We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but a little too noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Z Grille

Z Grille
104 2nd St S, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-4491
727-822-9600
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Z Grille is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 722 restaurants in St. Petersburg
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 1st Avenue South
Orlando
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great food but a little too noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Great food and bar. We have eaten her several times. Really good service. The acoustics in the place makes it really noisy once the restaurant fills out though. They do have some outdoor seating though where it's a little quieter.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    77
    38
    8
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Truly Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Located on the corner of a downtown street this restaurant had caught my eye from the first day of our visit to St. Pete. Large windows open the restaurant to everyone walking by and the view is very inviting, divided with the bar on one side and dining tables on the other, seating is a little tight but forgivable, it looks like a futuristic movie set. Soft neon lighting along with overhead hanging accent lights, this place just invites you to come in. But wait what will keep you in the one of the most interesting and well done menus I have seen in a very long time. Trust me I live in Miami and this place caught me attention. We had the Scallops and Shrimp which were out of this world starting from the presentation to their taste. It was the kind of meal that you just savor every little bit. Coupled with some good wine from their very ample selection, this was a very memorable evening.
The dessert was a Chocolate velvet pie with bacon and crushed pretzel crust!! OMG!! AMAZING! Service was excellent, can't wait to come back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
620 reviews 620 reviews
521 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
174 helpful votes 174 helpful votes
“totally unique menu and food preparation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We always enjoy this place. The menu has a unique twist to it bot in selections and preparation. We love the shrimp in lettuce wraps and fried Dr. Pepper ribs. They are both must-order item for our family. Their lunch salads are wonderful as well. We prefer sitting outside on nice days. Service is always good. Another great visit.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A unique dining experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

My boyfriend & I came here just for some beers (we already had dinner & only had room for liquids). Upon seeing their menu, I immediately regretted eating anywhere else. Everything sounded delicious & nothing you can get anywhere nearby. From truffle fries, to fancy chicken & waffles, to DR PEPPER FRIED RIBS. Luckily, we were in town for another day & came back for lunch. The lunch menu wasn't quite as interesting as the dinner menu, but the food was great. Good service as well. If I lived in St. Pete, this would definitely be one of my favorite restaurants.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Always something new”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I've now had about 25% of what is on the menu, my wife has had some different things, we have overlapped on some items. The specials are always interesting - I had a Pork Ribeye, something I had never even heard of. It was excellent. The eggs always changing is another interesting thing, highly recommended. Plus, a very good selection of beer (also rotating). We've yet to have a bad meal, are looking forward to some cooler weather to sit outside.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Z Grille also viewed

 

Been to Z Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Z Grille, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.