We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Escaping the cold.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club to your Saves list
Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the Savings
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Neenah, Wisconsin, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Escaping the cold.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Vinoy is a great hotel right in downtown st. Petersburg, close to good restaurants and across from harbor. Service is very good, great workout rooms, and really great spinning classes (equipment is new and instructors top notch). Good bar scene too.

Bellhop service is outstanding. Stayed here 4 times and always want to go back.

Room Tip: Newer rooms are very nice but I like staying in the historic main hotel overlooking harbor. Lot of h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    598
    281
    108
    33
    20
See reviews for
211
363
37
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed here for two nights recently, using Marriott Rewards points for our stay. The Vinoy is a lovely place and we enjoyed it there immensely. Our room was spacious, well-furnished and equipped, and comfortable. It overlooked the front of the hotel, which is on the bay. Great view. The staff were extremely helpful and courteous. They could not have been nicer. The Vinoy is an historic hotel, so not everything there is ultramodern, but it's extremely clean and tasteful, and so interesting. The hotel's location is perfect, too, within walking distance of so many interesting and fun things in a most beautiful section of St. Petersburg.
The only small negative I would have (hence the four instead of 5 rating) is the exorbitant charge for breakfast in the Marchand room. I mean, the bill was almost $50 for the two of us, incl tax. OK, it was buffet and/or order off the menu, and we could have stayed there for hours and eaten ourselves sick, but that's not our style, and probably not too many others' style either. $15 per person would have been reasonable and acceptable. But $30, c'mon! Ridiculous.
That said, we thoroughly enjoyed our two nights at the Renaissance Vinoy, and will very likely return there (but will not be partaking in the hotel's breakfast/brunch!).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs, Florida, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a fine historic hotel, perfect in every way. The staff is attentive, well trained and extremely attentive. Nestled along the bay off of Beach Drive, this hotel is surrounded by shops and wonderful upscale restaurants. We never had a bad meal! You can walk and spend a couple of days just touring the area. Don't forget to tour the entire hotel and well manicured grounds.

The rooms are amazingly decorated, clean and cozy. You will love any room that you stay in.
I cannot say enough about this hotel. The Marriott brand should be especially proud of the management and staff. Highest ratings!

Room Tip: A room with a view of the tea garden is especially nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We recently stayed at the Vinoy while in town for the St. Pete Grand Prix. On previous trips for the race we had stopped by the Vinoy for drinks on the front porch, but had not stayed there. This year when we saw they had an opening we booked two rooms, one for us and one for another couple who were attending with us. Let me start by saying that the other couple had no problems at all and enjoyed their stay.

For our part we had a couple of issues. The short version is that the AC unit leaked water through the ceiling not once but twice during the night. Maintenance applied a band aid after the first time but it didn't get us through the night and caused our first night to be a sleepless one. The front desk seemed rather indifferent about the issue although they did finally relocate us to a different room.

When we returned home, I sent an email to customer care to complain about the issue and the response from the desk. Within a couple of hours (and I believe immediately after she received the email from the corporate office) I was contacted by Jeanette from the Vinoy to let me know she was looking into the issue. Again, to keep this short, she emailed back a very short time later to apologize for the issue and for how it was handled. The situation was resolved fairly and Jeannette has restored my faith in the Vinoy. I hope some of her wonderful attitude is passed on to the early morning front desk team! To quote a snippet of her comments in the email "I'm terribly sorry. We are much better than that.". I believe her and think that they are in fact "much better" than our initial experience led us to believe. Thanks again Jeanette!

That behind us. We were originally given a room in the main building. Until the AC problem there were no complaints with the room. It was a decent size and the bed was very comfortable. After the problem we were moved to a room in the guest tower. I have to say that the rooms in the guest tower building appear to be either newer, or more recently renovated than those in the main building. The second room was also larger, but that may have been because we were moved into a spa room from a normal room. Either way the second room was very nice. I recommend requesting a room in the tower if you have the option. I don't want to paint a horrible picture of the first room. The rooms in the main building weren't bad, just seemed a little smaller and slightly more dated. In addition to the rooms, the front porch is a wonderful place to relax and have a drink or two in the evening and as others have mentioned the lobby and pool area are very nice.

The location of the hotel is absolutely perfect. Within walking distance of the Chihuly exhibit and the Dali museum (or in our case the IndyCar track) as well as the marina. There are several good restaurants nearby as well. All in all it really is a very nice place to stay and I do recommend them.

Based on the original issue I knocked the overall rating (and a couple of the other ratings) down a notch or two, but that is really because of the morning front desk crew. Had they been a little more customer focused I would have given the Vinoy 4 or possibly even 5 stars.

We'll try them again next time we are planning a stay in St. Pete. Its a shame we got off to such a bad start but in the end everything worked out. We'll be back. I guess that is the best comment of all.

Room Tip: The rooms in the guest tower appeared to be newer or more recently renovated than those in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana, USA
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This was a lovely place to stay. Very large and clean rooms. TINY elevators. Attended a conference and was there on business. Did not have time to enjoy all hotel amenities, but could not understand why anyone would use the fitness center on a nice day when there was so many beautiful places to walk outside.

Room Tip: There is a large price difference between a view and the back of the hotel. Ask yourself how much t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We've been coming for a decade. This time room was in older part of hotel, was spacious for three with two large windows and a super bathroom. The pool was great, small compared to maybe Orlando pools but quiet. The staff were fantastic and offered free fruit, a marked contrast from Orlando hotels where ones book was almost moved back by staff repeatedly asking did one want a drink even minutes after ordering. Vinoy s old school yet it rates were 180 a night lower than Clearwater area hotels. Cafes and museums a stroll away you can park your hire car and forget it. V European feel of town. Will be back.

Room Tip: Phone up first and be charming ! Florida kinda the south in that way! Smile! Tower rooms are less po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I've stayed 2 nights at this hotel, using a Gift Certificate, and I do not regret at all. Check in was efficient and pleasant, made by Joanna, and got an upgrade for a low price, to get the view of the Marina and the city. Gotta say I really enjoyed it. The lobby area is spectacular, with lots of different environments to take a seat and relax, using the free WiFi available. I had couple of snacks at the bar, and service along with food quality were amazing.
If you are on business or leisure, stay at the Vinoy. Great Place!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club

Address: 501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.