We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites at Tropicana Field

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn & Suites at Tropicana Field to your Saves list
Comfort Inn & Suites at Tropicana Field
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1400 34th StN, St. Petersburg, FL 33713   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Anderson, Indiana
2 reviews
“Amazing stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My boyfriend, his mom, my 2 1/2 year old daughter, and I stayed at this hotel from Sunday - Friday (spring break). They have stayed here before plenty of times but I was in charge of booking a hotel for our trip this year. We booked another hotel for the week and after being there the first night we changed to the comfort Inn at Tropicana. I could not have been happier. We got the double queen suite and it was perfect. We were welcomed with very friendly staff. The grounds were maintained very well, and our room was great. We checked in about 2 hours early and were not charged an early check in fee!
The room was large with two tv's, two air conditioners, two queen beds, a sofa bed, and desk. Bathroom was very clean with plenty of towels for the 4 of us. Nice sized closet with folding door. The beds were very very comfortable as were the pillows. The room overall was very clean and maintained well. Housekeeping did a great job.
The pool and hot tub were also very nice. The first time we went to the hot tub it was not heated, the next day it was back to working just fine. Very clean and a large pool area with plenty of seating and tables.
The breakfast was good; cereals, waffles, toast/bagels/English muffins, sausage, eggs and juices and coffee. Gloria, the lady who I assume managed the breakfast was the friendliest person I've ever met. She was fantastic at keeping breakfast full and was friendly to everyone. She was great with my daughter and said hello every time we saw her.
Overall, I was very pleased with our stay and the price. We were only 15 minutes from treasure island, johns pass, Madeira beach, about 30 minutes from lowery park zoo, and ver close to gas stations, a walmart, publix, and other stores . If you're looking for a nice hotel close to good beaches/shopping, at a great price, Comfort Inn at Tropicana is the hotel to go to!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    17
    15
    9
    7
See reviews for
25
17
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel was ok for the price considering the price of the others and everything else was already booked.
The shower had 4 pieces of hair stuck to it from a past visitor. The pull out bed's mattress had a tear along the side of it. Housekeeping didn't bither vacuuming the room during our 2nd day stay.
The breakfast was ok. It had more choices than other hotels.
I didnt not like that some people we outside drinking in the parking lot. I feel it is a hotel and they should have taken the party indoors. I dont even know if they had rooms. It was about 6 men drinking and talking.
My childen really enjoyed the swimming pool.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My sister works there so am a bit partial but this hotel is cleanest nicest hotel we have had honor of finally staying at and review. The ladies on front desk we observed for a period of time and they very politely had to turn away several very tired families and did in most professional way. The breakfast lady was also a charming Ms. Hospitality. KEEP UP GREAT WORK.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Disgusting story short, my family picked this hotel fully expecting to get what we paid for. However, we didn't anticipate it would be this FILTHY. During a game of toss with my 1 yr old he discovered A USED SEX TOY and drug paraphernalia. No manager was on duty to assist us with our complaint. The front desk suggested we move rooms, HAHA! We left immediately and never received a call from the General Manager Mike. When trying to $ave don't go with Comfort Inn @Tropicana Field!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was a last minute thing when we were visiting St. Pete. The hotel has a pool, breakfast, and wifi, which is great for the price. We didn't experience any cockroaches or maintenance issues like the other people. Sure, the decor isn't up to date, but you get what you pay for. The last at the front desk was very nice. The only thing I would complain about is the people that were hanging around, which the hotel managers obviously can't control. As long as you just head straight to your room, you should be fine.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is an older hotel. While some upgrades have been made (granite countertops, flat-panel TVs, furniture, bathroom tile, etc.), there are some maintenance issues that made our room appear somewhat dumpy. The wallpaper was seriously peeling off the wall in several places, the carpet was ripped, the window is so discolored in one area that you can barely see through it, and the entire window really needs replaced. There is accumulated dust and debris in the A/C vents that looks likes it hasn't been cleaned out in years, and you can see the accumulated dust in the corners that have been missed for a long time. There was a definite "moldy" smell in our room as well. With a little maintenance and cleaning effort, our room could have presented a much better impression, and we could have given this hotel a higher rating. It is the attention to details that separate the good hotels from the bad, and this hotel could be much better if it deep-cleaned the rooms occasionally and resolved the maintenance issues as they occur.

On the positive side, we were warmly greeted at the front desk, and this hotel has an elevator (which many older hotels like this one do not). There are signs that the lobby is undergoing some renovations. Our room was actually a suite, so it was nice to have 2 TVs, 2 AC units, and a sofa and coffee table. The breakfast was good, and our room was not noisy - even though the hotel is on a busy street.

The price seemed a bit excessive for what we got - although we do realize that it was the peak season for tourists. Luckily, we we were using award points and not $$$, or our level of disappointment would have been higher.

Finally, as a Choice Hotels diamond elite member who has stayed at hundreds of different Choice hotels over the years, I can say that this hotel certainly does not rank in the top half of Comfort Hotels. I am not trying to discourage anyone from staying here; rather, I am trying to point out to the management here that the guest experience at this hotel could be greatly improved with just a little more effort in cleaning and maintenance.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garnerville, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Not knowing the area we booked our room for one week. The decor is old although renovation of the lobby was taking place while we were there. The pool area was ok. The staff was very nice but every morning we had one or two roaches in the bathroom. The water pressure in the shower was nonexistent. You did get pressure if you turned the shower to the hottest setting but then you couldn't get in the shower without getting scalded. When we finally got back home to NY we left all our bags outside in the freezing cold to assure and pray that no bugs took the flight home with us. I will say we did not feel very safe there. There were some very undesirable guests staying there. I would never stay or recommend this particular property.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites at Tropicana Field? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites at Tropicana Field

Address: 1400 34th StN, St. Petersburg, FL 33713
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites at Tropicana Field 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
St. Petersburg Hotels - Comfort Inn & Suites St. Petersburg FLEnjoy sunshine all year at the Comfort Inn & Suites® at Tropicana Field hotel, conveniently located just three miles from Tropicana Field, home of the Tampa Bay Devil Rays. The St. Petersburg-Clearwater Airport is eight miles and the Tampa International Airport is 15 miles from this St. Petersburg, FL hotel.Local attractions include Busch Gardens Tampa Bay, the Florida Aquarium and Fort DeSoto Park. The P. Buckley Moss Gallery, the Florida Holocaust Museum, the Salvador Dali Museum and the Museum of Fine Arts are also nearby.Central Florida attractions include Walt Disney World, Epcot Center, Disney's Hollywood Studios, SeaWorld Orlando and Universal Studios Orlando, all about 90 minutes away from the hotel. A variety of restaurants, several shopping malls, golf courses and dinner theaters are minutes away.Your Morning Breakfast is full of hot and delicious options, making breakfast at the Comfort Inn & Suites at Tropicana Field the perfect way to start your day. Enjoy our free hot breakfast featuring eggs, meat, yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal and more, including your choice of hot waffle flavors!Guests of this St. Petersburg, FL hotel will enjoy amenities like free weekday newspaper and fitness center. Guests are invited to lounge in the outdoor pool and hot tub.Business travelers will appreciate conveniences like free wireless high-speed Internet access and access to copy and fax services. The meeting facilities can accommodate any group for banquets, seminars, reunions and other meetings.All spacious guest rooms include refrigerators, microwaves, irons, ironing boards and hair dryers. Executive suites are also available. Non-smoking rooms are offered. Guest laundry facilities are located on the property.The Comfort Inn & Suites at Tropicana Field hotel provides exceptional customer service, affordable rates and inviting rooms to business and leisure travelers visiting the St. Petersburg, Florida area.Guest Must be at least 21 years of age or older in each room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites at Tropicana Field reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites At Tropicana Field Hotel St. Petersburg
Comfort Inn And Suites At Tropicana Field
Comfort Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites at Tropicana Field, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.