We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Anniversary Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Resort Credit
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Anniversary Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We booked an overnight stay at this historic hotel for our 20th wedding anniversary. Purchased one of their romantic getaway packages on-line months ahead of time. In the days prior to our arrival my husband touched based with a couple of people at the hotel to confirm things and verify the things offered in the package. Upon arrival he got clarification again of what we expected and what they "promised". It did NOT disappoint! We were promised a lovely bay view room and we got it. It was beautiful, clean, comfortable and had a great view. I'm surprised at people's negative reviews of this lovely resort. Complaining about the renovations or the decor seems ridiculous and what is anybody really suppose to do about that. But, if the room isn't clean or the pillows aren't comfortable and you politely ask them to be rectified, I find it hard to believe that this hotel wouldn't make it right. We had dinner that night at Marchard's and our waiter was SO accomodating! The meal was wonderful and he went above and beyond to make sure we were happy. We sat outside in front of the hotel later in the evening and had drinks and it was just beautiful out there. Later we went for a carriage ride through downtown St. Petersburg, which the hotel was happy to help us arrange. It was without a doubt the best anniversary ever and the Vinoy was a huge part of why. I'm sure any hotel or restaurant can have an off day/night/staff member, but give them the chance to make it right, and keep in mind you are not the only person they have staying there. We found the service to be impecable and this elegant hotel to be all that it should be and more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    265
    103
    31
    19
See reviews for
205
339
34
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (299)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

The hotel is really quite beautiful and has been impeccably restored to its former grandeur. There's an interesting history and great views. We found good restaurants and shops nearby that are walking distance. From the moment we arrived, we felt welcome. The front desk staff immediately found us an accessible room with a lovely view and really seemed to care and were quite helpful. Our room was very large and clean and the walk in shower was convenient. We especially enjoyed the huge pool with massaging waterfall that was so relaxing. Staff at the pool went out of their way to bring us specially requested items and the food was terrific. This hotel was the highlight of our two weeks in Florida. I would have loved to stay longer.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the balcony and view of the water so you could request a room with a balcony.We also enjoy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great location, good service, rooms are very pleasant, what is not to like?
Across the road from Marina, nice fishing from shore, sometimes views of Dolphins running along sea wall, and tennis courts on site.

Room Tip: The tower has nicer rooms but is a bit of a hike to get to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebring, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Love the decor and location. Beautiful grounds. Eclectic lobby. Great food. Loved the pool and waterfalls. Highly recommed taking the trolley around the loop for a quick tour of the sites to see. Don't miss the Chiluly hand blown glass chandelier in the ballroom.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Jo and I had the chance to stay at the historic Vinoy Hotel while visiting St. Petersburg. This is one of those extraordinary venues that should be on your must stay there list. The grand lobby of this restored 1925 classic hotel oozed with charm and elegance. We were greeted upon arrival in our rental Fiat 500 by the valet’s dressed as 1925 caddies with argyle socks and knickers.

Our standard king room was spacious with a desk, dresser and closet. There were soft signature brown robes to lounge after showering. There were simply no disappointments. Our room was upgraded to a bay view.

The hotel is a short walk to the River center and Bay Walk shopping streets. There was a great variety of restaurants and unique shop to experience. Take the time to ask the navigator (concierge) for a map and local recommendations.

My most memorable experience was the breakfast at the Marchand’s Restaurant in the Vinoy. It is simply the best I have ever had. The menu offered Vanilla Pancakes with strawberry compote and whipped cream or the Almond French toast with mandarin orange and carmel banana glaze. We indulged in the “healthy” Special K strawberry and ice cream smoothie. All this while seated in a historic space with carefully restored hand painted murals and decorations.

Step into an elegant past and book your stay at the Vinoy.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the Bay View. Balconies do not all have the Bay View.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Great hotel,staff,rooms and location. Admittedly, a bit pricey. Our 3rd time there and each room was different but clean and comfortable. We like to walk with the smell of the ocean surrounding us. The Pier is fun but it sounds like they plan to tear it down and rebuild. May want to find out if it is under construction during your stay. That would take away a bit of the fun.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

This hotel is so lovely, and the staff is as great as you could hope to find. The rooms are large, and the pool, spa, and sundecks are beautiful. The renovations are exquisite, and the charm of the 1920s still abounds. I would return again whenever I am in the St. Petersburg area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club

Address: 501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#1 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.