We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hotel, unfortunate redesign” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Resort Credit
Ranked #7 of 45 hotels in St. Petersburg
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Terrific hotel, unfortunate redesign”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

St. Peterburg's grand old hotel, the Renaissance Vinoy has much to offer: a terrific setting on the water, opposite the marina (but not on the beach); a location close to downtown and all its shopping and restaurants; proximity to a slew of great museums and cultural attractions; a lovely pool, fine restaurants, a terrific veranda and outdoor patio for drinks and socializing, a nice cafe with Illy coffee and healthy snacks. Add in a golf course, tennis courts, and a spa, and you've got the whole enchilada.

Staff is helpful and warm. The rooms are spacious, and the ones overlooking the bay are especially nice.

Unfortunately, the grande dame has been the victim of a misguided re-do, epitomized by the unfortunate marketing tag, "hip octogenarian." That's never a good thing. Reminds me of what they once called Goldie Hawn, when she appeared on Letterman in some inappropriately tweeny outfit: "Mutton dressed as lamb." A bad face-lift, a la Joan Rivers. You get my drift.

The place has great bones: Mediterranean Revival architecture, a warm pink exterior, a ballroom and lobby with dramatic vaulted ceilings and quarry glazed tile floor. The ballroom even has a dramatic 1250 pound Dale Chihuly chandelier. (If you're really into Chihuly, the Morean Arts Center, three blocks away, has a whole collection of his work.)

All the elements were there to do a really classy make-over riffing on the original design. Instead, decorators seemed to want to channel South Beach hipsters and do some vaguely mid-century modern thing with starburst lighting fixtures that fight with the original Murano glass chandeliers, cheesy library shelves filled with knicknacks and that old, '80s cliche -- books all covered in the same color covers (a sure sign that content is secondary to decorating). The garish abstract art on the walls looks like it came from a street fair spin-art display. Worst of all is the carpet -- a blobby thing in turquoise, green and brown. So sad.

Functionally, the place works. The lobby's a nice place for checking your email for free, esp. since doing so in your room will cost you $15. And the little nook areas are great for small groups.

So, bottom line: I would stay there again. Much more to recommend it than to diss it. And, admittedly, others have found the remodeling charming. It just hurt me to see a really fabulous building opt for the easy, hipster fix instead of being true to its beautiful soul.

Room Tip: If you want a good view, opt for higher floors so you get beyond the treeline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    549
    264
    103
    31
    19
See reviews for
204
335
34
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (295)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This hotel is beautiful! It is a sprawling old florida resort that has recently gone through an absolutely beautiful renovation. We stayed in an upgraded tower room with a balcony overlooking the bay and I think it was well worth the extra cost. I loved it because it had french doors that open onto a large balcony, it was perfect for hanging out and having pre dinner drinks. This property is located with in walking distance of everything and there is so much to do on the property itself, the only thing you cant get to easily is the beach. This was not a problem for me because there is a beautiful pool overlooking the bay. I can't wait to go back. The staff was wonderful!!

Room Tip: Balcony room in the newer tower was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We just left this morning and I want to plan another getaway to the Vinoy again soon in the near future. The hotel is beautifully restored with so much class and modern flare. The staff were all nice and friendly even at their coffee shop. We were greeted with a smile at the front desk by John. He made us feel so welcomed and as if we were the only patron at the hotel. He gave us his undivided attention while checking us in-exceptional service John. He was able to upgrade us into a Spa Room with a private jacuzzi. It was beautiful, clean and so spacious. You walk out the door of the hotel and you have the marina, Vinoy Park, Chihuly collection @ the Morean Museum and all kinds of restaurants a few steps away. This is the perfect hotel. Sitting at the bench at the Vinoy Park looking at the boats go by and the pelicans were amazing and relaxing. Fitness center is huge and so is the pool. Very clean pool. The Pier is within walking distance from the hotel where you can see the gorgeous Florida sunsets. I will definitely go back to the Vinoy. Thank you to all the staff for making this a relaxing and an unforgettable vacation.

Room Tip: Spa Rooms in The Tower were the best. It smells so good as you walk into that building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The renovations done to The Vinoy provide a spotless view of the detailed history of the hotel with an updated feel that is classy and comfortable. The rooms were nice - spacious and clean, yet nothing spectacular on bedding or linen of note.
The service is beyond superb with every team member providing an excellence and genuine need to supersede any request made, even anticipating the next step.
Make the time to enjoy the veranda and patio seating - it's divine this time of year to sit outside with a cool breeze and fire pit at night. Perfect for entertaining, comfortable for conversations and even enjoyable alone.
A colleague raved about the spa while another was very complimentary of the fitness facility. Room service is quick and delicious - not like many laces where you may receive a long wait or cold food.
The location is perfection for St Pete; nearby (walking distance) to many hotels, shopping, bars and clubs. Check out Suite Six - great place for drinks.

Room Tip: Higher is better as you receive a view of the bay and the expanse becomes that much bigger. Corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Great hotel, very nice accommodations. My mother and I stayed here for one night while we were in St. Petersburg to treat ourselves. It was the nicest hotel I have ever stayed in. Big comfy bath robes, nice fluffy beds, comfy chairs in the room. It was like floating on a cloud. :) Restaurants were within walking distance. I'd stay here again, if I could afford it!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I was here for a convention on the property. Convention services were very good and the staff took excellent care of our group. Food, even the food served at the convention, was better than one would expect from a hotel. I was a little disappointed in the lamb shank at the restaurant, but the bar selection is excellent.

The rooms are adequate and have been updated. I was in a standard room without any special view but still liked what I saw out the window.

While spacious, the fitness center had several pieces of equipment that weren't working, and much of what was working seemed tired. That said, the offerings in the fitness and spa center are top line.

Since I didn't play golf, I cannot comment on the course or any other resort offerings, but reports from others indicated the course was very good. The Chihuly gallery is right down the street and worth a visit.

Bottom line, it is a pleasure to be in a hotel that dates from the early 20th century and not feel like you are in an old hotel. It has the charm and feel of the stately hotels from the period, but looks and feels much newer.

Room Tip: If view is important to you, pay for the upgrade, otherwise I found the regular rooms to be just fin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stay here often for business. really nice business hotel. as far as a resort, a little less than desirable. Pool, Fitness, Restaurants all great. Spa leaves much to be desired and hours are a little more than regular business hours. renovated lobby looks great, nice patio for drinks, and bar indoors. great location for St. Pete restaurants/activity. the golf course is a short drive away from the hotel. while on the water, there is no beach here.

Room Tip: there are two sets of rooms, the main building and the Tower. the Tower is considered newer and a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club

Address: 501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, Otel, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.