We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicest hotel in St. Pete.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club

Save Saved
You added Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$50 Nightly Resort Credit
Ranked #7 of 46 hotels in St. Petersburg
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nicest hotel in St. Pete.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stay here often for business. really nice business hotel. as far as a resort, a little less than desirable. Pool, Fitness, Restaurants all great. Spa leaves much to be desired and hours are a little more than regular business hours. renovated lobby looks great, nice patio for drinks, and bar indoors. great location for St. Pete restaurants/activity. the golf course is a short drive away from the hotel. while on the water, there is no beach here.

Room Tip: there are two sets of rooms, the main building and the Tower. the Tower is considered newer and a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    543
    263
    103
    31
    19
See reviews for
202
332
34
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Although the resort is beautiful and the service is top-notch, I was disappointed slightly by the room. The bathroom was outdated and not what I'd expect of a 4-star FL hotel. It was a simple plastic tub/shower with a cloth curtain.

I really enjoyed the fire pits outside the front of the property. And the bartender pours a stiff margarita. Then, the next morning, the cafe opened extra-early to get me my coffee with soy milk.

The location is great - walking distance to a main street of restaurants and the Chihulli museum. Plus it's on the water.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Nice hotel in a historical place. Wonderful location , perfect to visit all this amazing town. Breakfast is a must with nice and professional staff. We cant´say the same about receptionist as they were very stupids (all of them) offering us the worst bedroom (maybe because it was booked in internet).
Room was ok but location, but is not our cup of tea for price ( a bit overpriced). You may find better options in town if you are looking for more comfortable rooms but location and breakfast rocks to avoid this!. It was worthy but next time we will try a bed and breakfast in area ( we realized are 100% lovely managed).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pekin, Illinois
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed here for five nights over the Thanksgiving holiday and will return whenever we are in the St. Petersburg area. The hotel has all its 1925 charm and beauty wonderfully restored. The room was large and the bed was comfortable. The hotel is only about six stories tall and has tennis courts, swimming pool and the golf course is a short shuttle ride away. We ate at the Marchand restaurant several times and the food was excellent and service friendly and prompt. It is a short walk to several museums, shopping and restaurants. It is across the street from the water (not a beach) and there is a nice walking sidewalk all along the bay. The only quibbles are lack of free internet service and no small hotel refrigerator in the room. We hope to make many future visits to the Vinoy.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room without a balcony overlooking the front of the hotel; the room was very nice; as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

awesome location with excellent service. Perfect for seeing the sites of the city! Ideal location for the Womens Half Marathon event in November.
The service is outstanding and the valet service was awesome.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

My friend and I ( I was visiting from Ireland) visited St Pete's for a day and at the end of our wonderful day we thought we would finish our great day off by eating dinner at the Vinoy. We had the early dinner special with a limited choice at an affordable price. Yes, you get what you pay for but I would at least expect the small helpings to be of a high standard and they were not. My friend had the lamb shank which seemed to have been marinated in rosemary forever.....it just tasted rosemary. She did not and could not eat it. Our waiter, who crowded us for the short time that we were there eventhough there was only one other table occupied at the same time, took it back to the kitchen for a replacement. The replacement was no better and so she had no main course. Both starter and desert consisted of very little. She was not charged for her main course but this did not take from our over all dissapointment of eating in the Vinoy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Great experience with every staff from check in, valet, housekeeping to pool attendant.. Great hospitality, great location.. Made our anniversary an unforgettable time. Thank you, vinoy renaissance team!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club

Address: 501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Otel, Hotels.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.