We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club to your Saves list
Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the Savings
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
sarasota, fl
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here one night for a mommy and me getaway. My rating is based on limited use of the amenities on this trip but what we did use was great. Staff was excellent and especially, oddly enough, the valets. I lost my ticket and they went to retrieve the other portion from my car so I could take a picture of it for when I needed to call for it again. The homemade chicken noodle soup from room service is excellent and food arrived quickly and hot. We had a tower room, facing the marina, which was lovely, except that a reception going on below us on the outdoor patio was loud and lasted til a bit late. The room decor is nice, nothing very special, but the room was spacious and clean. My daughter and I both thought the lobby renovation was beautiful. Lots of great seating nooks and nice lobby cocktail service. I think that some design purists may disagree with the renovation, because it is a bit mod/mid-century. All the more reason to visit and form your own opinion. The location can't be beat. We walked down to the Dali and to some great little shops and restaurants. Of course, as others have said, it really is ridiculous to charge for internet any more. It doesn't cost the hotels any more to provide it for the rooms. And for that, have to take away one star.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    580
    273
    106
    32
    19
See reviews for
207
353
36
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (317)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
suburban Chicago, IL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband, 2 teenage daughters, and I spent three nights at the Vinoy at the end of December 2012. The hotel exceeded our expectations: it is beautiful, but not stuffy; elegant, but friendly. Our room was, I'm sure, one of the more basic available, yet it was roomy, very comfortable, and lovely. It was in the newer wing of the hotel, which means it has a small balcony (in our case, over-looking the tennis courts, which was fine). If you can, get a room overlooking the marina.The location is fantastic--overlooking the marina and just a block away from the main shopping/dining area. Easy to walk to great restaurants and shops, as well as the very impressive Dali museum and several other museums/sights. Still, one of the best things about the hotel is the roomy and welcoming verandah, as well as the outdoor bar/cafe. I easily could have spent hours sitting in one of the rocking chairs or comfy couches just watching the world go by! (My kids loved the swimming pool, too!) We were most impressed with the staff: the concierge was wonderful, getting us dinner reservations for New Year's Eve on Dec. 30th; and the women working in the coffee shop were warm and friendly; across the board, the staff were friendly and very helpful. Our only complaint is really geared toward the Marriott Corporation--$14.95 a day for in-room internet service? Come on, that's just tacky.

Room Tip: Try to get a room overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Just stayed at the Vinoy during a conference. Location is great, lobby and architecture are terrific. Rooms are okay but nothing special. Elevators are small and slow. Wi-fi is quirky ( only works in certain locations) and they charge $14.95/ day. Rather weak beer selection at the bars. Their banquet service was a joke. Food was very good, tables were not cleared, almost impossible to get a coffee served during breakfast, they even ran out of prime rib at our dinner before the last 2 tables were served.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for room on city side to view bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Station, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a classic hotel that Marriott just has not done justice. Great parts: experienced bartender in lobby bar, good concierge, lovely outdoor bar and promenade. Breakfast was good and reasonably prices and great location. Why is this not my favorite hotel? The room was just average. Pillows uncomfortable, safe broken. Decor is blah. This hotel could be spectacular overall but them maybe they would have to cap hare a lot more. Don't agree with some of the decor complaints. I think the renovation did not go far enough.




Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Springs
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

The Vinoy is a historic waterfront property with great modern updates in the heart of St. Petersburg near cafes, museums and boating. The hotel offers a great mix of history with the Renaissance brand and services that we love. The Dali museum and cafes are within walking distance so you can spend a weekend without driving or traffic. Sailing Florida is a yacht charter service from the Vinoy Marina that is not connected to the Vinoy resort and that's a good thing for the Vinoy, since Sailing Florida was not very accomodating. I asked about several weekends near holiday time frame and each request was met with irritation and almost anger for even asking. It was clear that a potential new customer was the target and those with gift certificates were way down the priority list. I received a gift certficate for a four hour sailing trip and it was not easy to get it scheduled. It was clearly a case of having collected the money and not really caring if the customer ever scheduled the trip. The captain that was not the owner that we ended up with was very nice, but I would avoid using Sailing Florida service to avoid the drama. Life is too short to deal with that kind of annoyance. The Vinoy has other recommendations for good charter services that I learned about later. Next time I will get with concierge and find a more user friendly option. Stay and this wonderful hotel and enjoy all it has to offer but don't use Sailing Florida Charters if you get that urge to get out on the water.

Room Tip: The outside bar area is very relaxing in the front and side of the hotel. Great views and great ser...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This historic hotel is special from the minute you drive up to it. One of the best admission experiences ever including the special attention they give to children even when you are on business bringing along the family.

The rooms vary quite a bit throughout the hotel, but each area has it's unique flavour and attributes. I have experienced three different types of rooms and loved every one of them. My favourite was in the tower which you reach by the elevators off the parking area.

The morning couldn't get any better on the grand front porch in the wicker furniture enjoying a pastry and your starbucks while enjoying a humid breeze.

Beware the elevators are quite small and it does take a few walk throughs to understand the layout of the hotel. The pool is one of my family's favourite R&R activities when we visit this hotel... just beautiful, well kept, good food and beverage service to make you never want to leave.

Our most cherished memory from the Vinoy (other than my golf games at their off site course - stellar) was watching the dolphins play in the harbour that followed a boat in that was docking. amazing.

This hotel never disappoints and always creates new adventures!

Room Tip: Higher floors have the best view. The bay side is very nice and you might see a dolphin or two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, Kansas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here for a few night over New Years Eve. It was our first time in the area. We stayed in the main building over looking the bay. The hotel elevators looked to be the original size and style which we thought was neat. The lobby was modern but you still felt the history when you were there. They have computers you can use to check in for your flights and print boaring passes. The only negatives is paying $14.98 a day for self parking and paying for Wifi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club

Address: 501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.