We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Meeting Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club to your Saves list
Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Celebrate the Savings
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Meeting Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I recently hosted a meeting at the Renaissance Vinoy for our Executive Team. Everything from the check-in to the meeting space was perfect. Everyone was pleased with the meeting room accomodations and the set-up. The food was outstanding and so was the service. I will definately host another meeting at this property in the future. Great location. Plenty to do on property and around the downtown area. Everything is within walking distance. If you have not staed at this property you must try it.

Room Tip: There are two buildings. The main building is the historic building where only the front rooms face...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    597
    281
    108
    33
    20
See reviews for
210
363
37
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (328)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

My family of 4 stayed there for a wedding for 5 nights over New Year's. Seeing as I have 2 older teenagers and considering the length of our stay, I requested a room with two beds, plus either a rollaway bed or a pullout couch at the time I made the reservation many months prior. When we checked in and got to our room, theire was neither a rollaway bed or a couch. We let the front desk know and requested it again. Later that day I stopped by to ask about it and was told they thought they had just given out the last rollaway - as though we had never even asked for it. I had to firmly state that we expect to get one and finally one arrived. But it shouldn't be that difficult.

The room we got (while nice and large) had possibly the WORST view possible - heating vents and a roof. While we were part of a block of rooms for the wedding, they were not all together and others in the same block as us had lovely views and some even balconies. And I should point out that although we got a "discounted" rate, it was by no means "cheap" - and we were staying 5 nights!

While it was quite clear that there were four of us in the room, the cleaning staff never seemed to remember to leave 4 bath towels, 4 hand towels and 4 washcloths. We had to keep calling down to ask for them. Finally we just took some from the pool.

The $18 per day valet parking, or even the $12 per day self parking is a bit ridiculous seeing as you can park on the street right across from the hotel for free. Luckily we caught on to that quickly.

The service in the patio area in the front of the hotel was very uneven. Since this was a wedding event with many guests from out of town, we were there often meeting for drinks and conversation. Sometimes the waiter/waitress would disappear for long periods of time. One evening we had ordered multiple appetizers over the course of the evening and some never even came. We witnessed people with another group ask to speak to the manager because they were obviously also having problems.

Lastly, on our last day we asked the girl working at the bar on the veranda if the TV at the far end of the veranda could be tuned to a particlar channel so we could watch the Winter Classic and have some drinks and food. They accomodated us but not happily and refused to turn on the volume even a little. it was a very chilly day by Florida standards (not to us from the northeast though) and we were the ONLY ones out on the veranda. We asked to speak to the manager since the girl at the bar was very robotic in her refusal to turn on the volume. The manager came out and pretended to fuss with the TV and said he thought it might be wired to not have volume but he would see what he could do. He never came back. Certainly not a manager interested in accomodating his guests.

On a positive note, the bellmen and valet people were incredibly friendly and helpful and made a point of remembering the names of guests and greeted us every time we passed them coming in or out. They were very accomodating and eager to please and it was a pleasure to deal with them. The food and service in the restaurants and pool area were all good. The location is beautiful - great area for morning walks along the water.

All in all, while this hotel tries to position itself as an upscale resort, it's really just an average chain in a nice spot. Other family members as well as my family stayed a few nights prior to this stay at a Hilton and Hampton Inn locally where we got upgrades for no reason, had complimentary breakfasts and happy hours, and paid LOT less per night.

Room Tip: Specifically request a room with a water or pool view, or a balcony if you want one. Otherwise you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

This was a perfect mini-trip for us. We were attending a wedding at the Vinoy so we stayed a couple of nights. A lovely grand hotel in a wonderful setting. St Pete is a vibrant town and the hotel is perfectly situated to take advantage of most everything.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We are locals (we live in Tampa) but stayed at the Vinoy for my sister's wedding. The staff which worked during the reception was FANTASTIC. They went above and beyond. Really - they were all professional and helpful, overall, a great experience.
When we checked into our room (we were under the wedding block), I should have mentioned that I wanted a nice room. But I really shouldn't have to ask for a nice room to begin with - shouldn't that be a given? Here are our complaints...
1. Our room, which was in the main building, was on the 7th floor. Our room was small. So small, that if you opened the bathroom door, you couldn't access the room's front door.
2. The view was TERRIBLE. I know that there are better views in that hotel, but our view was of the roof and the parking lot and there was a light that came through our window, our room was never really dark.
3. The towels...or lack thereof. We got a room with a king size bed. You would think four towels would be the standard? Nope. We only got 2. And, I thought that my husband had rolled up one of the towels because it wasn't folded. I was concerned that our towel was used - until I got a new towel and it was handed to me unfolded, in kind of a balled up roll. I guess that's how they 'fold' their towels? Oh and I would have been fine with two towels, except that there wasn't any place to hang up our towels to dry except for a tiny towel wrack in the shower. I would have been ok with 2 towels if they were at least dry.
4. More about the towels - they are very thin and dingy and just sad. I should have packed my own. But then maybe they are thin so that they dry faster?
5. The remote control was greasy - gave me the willies.
6. They must have been running low on pillows too. We only had three and they were deflated looking. My neck is still kind of sore.
7. I know that not all hotels change the sheets, but they could at least change the pillow cases, especially when one of them has a big chocolate spot on it from me. Nope, they put that pillow front and center, right back on the bed.

I know that list is long. But even with the discounted rate, I would have rather had a larger room, more towels, and a clean remote control.

Room Tip: avoid even numbers on the 7th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012 via mobile

The manager found out it was our anniversary, he upgraded our room, even bought us a historical book of the hotel...the rest of the staff was super, restaurant was great, room was fantastic...perfect time. I misplaced theo
managers card or I would mention his name...he is also kind to law enforcement...recommend this to all my friends and family. TS

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marco Island, Florida
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I have stayed here several times, but usually during the "off season". It makes a huge difference in not only rates but in what room you receive. I've never stayed anywhere but in the tower with a bay view and a balcony, but I have been in the other section of the hotel in a friend's room. I don't care for those regular rooms. They are smaller and seem a bit moldy. Now, I don't know if they've remodeled since I've been in that section (2005), but the tower rooms on the bay are perfect.

I also never pay full price for the room. Get a Marriott credit card and become a member of the rewards program and they will usually upgrade you for free. The summer is the best time to get great rates.

The views and grounds are beautiful. The shopping and restaurants along the pier are great for a day of sightseeing and eating.

You can't lose staying at the Vinoy, but if you find something is not to your liking just call the front desk and they will make it right. Parking and Internet are costly, but it's worth it. I can't wait to go there in a few months.

Room Tip: Get a room in the tower with a balcony and bay view. just beautiful. push for a free upgrade to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

The Vinoy is a wonderful historic hotel and the rooms were clean and very spacious. There were a couple scrapes on the wall and door but that was the only thing wrong with the room. We stayed in the historic side of the hotel and it was just as nice as the newer building. Also we stayed during Christmas time and it was beautifully decorated. The breakfast at Marchands was delicious. The staff was also very helpful and kind. Overall, The Vinoy was a great hotel and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club

Address: 501 Fifth Ave NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in St. Petersburg
#2 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Classic Bayfront Resort comprising restored Vinoy Park Hotel & Tower (1992). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Vinoy Resort And Golf Club Hotel St. Petersburg
Renaissance Vinoy Hotel
Renaissance Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Renaissance
Vinoy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Renaissance Vinoy Resort and Golf Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.