We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and convenient to everything.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bayway Inn

Bayway Inn
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bayway Inn to your Saves list
Bayway Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4400 34th Street South, St. Petersburg, FL 33711 (Formerly Knights Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Brooksville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean and convenient to everything.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

First off, this motel is across the street from the former Knights Inn (which is now the Flamingo Hotel). I stayed one evening in May 2013. I'm impressed with this property because they make the effort. It's not perfect, but they try. The entire property is kept clean and in decent repair. The pool area is very attractive and there is an attached but separate upper level sundeck, also.

They offer two rates; for regular room or room with fridge & microwave. I opted for the regular rate. Because of another review of this motel on TripAdvisor, I arrived early to request a room on the pool side. I cannot now recall the specific explanation, but apparently poolside rooms have the fridge/microwave option, so I paid the higher room rate. When I entered the room I saw that it was NON-SMOKING and went back to the front desk. I was assured that it would be okay as I was only staying the one night. Asked for ashtray and was told housekeeping would provide one.

The ashtray was delivered, I believe, by one of the owners. She had ashtray in hand but seemed reluctant to hand it over. She explained that they had no smoking rooms available. I explained that I'd only made the reservation the night before and smoking rsv was confirmed.
I got the ashtray but didn't appreciate the guilt trip.

I would definitely use this property again but ONLY after confirming that regardless of which rate I pay (regular or fridge/micro), I can still get a room opposite the pool. If I am correct, management puts smokers on the side opposite their pool in what amounts to the most inconvenient rooms they have available. That kind of discrimination I can live without.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    0
    1
    3
    1
See reviews for
3
Couples
0
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed the night of March 12th. We started looking for a hotel rather late and this was the only one around the area for under $100, we paid $78 and the quality was not great, We thought it must be due to spring break but the manager said some sort of convention, but who really knows. Seemed clean enough. NO bugs. Beds werent all that comfortable, but firmer than most. No breakfast, and did have free wi-fi. BEST PART OF THIS HOTEL IS IF YOU ARE GOING TO SHELL KEY OR ST. PETE'S BEACH YOU CAN JUMP ON THE CAUSEWAY FROM THIS HOTEL, IT IS RIGHT THERE!!! PERFEFT FOR US.

Room Tip: If you are going over to see shell key or St. Pete's Beach the causeway is right there, really c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

We have been staying here on our yearly trips to the St Petersburg area over the last 8 years. Never had an issue until now. The hotel has changed hands a couple times over the years but generally clean, quiet, close to shopping, close to the beach. This visit we only stayed one night. Initially upon going into the room found some fruit flies. My husband was woken up at 2 am by a 1 inch roach crawling up his leg. We found one more huge roach before checking out in the early morning hours. It will be last time we ever stay here. Advice: stay somewhere else.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I have stayed many times at the Bayway over the past four or five years and have found it to be adequate. Fixtures and furniture may be a bit outdated, but the bathrooms were clean, the beds comfortable and the mini fridge sufficient for our drinks and snacks. I stayed there a month ago, and what a disappointment. I was put on the 'ghetto' side (the North side) and the game definitely changed. The room was a wreck. No mini-fridge at all. A disgusting stain on the carpet. The door didn't shut / lock properly. I found roaches in the bathroom. The sink only had hot water. I did mention the roaches and lock to management. They did not seem very concerned. I am not sure I will give them my business again, although I will be returning to St. Pete next weekend. Other posters are correct, seems like some drug-dealing is going on, and generally a degenerate atmosphere. Too bad b/ c it is reasonable and until last month I found it adequate. If you do go make absolute sure you are on the Pool side of the building, in order to avoid that bad atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

I think alot of drugs are being sold there and ghetto people hanging out all day kids running around hair weave everywhere got people standing around acting ghetto and looking you up and down like they never seen someone before I guess because we didn't look like a ghetto hot mess like they did cars with loud music playing you can't even hear the TV our rest its very ghetto and people smoking weed and that's sad because it can really be a great place its family owned and they have it looking nice to bad ghetto black folks who don't know how to act lives there

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
3.6 mi away
Days Inn - Central
Days Inn - Central
#18 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 267 reviews
3.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
Hampton Inn St. Petersburg
#11 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.0 of 5 stars 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Inn on Third
The Inn on Third
#6 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
3.9 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#12 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bayway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayway Inn

Address: 4400 34th Street South, St. Petersburg, FL 33711 (Formerly Knights Inn)
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Hotel Class:2 star — Bayway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Bayway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bayway Hotel St. Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bayway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.