We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club to your Saves list
Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #7 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Louisville Kentucky
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

The Vinoy was even more beautiful than I had imagined! This place is just stunning! I stayed in the historic building and absolutley loved it! Upon checking in the reservations clerk tried to get me to upgrade to a tower room...but my daughter and I WANTED to be in the historic section, not for the money it saved but for the fact that it is the historic section, the girl didn't seem to get . Everything about this place is on point....loved, loved , loved it!!! I can't wait to go back!!!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    305
    116
    34
    20
See reviews for
224
399
39
265
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Myers, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Haven't been this disappointed in a long time. We made our reservations months in advance to meet with friends in this grand old hotel. Both reservations were completely wrong, but no one at the Vinoy cared. One of the rooms was also not available until after the 4pm check in time. Dined at Marchand's award winning restaurant, and was disappointed there as well. Service was slow; we had to ask for water, drinks, and bread. Food was average. What a shame, as it is a fabulous location. We will definitely be back to visit the area, but we definitely will NOT stay at the Vinoy.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel 5 times in recent years, so have seen the renovations and the improvements these have made. It is a beautiful, quant hotel which opened in Dec 1925. The hotel is well apointed, terrific setting overlooking the bay and marina. The foyer, reception and terrace are now finished and look excellent, we had room overlooking the bay and it was lovely to wake up to this view everymorning.

However this time we were very let down by the standard of the room iteslef, the room was a good size and well appointed, however the bathroom was very poor, the shower was over the bath which I do not personally like, but this is a beautiful old building so changing this could be an issue, however the black mildew under the soap dish is not pleasant I refused to use the bath or shower at all the 4 nights we stayed here, prefering to use the showers in the ladies locker rooms at the golf club.

Breakfast on our first day, was mediocre and spoilt by the fact I had to send my cereal back twice as the bowl was dirty, an apology would have been nice from the waitress,rather that just an 'oh'! I felt as though I was troubling her for asking for a clean one.

Also - come on Rennaisance time to join the 21st Century - internet is almost as a basic a requirement today as electricity, why can you not hide it in the bill. This hotel is part of the Marriott group and it never fails to frustrate me, how internet and valet parking is charged - some hotels and resorts it is free (although nothing in life is free we know it is built into the nightly rate it is better than it being added seperately) $14.95 per night plus tax for a poor wifi connection is not ideal.

My husband rarely says anything, however this time he noted it was sometimes difficult to tell if the room had been serviced as it was done to such a poor standard, dirty cups left out and toothbrush glass not replaced if dirty.

This is coming across very negative, however I strongly feel this hotel is letting itself down, a beautiful building, great atmosphere, very poor bathrooms, paper cups for coffee (yuck) and plastic cups for drinks (double yuck).

I have to add a post note here regarding the golf course, it is a beautiful little course the staff up there can not do enough to help and the lounge/club house area for lunch, snacks or dinner cannot be faulted, the main hotel could learn a lot from the staff there, very friendly, and nothing was too much trouble.

My final word has to be the reception staff who on arrival and during my stay on the whole were friendly and helpful however it has to be said the I managed to meet the most misserable member of hotel staff I have ever come across, when I checked out I had been overcharged for my internet, I spoke to a guy at reception and really wish I had taken his name - someone needs to remind him a smile if free as is a thank you.

I doubt we will return.

Room Tip: Try and get a bayview room, the view is stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

St. Peterburg's grand old hotel, the Renaissance Vinoy has much to offer: a terrific setting on the water, opposite the marina (but not on the beach); a location close to downtown and all its shopping and restaurants; proximity to a slew of great museums and cultural attractions; a lovely pool, fine restaurants, a terrific veranda and outdoor patio for drinks and socializing, a nice cafe with Illy coffee and healthy snacks. Add in a golf course, tennis courts, and a spa, and you've got the whole enchilada.

Staff is helpful and warm. The rooms are spacious, and the ones overlooking the bay are especially nice.

Unfortunately, the grande dame has been the victim of a misguided re-do, epitomized by the unfortunate marketing tag, "hip octogenarian." That's never a good thing. Reminds me of what they once called Goldie Hawn, when she appeared on Letterman in some inappropriately tweeny outfit: "Mutton dressed as lamb." A bad face-lift, a la Joan Rivers. You get my drift.

The place has great bones: Mediterranean Revival architecture, a warm pink exterior, a ballroom and lobby with dramatic vaulted ceilings and quarry glazed tile floor. The ballroom even has a dramatic 1250 pound Dale Chihuly chandelier. (If you're really into Chihuly, the Morean Arts Center, three blocks away, has a whole collection of his work.)

All the elements were there to do a really classy make-over riffing on the original design. Instead, decorators seemed to want to channel South Beach hipsters and do some vaguely mid-century modern thing with starburst lighting fixtures that fight with the original Murano glass chandeliers, cheesy library shelves filled with knicknacks and that old, '80s cliche -- books all covered in the same color covers (a sure sign that content is secondary to decorating). The garish abstract art on the walls looks like it came from a street fair spin-art display. Worst of all is the carpet -- a blobby thing in turquoise, green and brown. So sad.

Functionally, the place works. The lobby's a nice place for checking your email for free, esp. since doing so in your room will cost you $15. And the little nook areas are great for small groups.

So, bottom line: I would stay there again. Much more to recommend it than to diss it. And, admittedly, others have found the remodeling charming. It just hurt me to see a really fabulous building opt for the easy, hipster fix instead of being true to its beautiful soul.

Room Tip: If you want a good view, opt for higher floors so you get beyond the treeline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel is beautiful! It is a sprawling old florida resort that has recently gone through an absolutely beautiful renovation. We stayed in an upgraded tower room with a balcony overlooking the bay and I think it was well worth the extra cost. I loved it because it had french doors that open onto a large balcony, it was perfect for hanging out and having pre dinner drinks. This property is located with in walking distance of everything and there is so much to do on the property itself, the only thing you cant get to easily is the beach. This was not a problem for me because there is a beautiful pool overlooking the bay. I can't wait to go back. The staff was wonderful!!

Room Tip: Balcony room in the newer tower was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We just left this morning and I want to plan another getaway to the Vinoy again soon in the near future. The hotel is beautifully restored with so much class and modern flare. The staff were all nice and friendly even at their coffee shop. We were greeted with a smile at the front desk by John. He made us feel so welcomed and as if we were the only patron at the hotel. He gave us his undivided attention while checking us in-exceptional service John. He was able to upgrade us into a Spa Room with a private jacuzzi. It was beautiful, clean and so spacious. You walk out the door of the hotel and you have the marina, Vinoy Park, Chihuly collection @ the Morean Museum and all kinds of restaurants a few steps away. This is the perfect hotel. Sitting at the bench at the Vinoy Park looking at the boats go by and the pelicans were amazing and relaxing. Fitness center is huge and so is the pool. Very clean pool. The Pier is within walking distance from the hotel where you can see the gorgeous Florida sunsets. I will definitely go back to the Vinoy. Thank you to all the staff for making this a relaxing and an unforgettable vacation.

Room Tip: Spa Rooms in The Tower were the best. It smells so good as you walk into that building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The renovations done to The Vinoy provide a spotless view of the detailed history of the hotel with an updated feel that is classy and comfortable. The rooms were nice - spacious and clean, yet nothing spectacular on bedding or linen of note.
The service is beyond superb with every team member providing an excellence and genuine need to supersede any request made, even anticipating the next step.
Make the time to enjoy the veranda and patio seating - it's divine this time of year to sit outside with a cool breeze and fire pit at night. Perfect for entertaining, comfortable for conversations and even enjoyable alone.
A colleague raved about the spa while another was very complimentary of the fitness facility. Room service is quick and delicious - not like many laces where you may receive a long wait or cold food.
The location is perfection for St Pete; nearby (walking distance) to many hotels, shopping, bars and clubs. Check out Suite Six - great place for drinks.

Room Tip: Higher is better as you receive a view of the bay and the expanse becomes that much bigger. Corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club

Address: 501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 361
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Otel, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.