We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always Great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club to your Saves list
Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the Savings
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Always Great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel with a wonderful view of the water. The rooms are comfortable and staff are friendly. The bar is always lively. Good restaurants in walking distance. I enjoy staying here and get to visit a couple of times a year.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,041 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    282
    108
    33
    20
See reviews for
211
363
37
240
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

This lovely old hotel is in a perfect location in st Pete's and you can walk to many restaurants and venues plus the water front. The staff are very helpful and they do not cut any corners on the number of staff working. We had a fire alarm T 2.30am causing a full evacuation but at least it was warm outside and their were plenty of seating areas

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Hmm what can I say. Except where are the drawers for putting clothes in. The room was BIG but the closet was just that hangers, safe, and space. The T.V. was on a center piece and the only drawers were there. A lot of empty space. One thing that was a plus, the aqua fit classes Earl I think his name was AWESOME. loved, loved it. The bar was ok it just seemed a stuffy place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Beautifully renovated property in the perfect downtown location. My husband and I spent 3 nights here as part of the golf package. If you like museums, art galleries and side walk cafés, this is in the perfect location.
My husband is a cigar smoker so we asked yo switch rooms and have a balcony. No one told us we had to switch buildings, FYI, the tower building is a pain to get to. And even though we agreed to pay extra for a balcony! we didn't know we couldn't smoke there. As a matter of fact, we were scolded by security . If I hadn't already unpacked I would have asked for our original room back. I understand that some places choose to be non smoking, but why would we pay extra for a balcony if we can't even sit therein the evening and have a relaxing smoke?

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the original building bay view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hotel certainly with some history. Friendly bar and restaurant staff. Suggest upper floor in tower with balcony if available since there is a nice breeze... didn't want AC most of the day in October. Excellent tennis facility onsite. Good location for walking to downtown harbor, parks, and restaurants. Easy self-park. Excellent breakfast choices.

Room Tip: higher-floor in tower if you like Florida breeze.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We went to the Renaissance Vinoy for our anniversary trip and let me tell you it was just wonderful. Clinton at the front desk was so friendly and helpful, he provided some of the best customer service I have ever received. He remembered us and addressed us by name every time we walked through the lobby. This was pretty much on par for the rest of the staff. Both the bellman and the in room dining attendant addressed us by name and wished us a happy anniversary. The service in the restaurant was impeccable as was the food.

The resort itself was very close to the downtown St. Pete area. We were able to walk everywhere. We stayed for two nights and there was so much to do we almost didn't have time to fit everything in!

Its been a few months (4) since we stayed but I am still telling everyone how amazing this resort is. This is the only place I will stay from now on in St. Pete

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

For hubby's birthday we took a mini trip to Saint Petersburg and stayed at the Vinoy. Check-in was fast and friendly and for a nominal charge($20) was able to upgrade to a corner room. We had two balconies and the room was huge! May as well have been a suite as we had two queen size beds, a sitting area with couch+2 comfy chairs and tables in front of the entertainment hutch/TV, desk/business area, a wet bar and the bathroom down the hall with 2 closets and a huge double vanity and two comfy bathrobes. Since we had our kids all this space was wonderful and we plan to ask for the same room on our next visit. The grounds are beautiful, from the pool to the mini waterfall to the ping pong table hubby and son decided to use at 2am! There is a beautiful bar in the lobby to the right upon check-in and casual bar by pool. Marchands is beautiful and delicious for both dinner and brunch(endless mimosas for $7!) When we went out with friends, took the advise of staff and ordered pizza from a local joint that delivered all the way to the room, with security, for the kids. All staff was very friendly and outgoing, they were as helpful and attentitive to our children as they were with my husband and I. We will be returning the next time we plan a couple days in saint Pete.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the tower(newer) and ask for a corner. The two balconies had chairs and tables and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club

Address: 501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.