We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too shabby!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay St. Petersburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay St. Petersburg to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay St. Petersburg
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   4999 34th Street North, St. Petersburg, FL 33714   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Not too shabby!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This hotel isn't as high quality as the one on ulmerton rd in st Pete but the price is right. The rooms wi-fi didn't work. Had to go out into the center court or elsewhere toward the lobby to get wifi. I never felt unsafe here- however the first night I stayed there was a lotta wildness going on in the middle of the night. I would stay here again - it's centrally located and shopping was a mile away. Also the Denny's next door is good and the staff are super friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    52
    53
    27
    47
See reviews for
64
60
28
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I was greeted like they knew me before, the staff made me feel safe and welcome,very polite,constant asked me if everythings ok,promt service from the roomservice staff made me feel at home,kindness went beyond service,i will come again and again loved the fountain very romantic for picture taking. just relax and enjoy self the surroundings will put you in a safe zone,i love the cameras arround it made you safe.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We found the rooms flat out dirty...from the tub to the floors. Suspicious characters roaming the parking lot at all hours. We did not feel our vehicle was safe. Random people congregating in parking lot at odd hours in night. This is a poor choice!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Maryland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A recent visit to FLA was extended due to Hurricane Sandy canceling our flight home. We looked for an affordable place for the extra two nights we needed and settled on the reputation of a La Quinta. We paid $52 a night for a bare bones hotel. Everything appeared clean...bathroom...linens, etc. except the musty smell was pretty hard to bare...had to leave the door open to air it out. Walking in the room it hit us like a baseball bat. Did not want to walk on the carpet barefoot.. Otherwise, the staff was friendly, the pool was pristine, and it wasn't far from the Tampa airport. Continenal breakfast was also good. Not sure I'd want to stay there again unless they got that smell under control.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key West, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The price was good and we try to stay in La Quinta hotels because they seem to have some nice properties. This location could not be rated as the safest location. Some of the rooms appear to be rented on a long term basis, some people may even live there. Witnessed several drug deals in the parking lot. Was constantly checking my vehicle to make sure it was safe. The room could have used a good cleaning, the blankets belonged in the animal rescue league. This place did not live up to the La Quinta quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Norman, North Carolina
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We had booked a reasonably priced hotel, and we were pleasantly surprised how wonderful the place was!! The service was great, the room clean and bright, but the courtyard really won us over! The bench amidst the shrubs was perfect for a little smoke, the pool was refreshing and well-maintained, and the continental breakfast was nice. The windows needed a good cleaning, though.... Will go there again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the court yard! So beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

we booked our trip through southwest airline way in advance and were very excited to use their website for air hotel and rent a car ( one stop shop)
Our trip was for pleasure and fun.
We assumed since we are getting hotel through southwest website it had to be a good one.
we were very disappointed as soon as we started following the direction and finding more and more homeless people on the streets, goodwill, title loan and bar-wire and fences around every house.
first we were greeted by a very heavy set unprofessional front desk staff who was not helpful at all and then to our old smelly room.
we parked our rental car right in front of ground floor room and continued to peek out to make sure it was still there.
next day we looked around to move to a different hotel but it was too late to get a decent deal there and we end up staying 3 days instead of 6 and moved out of there to a different La Quinta in Naples Florida few hours away from this one but very better cleaner and surprisingly same price.
we just want people to be aware of the situation in this hotel so no body get as disappointed as we were.

Room Tip: my suggestion will be read reviews before you book any hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay St. Petersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay St. Petersburg

Address: 4999 34th Street North, St. Petersburg, FL 33714
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay St. Petersburg 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NEW! Flat-panel TVs with 30 channels of HD programming. Easy-access Plug-and-Play feature makes it simple to connect electronics.You will notice the old world charm the minute you arrive at the La Quinta Inn. Hear the burbling fountain as you stroll among tropical vegetation. Lounge on the sundeck around the heated outdoor swimming pool as palms wave lightly overhead. Begin each day with a Free Bright Side BreakfastTM awaiting you in the lobby. Rooms are spacious, clean and filled with useful amenities such as free high-speed Internet access. Enjoy a workout in our well-equipped fitness center. The La Quinta Inn St. Petersburg is close to all popular attractions: Beautiful Gulf Beaches, Tropicana Field- Home of the Tampa Bay Rays, BayWalk Center and the St. Pete Pier, Mahaffey Theatre, Janis Landing, and Salvador Dali Museum. Raymond James Stadium, Busch Gardens and the St. Pete Times Forum are also nearby. Centrally located between St. Petersburg and Clearwater, west of Interstate 275 (exit 26B). Meeting facilities are also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, LaQuinta, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay St. Petersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay St Petersburg Hotel St. Petersburg
Quinta Inn
La Quinta St Petersburg
St Petersburg La Quinta
La Quinta Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn Tampa Bay St. Petersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.