We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was a huge disappointment, especially for Hilton” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront to your Saves list
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   333 1ST ST. S, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Play Ball Package
Ranked #13 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Arizona
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“This was a huge disappointment, especially for Hilton”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

As a Hilton Honors Member, I had to book this hotel at the last minute through Orbitz due to a family emergency.. Check-in was pleasant, front desk clerk very helpful. Late dinner at Tangerine Restaurant was very good. Food beautifully prepared and superior service. The room was adequate upon first glance. Chair had to be replaced due to a unmentionable stain was noted. Bed was comfortable,towels plentiful, and shower had decent water flow. Then the nightmare began, hotel was having fire alarm checks for 2 and 1/2 days with an announcement for guests to enjoy themselves elsewhere. Each day the alarms and announcements went on for hours at a time. Hallways were littered with trays and glasses that had not been picked up for days. Josha, the Front Desk Manager, intervened on our behalf, comped our meal, gave us Starbucks coupons, and assured us we would have almost our entire stay comped. He was a true pro and I am patiently waiting for this credit. I realize bad things happen to good hotels and the important thing is to make it right by the customer. Will I stay here again, absolutely not. Did the hotel staff try to do the right thing? Joshua certainly did and he should be promoted since he understands guest service.

  • Liked — Starbucks, Tangerine Restaurant,
  • Disliked — Dirty, Constant alarm going off, dirty dishes left in hallways for days.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    261
    186
    88
    67
See reviews for
140
211
45
319
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san francisco
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2007

a good location and helpful staff distinguishes this otherwise run of the mill hotel. You get what you expect - a reasonable room, okay food, and a few Hilton points.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2007

For the price ($99), this hotel is good but not really worth a whole lot more.

The room is the usual size with a comfortable enough bed. The bathroom is the typical small hotel bathroom that was clean enough. Water pressure was a little low but still adequate enough to take a shower.

Elevator was a bit slow and during the morning rush, it took quite a bit of time to get downstairs from near the top.

The lobby itself is quite spacious with a lot of seating and is quite pretty. The exercise room is good sized with enough equipment for a good workout.

Parking is $10 / day for open parking next to the hotel. As a guest of the hotel you're given a pass which worked for me to get in and out of the parking lot but did not work for my coworkers.

Internet is also $10 / day which isn't a lot but is annoying to have to pay.

The hotel staff was courteous and professional.

The breakfast was lackluster to say the least. I wouldn't bother spending money on it.

The thing that bothered me about this hotel is the lack of a small fridge in the room and the ants that I found in my room. Considering I was pretty high up I was surprised to find any ants at all.

  • Liked — price for location
  • Disliked — ants
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

After reading the recent reviews of this hotel, I was a little nervous to be staying there. However, we experienced none of the unfortunate things others experienced.

Our room was ready early and we checked in quickly. Josh was very helpful with directions to the beach, downtown, etc. Our room had a nice view and was clean and comfortable!

From this hotel you can walk to Baywalk, and the Pier (a bit further) and not have to worry about driving. Parking in the lot wasn't an issue at all.

15 minutes to those great beaches was great - especially with tips from Josh. FYI - eat at Hurricanes in Pass-A-Grille beach area --- great grouper sandwich! The Star Lite dinner cruise that was recommended was also amazing!

The pool at the Hilton was nice, quiet, clean and it had wonderful padded lounge chairs. We had a great time!

  • Liked — Nice front desk; great pool
  • Disliked — Construction in the area - but not the hotel's fault!
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimauma, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2007

This is below Hilton standards. Plenty of "orange fluff" in the lobby but that's it. Booked 12 rooms for a wedding, staff was rude and wouldn't bring up guest baskets. Their pitch every room has a view may be true but no ambiance and their excuse for everything was "we're under renovation". Everyone was disappointed in the hotel, so sad for our wedding.

FYI - Great area for food and other "fun" but that has nothing to do with this Hotel.No bragging on the Starbucks.. there's no REAL food in the hotel as restaurant is terrible. Parking is tight and expensive anywhere in the area so I didn't mind that.

  • Liked — The lobby for pictures for our wedding
  • Disliked — Tacky unkept rooms, poor service and things under renovation
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2007

My room had a lumpy mattress and the toilet in the bathroom kept running. I had to call maintainance everytime I used the bathroom. The service was poor and i even complained to hilton headquarters, with no response. I was totally ignored at the front desk before I had to demand to be serviced.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nashville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2007

Disinterested, rude clerks. Dirty, smelly rooms.
Peanuts in fold out bed and under bed.Not a hotel for families.I tried to switch hotels but all where booked.Dirty dishes in hallway for two days.
Hallway in the evening still cluttered with the morning's clean-up leavings, piled high. The only thing clean was the lobby -- beyond that, buyer beware!Pool dirty and had visable algae growth.Could not reach front desk on phone or customer services.
Had to pay for internet services and parking in there lot!!!!

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — staff rooms smelled
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront

Address: 333 1ST ST. S, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#9 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Explore the downtown St. Petersburg waterfront district from Hilton St. Petersburg Bayfront. This hotel in St. Petersburg, FL, is conveniently located in the heart of downtown St. Pete within walking distance of many cultural attractions. Unwind in the spacious hotel rooms that offer striking city views. Enjoy free Wifi and treat yourself to coffee in the comfort of your room. This hotel offers an on-site Starbucks, a heated outdoor pool, fully equipped fitness center and on-site restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront Hotel St. Petersburg
Hilton Hotel St Petersburg
Hilton Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.