We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“O No! Is this a bistro with a Wild West flair?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of O'Bistro

O'Bistro
6661 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33710
(727) 381-1212
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #299 of 768 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: French, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Doing business, Bar scene, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“O No! Is this a bistro with a Wild West flair?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Nice and quaint bistro with some tasty morsels. The only issue we had when we were there is a patron decided to go back to the Wild Bill Cody days, leap from his intoxicated state to punce on a person dining peacefully there. Very strange.

Bottomline:
Cuisine = Awesome
Atmosphere= Tranquil
Unexpected Surprises= Unbeliveable
Prices: A little pricey

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    26
    6
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A mixed bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

A bit of a strange place - our group of six agreed on that. Food consensus was excellent for wild salmon and spinach pie. Pasta de Giorno was a large serving but below average in taste. The ambiance is very nice, suitable for a romantic dinner because then you tend to look past the poor service. Food service was adequate, albeit intrusive to our conversation. It may have been that our waiter and the bartender did not like each other, but drink service was slow, the gin martinis were weak and expensive. And we were charged for more glasses of house wine than we actually consumed. When questioned, our waiter told us very firmly that the bill was correct.

All this adds up to an "average" rating,

  • Visited May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erie pa
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“What an accidental find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

While staying in Treasure Island, we happened to be out visiting relatives and came across this quaint little establishment while looking for coffee and some breakfast. We were not quite sure what to find when we entered and saw only a bar in the front, but we were quickly invited in seated with menu in hand. A GREAT Bloody Mary (many choices and options) . I had the fresh berries and crepes, my wife, a wonderful (HUGE) veggie omelet. The food and service was impeccable and left us with the question " what would we be missing if we never made it back for an evening visit?" Unfortunately, we never did make it back ;>(

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Petersburg
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A favorite local spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

I always enjoy eating here. Their food is great, but reasonable. For something a little different, try their eggplant fries. The hamburgers are the best!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food is okay, bad service, over charge..be careful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

I will not go back to this place.
Five of us ate at the retsaurant tonight. Food was okay.. However, the service was poor. Our waitress Kate was mediocre. My drink order was not as I had ordered it and even after I corrected it, I had to leave the table and go to the bar to get it right. At the end of the meal the restaurant apparently did not have the chocolate mousse that was to come with the meal and Kate only offered fruit or coffee as an option. If I had been paying and not another member of the party the tip would have been zero. The drink bill was very high and I went to talk to the bartender and found we were over charged $ 5 on a thirty dollar tab. The bartender could not do anything until talking to the waitress and she was clueless. The apparent manager said they would fix it on the credit card. I do not recommend this place and members of the party had eaten there regularly, but they will not again. Save your money and go elsewhere. My belief is they had a party in the back room and cut servixe to the rest of the restaurant. Over charging is never an excuse and not responding to this was inexcusable. Unfortunately other customers got involved.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed O'Bistro also viewed

St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to O'Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.