the bike rental shop on the village side. I highly recommend Carraba's Italian Restaurant off of the resort. We ate at a few places at the resort like the pizza place and Poppy's Seafood factory. Poppy's was ok and didnt quite meet my exceptations. This was because there was no sea bass with mango sauce on the menu anymore and the red fish I ordered was ok. The potatoes were just too oily. The pizza plAcedidn't tell us they only serve pizza and not their sandwiches, etc on the menu after a certain time. It was a ood place to watch the football game.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beth S, Manager at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear ilovestrawberrycake,
We want to thank you for your most recent stay with us here at Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort. It looks as though youand your family had a great time and enjoyed many of the complimentary activities we offer our rental guests. The Village is a great place for food and fun...from Pizza to steak and several places to watch a great ballgame, we have a little bit for the entire family. We want to thank you for your continued support of Sandestin and for choosing to stay with us time and again when you are in the area. We have the most amazing beaches, accommodations and activities for the entire family. We look forward to your next visit!

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort

Address: 9300 Emerald Coast Pkwy West, Sandestin, FL 32550
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Panhandle > Sandestin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Sandestin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 1265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Venere, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandestin Golf And Beach Hotel Sandestin
Sandestin Hotel And Beach
Sandestin Resort And Beach
Sandestin Golf Beach Resort
Sandestin Resort Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandestin Golf and Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.