We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge Room ... Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club to your Saves list
Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hampton, New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Huge Room ... Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Recently stayed at the Vinoy for a one night stay. Had a room in the main building on the third floor. (glad we were only on the 3rd floor since the elevators are so tiny!) I asked for a view overlooking the bay and had a beautiful room overlooking the pool and then the pier and bay off in the distance. We had two beds and the room was huge ... also had a desk area; 2 chairs and small table. At the pool area they had an attendant that provided you with towels and there was a woman who came around offering to take drink; food orders (we didn't have any so can't comment on that). To get to the pool from the main building you do have to go down some stairs - outside and up some other stairs (a bit odd) and to use the restrooms from the pool you have to go outside of the pool area and head down toward the spa. (nice showers in these restrooms though). You can self-park, but you do have to pay. You also have to pay for internet (boo) but you are able to use it with five devices. There is a small cafe type place on the first floor (can get fruit; muffins; yogurt; juice etc.). There are many restaurants and shops within walking distance. We did enjoy My Yogurt Cafe on Beach Drive. We also went to the Farmer's Market on Saturday morning. Lots and lots of stalls --- food; jewelry; spices; breads and fun entertainment.

Room Tip: Third floor overlooking the pool had a beautiful view (of pool and pier and bay in the background...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    648
    298
    112
    34
    19
See reviews for
220
392
39
259
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel is in a fantastic location. Downtown St. Petersburg is beautiful, many great restaurants within walking distance. Marina right there. There is a trolley bus that picks you up right in front of the Vinoy and will take you around the downtown area for just 50¢. During the ride they tell you local information. Back to the hotel, my room was a little on the small side and no balcony, but very comfortable bed and everything was very clean. My husband had stayed there before in a larger room that had a small sitting area and a balcony and from his description I think the upgrade sounds worth it if you will spend some time in your room. Pool area is very nice. The main floor/lobby is very large and there are various different sitting areas. The decor is lovely. There is an small museum area with old photos and an explanation of this historic hotel. The front porch is long and wide with rocking chairs, outdoor furnishings and a bar. I ate at one of the restaurants for dinner. It was on the main/lobby floor, not sure the name. Food was delicious. Slightly overpriced, which is to be expected, but not outrageous.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We booked this hotel via Expedia for our wedding night, something that the hotel were well informed of. We jumped on the plane right after our ceremony and after 15 hours on a plane, all we wanted was to have a romantic night together, but this was interrupted by the most discusting bathroom that wasn't cleaned after the former guest. Napkins on the floor, hair in the sink and a leaking bathtub. To add - for a 4 star hotel, the price doesn't mean quality. Not even a complimentary bottle of water on the room...The room was also so cold! The windows didn't open either. We didn't complain because at this time, it was already after midnight and the last thing we wanted was to spend our wedding night crying in the lobby.

Only positive thing was the breakfast and the service there.

When checking out of the hotel they said that they could upgrade us to another room, if we were to stay longer, but who wants to stay longer in a hotel that already showed such an ignorance to the most important night of someone's life? They blamed Expedia for not forwarding the information about that it was our wedding night. But I'm sure Expedia will blame the hotel back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STILLWATER
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

This is a beautiful area surrounded by poverty. We got a bit lost on the way. The hotel is gorgeous and so cool that they have integrated the renaissance feel of handcrafted tiles and hand hewn beams with the contemporary Chihuly glassware. My room overlooking the marina was delightful. The walk to the exercise area serene and the restaurants around were fabulous. I am so glad I wasn't paying for the room. I expect that most folks living in the surrounding area pay less in rent for a month than the nightly fee for the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for the bay view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Beautiful property in perfect location for relaxing and being in the midst of activities at the same time. Service at the hotel was really great with no request being too small for their immediate attention. Lots of secluded sitting space and reminders of a slower paced lifestyle.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in the main building not in the tower. The tower is nice but more difficult to access o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Very few of the previous reviews I have posted relate to large scale hotels. Generally we prefer to stay at smaller more intimate type places, but on a recent visit to St. Petes we decided on the Vinoy for three reasons. One, it was at once one of the most famous hotels in the US; two, the location right on the waterfront in the historic downtown is unbeatable and three, we got a very good rate that included $50 a day credit on other items at the resort. We used these at the spa and dining room.

The hotel, with its signature pink tower is truly majestic in appearance and I suppose could be intimidating to some, but our check-in was smooth, quick and courteous from the valet, the bellman and the reception desk. The room was large with a great king bed and decent sized bathroom. The drawback was that it had no view and also had one of those damn mini-bars that charge you seconds after you touch something. However, the bellman did warn us in advance so there were no unpleasant surprises on the bill. The other irritation was having to pay $14.95 a day for internet service. When will these large hotel chains learn that internet service is a necessity and should be included in the basic room rate? That being said these were all minor matters that did not detract significantly from our enjoyment of our stay at the Vinoy.

This is a hotel that has gone through its own rebirth after declining from its Roaring Twenties heyday to a virtual flophouse in the sixties and then being closed for many years, an embarrassing derelict on the waterfront. After a $90 million restoration it reopened in 1992 and has recently been re-renovated. I learned all this from an interesting display on the history of the hotel tucked away at one end of the massive lobby. This is a hotel that is fun to explore (in fact there is a tour of the hotel you can pay to take, but we met a couple who found it interesting, but far too long.) There are some exceptional pieces of artwork including a massive white Dale Chihuly chandelier in the ballroom.

The Veranda Bar which stretches from a very chic library-like lounge inside to a double-sided bar (one side inside, the other outside on the veranda) is one of the nicest hotel bars I’ve seen and the martinis were excellent. There are numerous dining choices including Marchand’s at which we had a memorable meal. If you are interested in visiting the many fine museums in St. Petes, or the Pier or just strolling along the waterfront they are all only moments from the Vinoy.

The Vinoy seems like the type of place you would run into celebrities and in fact we did – Deion Sanders was standing on the entrance steps waiting for his limo. Apparently he was in town as a coach at a high school football all-star game. I bet we enjoyed our stay as much as he did, even if he had a better room.

Room Tip: When booking directly with the hotel on line check to see if the $50 per day credit is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Enjoyed a quick stay at the Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club with friends. Enjoyed the day strolling around downtown St. Pete which has done a wonderful job of restoring buildings, creating walkways, cafe's, and museums to enjoy along the Bay. Enjoyed dinner at Marchand's. The hotel has been restored beautifully. I have been a guest before and will be a guest again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club

Address: 501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Otel, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.