We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good could be better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of India Grill

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
India Grill
320 1st Avenue North, St. Petersburg, FL 33706
727-894-7455
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #432 of 768 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Cuisines: Indian
Restaurant details
Kissimmee, Florida, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good could be better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

The service was good, had to keep looking for someone for plates and silverware but it did not take forever for them to get it. Once ordered the food came out really fast. Even though the restaurant was full the food did not even take 20 mins to come out, not sure if it's the good thing or bad. The food tasted good, it was not exceptionally delicious but it was good. The portions of the entrees were rather small. Overall we did not leave hungry, enjoyed the dinner with average service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    7
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Indian food, service and experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We were visiting our daughter during the holidays and she and her roommate suggested this restaurant that was open on X-MAS day. Since my wife, son and I really like Indian food we said yes. Selection was outstanding from vegetarian, chicken, fish and traditional Indian fare. The food was fresh, tasty, well spiced and authentic. All the different bread and sauces were super. Service was great and the prices very reasonable. Even took some to-go back to Tennessee where we do not have any Indian food!!! If in the area .. please look them up.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Best Indian food in this area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

There are not very many Indian food restaurants in downtown St. Petersburg and so far this is the best one we have found. The service was excellent from the moment we walked in the door. Four of us ordered the mixed appetizer to share and then ordered the butter chicken and a lamb dish plus dal (lentils) and nan and onion kulcha bread. Rice is served with the meal and together with the other items we ordered there was plenty of food. Everything was very good but we all agreed that we would try the chicken tika marsala rather than the butter chicken next time--we didn't like it as well as some other reviewers seemed to. Another plus is that they have Kingfisher Indian beer was goes very well with Indian food. All in all not exceptional food but very good and excellent service at reasonable prices.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not great indian food!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I was surprised actually about this place as I had high hopes for it but what I had was not good Indian food at all. The onion bhajis and the naan bread were good but the chicken tikka was dry and did not taste like it had been marinading that long. The vindaloo that my husband ordered was not spicy at all - it was actually very bland. I think I am going to give up trying to find a decent Indian restaurant here as I doubt one exists. I will stick to Thai instead!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“To Die For!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

The food and service here is EXCELLENT! You can't go wrong with anything you order but the "Butter Chicken" is the best. Definitely a restaurant to o to in the downtown area!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India Grill also viewed

 

Been to India Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage India Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.