We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dusty, Dated, Needs A Facelift, But Great Location & Dog Friendly” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront

Save Saved
You added Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 First St. S, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Tampa Baseball Package
Ranked #13 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Dusty, Dated, Needs A Facelift, But Great Location & Dog Friendly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We just stayed at the Hilton Bayfront in St Pete and were under-impressed with the hotel itself.

The good: Location. Just a few blocks from the Pier and right smack in the cultural, artsy downtown area near the Beach Drive shopping district, with art galleries and restaurants very close-by. You can literally walk across the street to the Mahaffey Theater and the Dali Museum. There is always something cultural going on during the weekends in this area of St Pete. The hotel also has an outdoor pool and a small bar for drinks at night. This is a dog friendly hotel, so you will see dogs lounging around.. There is also a Starbucks right in the hotel, which is great. And, the room itself was very big and spacious- but now more about this room-

The not so impressive: The hotel had the "stuck in the 90's" feel. The popcorn ceiling in the room screamed "update me!". The carpet was filthy, it had the kind of dirt and stains that can only be cleaned by carpet replacement. The bathroom in the room was by far one of the smallest I've ever seen in a hotel of any kind. It was like a small closet with a sink and shower crammed in. Room for one only in the bathroom. This is surprising, because the room itself is very big and spacious- they really should take some space from the room and enlarge the bathrooms. That would be a very good thing to do.
The air conditioner intake vent in the room was by the curtains and the a/c vent kept sucking in the curtain, restricting air flow. I don't think the a/c worked, even when the curtain wasn't being sucked into the intake vent. It was always warm and muggy even with the a/c set at 65 degrees..
The curtains were old and dusty, especially in the lobby sitting area. You could tell maybe 20 or 30 years ago everything looked nice and elegant, but nothing has been done since to clean or update. I heard someone say "I feel like I'm in a cloud of germs when I came into this hotel", and I have to agree. Even the smell in the lobby was kind of gross- like bathroom cleaner or something. Maybe because of the dogs?
New carpet, curtains and paint- needed now.

There was a restaurant on-site, but very limited and overpriced selections. Why would you eat at the hotel anyway when there are great dining options nearby like Columbia's Restaurant at The Pier? You gotta try this landmark. Seriously -1905 salad-need I say more?

All in all, the hotel is in a great location, but looked neglected.

Room Tip: Try the Hampton Inn just down the street, or splurge on the Vinoy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

646 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    191
    142
    73
    55
See reviews for
103
146
35
223
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

It's a decent hotel but the location can't be beat. I've stayed here twice in the last year and a half. As others have said, the rooms could be a little bit updated but they are still very nice. If you are visiting the Dali Museum or have business with USF, USCG or Fla Fish & Wildlife, it is a short pleasant walk. Also, a nice walk to downtown St Pete and the local beach parks.
I had more than 20 colleagues with me and no one had any problems.
Staff is definitely first rate.
The bar is terrible if you are a beer lover. World of Beer is also nearby.
None of us used the restaurant.

Room Tip: 3rd floor that overlooked the roof has HVAC noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

This was by far the worst Hilton I have ever stayed in. Rooms are dated however they are comfort. Staff did a great job making the best of faulty internet and cable tv.

Internet spotty and non existent out side of your room. Tv's although large flat screens spent as much time searching for a signal as they did playing.

If you do not sleep like a log stay away from suites need the elevators very loud all day and night.

Breakfast buffet at 15.00 just ok

Hhonors lounge was the best part of Stay "John" was a real joy to visit with.

Self parking in an open lot at 14.00 no valet available.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape coral, florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Great location, walking distance to museums, pier, dining. Convenient location to Publix grocery store and drug store as well. Park your car and don't bother with parking meters. Very unique specialty stores along the way. Staff in hotel very attentive and courteous. Starbucks on location to get that morning start. No refrigerator in room when arrived, since I was staying a few days for conference was able to call down to front desk and request a small frig to be brought to room, 1 was available and provided quickly to have some basic items in room. Swimming pool located outside, so if you don't find ask. Beds very comfortable. Trash cans a little too small.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed here three different times this year. The hotel needs a little (and I do mean little) updating in the rooms, but I have seen a lot worse. They do have large tvs and great views from the room. The bathrooms are a little small depending on the room you get, but you are in the city where space is at a premium.

The location is perfect. You can walk to dinner every night for a month and eat somewhere different every time. The ocean is a couple blocks away. The fitness center is about average for this size hotel.

The staff in the honors lounge is top notch. It is obvious they like their jobs and care for their customers.

This hotel can get packed up quick so try to book more then a week or two in advance.

I will be back here for at least 5 or 6 more weeks next year.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leitrim, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Myself and my mum stayed in the Hilton for 9 days in October. The staff were very helpful and friendly. the room was very clean, modern and spacious. The beds were very comfortable. Our stay included breakfast and it was just fabulous. You could choose something different each morning if you wanted to. I'd highly recommend this hotel for its comfort, location and friendly staff.

Room Tip: We asked for a room on one of the higher floors and had a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

The bellman was very nice and even the entrance was welcoming. That was it. Our room was so dusty, musty and moldy. When you put on your blanket you could see the dust in the air. They said they would move us to a cleaner room by the next day. That night my friend and my eyes were very red and had to take double allergy medicine something I had never had to do before. We asked the manager about our change of rooms. They had promised us a hypoallergenic room. She said she never heard of that. She said no one ever complained about their rooms. She needs to take the time to read these reviews and pay attention rather than act defensive. We were in a conference room and people were sneezing all of the time. They finally switched our rooms and the promised foam pillows which they said would be waiting in our room took about 6 phone calls and then we gave up as they never came. If I knew this was an example of Hilton HoteIs I never would have booked here. I have never stayed in a Hilton like this one. They need their own name outside of Hilton. This is giving Hilton a bad reputation. Please remodel and CLEAN this hotel. I feel it is time to contact the Health authorities. This is wrong.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront

Address: 333 First St. S, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton St. Petersburg Bayfront hotel is located in the waterfront district of downtown St. Petersburg, Florida. Our legendary Hilton hospitality invites you to join us on business or pleasure in our world class hotel accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront Hotel St. Petersburg
Hilton Hotel St Petersburg
Hilton Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.