We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel with a good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Credit
Ranked #6 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
Stockholm
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel with a good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Perfect location in St Petersburg. Walking distance to plenty of restaurants and shop at the beach drive.

The continental breakfast was very great, especially for our gluten intolerant children that got gluten free bread and gluten free pancakes. The service was also very good.

There are big rooms with spacious and comfortable beds. Only minibar, but we asked for a refrigerator at a cost of 10 USD for all stay, I believe it´s a fixed price independent of the length of stay.

Self-parking is 14 USD per night and Valet parking 20 USD. But is unnecessary to pay for parking. Just outside the hotel on both sides of the street it is free parking. Just pay attention to the signs that indicate for example “No parking, taxi stands”. If there is no sign or no meters it is free parking. I saved 70 USD plus taxes for our fem night we stayed at the hotel. Just parked some feet’s outside the hotel entrée.

The hotel has a big pool with free towels.

The gym is first class gym with everything you need for you workout.

The only bad thing with the hotel was that there was no wifi in the room complimentary, only free wifi in the lobby. There was a daily charge if you want wifi in the room.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette R, Manager at Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for your patronage and for bringing your family to the Vinoy for a stay. It was good to know that you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for mentioning the gluten-free options on our menus. Our chefs are more than happy to accommodate any type of dietary needs/restrictions. If it's not on the menu, simply ask, and we would be happy to give other options whenever possible. We aim to please. We will look for your next visit soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    517
    253
    98
    32
    19
See reviews for
191
318
34
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I've stayed here at least 6 times. It's my favorite place to stay in St Pete! It has every amenity. A spa, golf, pool, great restaurant and bars all within the Vinoy. The staff is very attentive and professional. The rooms always comfortable and clean. One of my favorite spots is out on the verandah bar at night with a glass of wine!
The view of the bay is pretty and there are many museums, stores, restaurants, and bars all within walking distance.
Love This place!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette R, Manager at Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We're thrilled to have you as a fan here at the Vinoy! What an incredible review and tribute to this incredible resort. Thanks for sharing all of the wonderful amenities that we offer (and more). We look forward to welcoming you back to the Vinoy in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This time it was my turn to be surprised with a birthday weekend getaway. This hotel is beautiful and most everything was right, particularly spa, valet, concierge & Alfrescos staff. Lots of options for relaxation and close to lots of off site entertainment (Dali Museum, Chiluly, Tampa Bay Rays) and the history itself is fascinating.
Really enjoyed the stay--so much so we plan to go back in the fall. Disappointments: charge for Wifi, lack of service on patio bar the first night and surly patio bar staff the 2nd night and dirty table at breakfast at Marchands--a small detail but spoke volumes. The good certainly outweighed the disappointments so we're giving it another go--stay tuned

Room Tip: the bay view was nice (in main historic tower)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette R, Manager at Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
A belated Happy Birthday and thank you so much for staying with us at the Vinoy Resort and Golf Club for your birthday celebration. I am pleased to know that overall you enjoyed your visit enough to give us another try in the fall. Your comments about service and cleanliness were duly noted. Our team does not take things like that lightly, and I will be sure to share it with them. Constructive criticism helps us keep our focus so we appreciate your candidness. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Vinoy. Let us know if there is anything we can do to make your stay more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We've stayed at the Vinoy often and always have been quite happy. You can sit on the front veranda and people watch or rent bikes and explore the water promenade along the harbor. The pool has some fun exercise classes. The best is the location to some nice restaurants and the museums and shops. Ask for a room with a view as once we looked at a stucco wall. The rooms are attractive and clean.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette R, Manager at Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Thank you for your praise of the Vinoy Resort and Golf Club. I was so pleased to read your comments and appreciate the positive feedback about the service, restaurants, the veranda, the surrounding area and the beauty of our resort. We look forward to your return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay. The breakfast was a bit expensive so I would recommend eating offsite at one of the many outdoor cafes in town. The town was fun and I would return The Chiluly Museum is fabulous as is the MFA for a small town. The hotel has much history and was fun to walk around and imagine past times and guests. It really is lovely

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette R, Manager at Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
So glad that you had an opportunity to stay with us, and we do appreciate you taking the time to do a review. I wanted to point out that we do have another option for breakfast right on property which is our cafe located in the lobby. The Veranda Cafe offers breakfast sandwiches, yogurt parfaits, croissants, bagels, juices, fruits, coffee, etc. Perhaps the next time you stay with us, you can give it a try and this may better fit your needs. Along with the Chihuly and Museum of Fine Arts, St. Petersburg also offers the Salvador Dali, the Morean Arts Center, the Holocaust Museum and more. So much to do here in town, there just isn't enough time in a day. Glad that you enjoyed your visit and hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

After reading a Trip Advisor review I booked the history tour and lunch for my mom and I, we are so glad we did.
The property is just beautiful and the "journey" this piece of history has been through we found amazing.

The information given states that the tour takes about an hour however our tour was almost two hours before we sat down for lunch. This was possibly because in our group were about 20 retired teachers and they were from the area and adding a lot of neat stories as well from things that they remembered.

Our tour guided was very informative and you could tell she loved her job.

The lunch was amazing! The portion was huge and very tasty.

For $25.00 per person this was a wonderful afternoon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette R, Manager at Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
What a great way to spend the day with your Mom on a History Tour and Lunch at the Vinoy Resort and Golf Club. Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone. As you can see after taking the tour, the history of this beautiful and legendary resort is one of the wonderful things that make us so special and unique. Thanks again for sharing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomasville, Georgia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This is a must stay hotel. If you have a family or as a couple, it has something for everyone. The staff is top notch and the room we stayed in was great. I recommend a bay view and if you can get it, a balcony is a must. The hotel has a great bar on the main lobby floor with wonderful nooks to sit and relax with friends both inside and out on the veranda. There are 3 restaurants, a breakfast coffee shop and great room service. This place is both modern but it still feels like you stepped into 1929. The only negative I have is their charging for $14.95 per day for WIFI, with most hotel brands offering free WIFI, to have a top notch hotel charge for it after paying $269.00 a night made the place seem over the top.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette R, Manager at Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Thank you for your positive review of your stay here. It is true that the Vinoy has something for everyone - free movies on Friday nights at the resort pool; activities at the pool on the weekends for the kids; quiet, romantic dining for couples and so much more. It was a pleasure to read your compliments on our staff being "top notch" - we appreciate that and will be sure to share with our team. In case you weren't aware, we do offer free WIFI in the lobby which most people take advantage of. It gives them an opportunity to get away from the guest room and relax in the comfort of the beautiful surroundings. Please visit us again soon. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club

Address: 501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#1 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Otel, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.