We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful historic property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club to your Saves list
Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the Savings
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Sugar Land, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A beautiful historic property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The Vinoy is truly a treasure. My husband and I stayed in a very spacious and comfortable 6th floor room on the with large windows overlooking the Vinoy Marina across the way. Reception, navigator as well as every other staff member we encountered were pleasant and offered excellent service. Wonderful lobby plus veranda with cozy sitting areas everywhere. Enjoy excellent classic American cuisine in Marchand's Bar & Grill and after dinner have a nightcap at the Veranda Bar & Patio. The hotel shuttle can take you over to the Golf Club on Snell Island for dinner on the patio overlooking the course and bring you back to the hotel after dinner. Lovely. Don't miss the guided tour of the resort's historical building offered Wednesday to Saturday at 10:30 AM followed by an optional lunch in the historic dining room. Our guide, Melissa, was terrific as were each of the helpful staff. Our five days at the Vinoy flew by. Lots to do and see in the immediate area. The Dali Museum and the Chihuly Gallery are not to be missed.

Room Tip: Our extra large 6th floor room facing the marina had a lovely view out of the large windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    281
    108
    33
    20
See reviews for
210
363
37
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
widnes
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We arrived at the hotel earlier than the suggested check in time, reception staff were very helpful and thankfully our room was available. The hotel is very grand but also modern, the reception /bar area is full of a mixture of colours and beautiful ornaments, lots of sitting areas with settee/books etc, oh and the obligatory flat screen tv's. The rooms were very spacious and the beds really comfortable, in parts the paintwork was a bit worn but that is me being really picky! Don't let it put you off going, we were also fortunate to have a pool /marina view room which was fab. Breakfast was fantastic and the service was 5star, definitely will be returning the next time in St.Petersburg.

Room Tip: We asked for a pool/marina view when booking and that's what we got.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is wonderfully renovated, the rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. The bathroom is a comfortable size. The service of the staff is exceptional, minus one of the valets who chose to make rude and unnecessary comments about our football team sticker on our car. The porch is delightful. Overall, we had a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The bathroom floor in the first room (Rm 204) we checked in had spots that looked like fungus or mold. We were given a different room (205) right away. However, the second room's view was so bad that the lower half of all the windows are frosted. The floor in the toilet was dusty. There was also significant stains on the arm of one of the chairs. I was so grossed out that I requested a different room the next day.

The 3rd room (Rm 314) has a better view but half the shower curtain has mildew. By then, I could not be bother to ask for a 4th room.

At the lobby area: I noticed one of the elevator buttons (the up button) was cracked. I also found hair in the berry cup I brought from the illy coffee bar.

Overall assessment: I was surprised by the sloppiness of housekeeping in such a beautiful hotel. I didn't feel comfortable with the hygiene of our rooms. The staffs were not particularly friendly. After I told a manager at the lobby about my experience in Rm 205, he did not offer any help to make things more comfortable for us. He was only writing down what I reported. I got a new room only after I asked for it. The only friendly staffs were a guy who greeted us from the driveway one our arrival.

We liked the location and the architectural charm of the hotel but housekeeping fell short of my expectation of a resort hotel of similar class.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 205 because of bad view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette R, Manager at Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
As you can imagine, I was so disappointed to read of your housekeeping comments. Please accept a sincere apology. I would love the opportunity to discuss this in personal. If you have a moment, may I ask you to please contact me at 727-824-8028. We take great pride in our cleanliness and housekeeping details, and this is certainly not the impression we wanted you to leave with. I hope you will allow us the opportunity to regain your confidence. Thank you for sharing your constructive criticism, and I look forward to talking with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Attended a wedding there and stayed for two nights. The tea garden was a beautiful setting and the reception was great. The rooms are so comfortable. We had a very good time. The entire staff is exceptional. They are extremely attentive and go out of their way to make guests feel relaxed. It is top of the line service. The Vinoy is centrally located to downtown St. Pete and directly across from the Marina. I recommend the Sunday Brunch, it was delicious. Can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette R, Manager at Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of the Vinoy and for sharing your experience in staying here. Isn't the Tea Garden the perfect spot for a wedding? I'm so glad that all went well and that you enjoyed your time here and hope you will visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Had a nice stay here during the GOP convention in August 2012.
Room was large, very clean, nice view, soft bedding, quiet. and updated.
Resort grounds were nice. I loved the lobby area and sitting area with all the rocking chairs.
Nice bars around the hotels, and the hotel restaurant was great -- though it was pretty expensive.
I remember the pool area being somewhat underwhelming, though I didn't use it (arrived on the tail end of a hurricane).
I'd stay there again if I came to St. Petersburg.
BTW, St. Pete's beach is WAY overrated. I went there to see one of the supposedly top 10 beaches in America and it just wasn't, sorry folks.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette R, Manager at Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
It was great to read your review and that you mentioned the rooms being large, clean and with a nice view. We appreciate that. And of course, who doesn't love the rocking chairs on the veranda where you can people watch and see the beautiful surrounding scenery? Thank you for staying with us and sharing your opinions. Come and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 106 cities Reviews in 106 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

The driveway is short and belies the size of the hotel. The valets were quick on arrival and on departure. The hotel lobby is ornate in the style of a Henry Flagler hotel. The reception and registration was very efficient. All the employees we met in the hotel seemed to be happy with their work which makes for a pleasant stay. Our room was large and could have used another piece of furniture but for two of us it was fine. Our room was in a separate building from the main hotel which was not an inconvenience. The entire facility was clean and the services were first rate. We had a very enjoyable stay. We had a little problem finding the hotel but knew it was on the water which helped in us finding it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeanette R, Manager at Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Enjoyed reading your review and appreciated the positive comments. It was so nice to hear that our front office team was quick and responsive to your arrival and that you found the resort to be clean and well maintained. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Vinoy very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club

Address: 501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.