We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Condo #404 at Boca Ciega Resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boca Ciega Resort & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Boca Ciega Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Boca Ciega Resort & Marina
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   8800 Bay Pines Blvd, St. Petersburg, FL 33709   |  
Dayton, Ohio, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Condo #404 at Boca Ciega Resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We had a wonderful experience staying at this nice, clean and spacious top floor waterfront condo #404 at Boca Ciega Resort! The owners take a real good care of it. When you enter the unit, you find a note from the owners and a bottle of wine; this welcoming gesture made us feel great after a long road trip.
The condo has it all: 2 flat screen TVs, a Playstation (we used it a lot as a NETFLIX player), DVDs with movies and cartoons for kids, a nice sofa in the living room and a very comfortable king bed in the bedroom, a balcony with a tiled floor. The balcony offers you a nice view of Boca Ciega Bay, and you can actually see the dolphins! The balcony itself is very spacious, it has two tables, a big box with beach necessities, and still there is plenty of space left. Full kitchen that has a lot of kitchen utensils and dishes; an oven with a nice glass ceramic cooktop, a dishwasher, a microwave.

The area is also great! Plenty of beautiful beaches, a lot of shopping and dining opportunities, (our favorite was Mazzaro's Italian Market), parks and playgrounds.

We will definitely recommend this condo to anyone and we will surely be back again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    12
    7
    5
    6
See reviews for
33
21
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newmarket, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

We visited Boca Ciega Resort from Feb 16th to Feb 23rd, 2013 for a week of sun on the Gulf before heading to Orlando.

My wife and I stayed in unit # 404, a charming 1 bedroom unit owned by a Swedish family. The Resort is situated right on Boca Ciega Bay, with a predominantly south west view, which produced some incredible sunsets, especially from our balcony.

The resort was very clean, had a nice pool and hot tub area and the other residents were quite friendly as well. On the Monday of our week there was a resort BBQ Meet and Greet, where the Condo board members provided hot dogs, burgers, salads and a cake for any resident who came down to socialize. It was a lot of fun and we met several other couples at this event.

When we first arrived, there was a nice bottle of wine with a welcoming note on the kitchen counter, which was a very nice touch. The unit was well furnished with pieces that fit perfectly into the surroundings. The unit definitley had a Swedish appeal to it.

We tried very hard to enjoy our stay here, but the overiding issue with this particular unit is that Bay Pines Blvd bridge traffic is no more than 200 ft from the building. Our unit was is the section of the building that faced directly into this traffic nightmare. Units in the centre or left sections of the building wouldn't face nearly the volume of traffic as we did. This, unfortunately spoiled our week at Boca Ciega. We couldn't really use the balcony because of the constant noise and actually didn't even want to leave the screen door open, because it was so loud.

So if you value peace and quite while on vacation, this unit probably isn't for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We just got back from our week stay at Boca Ciega yesterday! We stayed in #310 and loved every minute of it! The community is very quiet, which we loved! This is a very low key resort, out of the way of all of the hussle and bussle of John's Pass, Indian Rocks...etc but close enough that it doesn't take long to get there. We had no problem what so ever with the traffic of the bridge (downtown traffic would have been much worse). We saw a couple dolphins from the patio our first day there. We had no problems finding chairs at the pool, and the temp of both the pool and the hot tub were perfect! My personal opinion is the view was much nicer than the beach, there was a lot more to see from our patio, than the view at the beach (Dolphins, fisherman, Pelicans, boats). You have all of the amenities right at the condo that anyone could ask for! We did go down to the fishing pier to see what we could catch and it was nice to have a pole right there. We did buy a couple freezer mugs to take tea down to the pool while tanning, and left those there for others to enjoy. We will definitely send others your way! Thanks again for a great week of rejuvenation!

One more thing I would like to mention, if anyone is up for the best burger I've ever eaten, I would recommend going down to Wally's at Johns Pass. It's a little hole in the wall but we frequented there a couple times, their onion rings are homemade and out of this world!

The only thing I would say might be someone's CON to this place is it does tend to lean towards a older crowd, we are 40 and 35, and it was mentioned that we were "Too young to be at heavens gate" it was all in good humor and everyone was wonderful but this place is not for the All nighters or loud roudy bunch! We didn't have any problems what so ever, just thought I would make mention for the people who live here day in and day out. They may not appreciate your presence, which may make YOUR stay a little uncomfortable!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

I stayed here for the period Mar 3-25/2012 and had a wonderful time. My 23 year old daughter came for the first 10 days and my 42 year old son for the following 11 days. We all loved the place. Eating our breakfasts and lunches on the balcony with the Bay right below us and the warm breezes blowing was outstanding and so relaxing. The one bedroom condo also had a sofa bed where the kids slept. We were right on the corner of the building closest to the Green Iguana restaurant which could be a bit noisy at night but nothing disturbing. They always shut down the entertainment around 11:00PM so it wasn't a problem. My kids slept next to the balcony with open doors but were not inconvenienced at all.
The condo itself was comfortable and very clean except the carpets were badly stained. I informed the owners, who live in Buffalo, NY and they said they would look after that problem right away as they were not aware of the problem due to they're not being at the condo for a couple of years.
We loved the place, felt very safe and enjoyed the beautiful scenery and the convenience of the shopping. Everything we needed was within 10 minutes including the beautiful gulf beaches.

We never had any problems at all and I am very surprised about the difficulties mentioned by others. We absolutely would come again.

Jack R.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marietta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I had to cancel my trip 3 days before the deadline and had a horrible time getting in touch with anyone from the front desk. I left 4 messages in one day and NEVER received a return phone call, when I finally got through to a live person he was the rudest man I have ever talked to and would not take my information, he told me to call a company somewhere in Vero beach and then hung up on me. I was finally able to cancel thru priceline but not before i spent most of the day trying to make one simple phone call. I would NEVER EVER recommend this place based on customer service

karen

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

#404 was a perfect place to stay at when we were in St Petersburg.
Waterfront with a lovely poolarea, inclusive jacuzzi and barbeque area. From the balcony adn poolare you can see the dolphins playing!!
The apartment had all kind of equipment as dishwasher, washing mashine and even product as a cooler to take to the beach and beachtoys.

The location was perfect with 5 min th shopping, beach, tenniscourse, golfcourse, restaurants etc....
We loved our stay here and will definatley come back!

Clean and newfurnished so the feeling was very good!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Twp
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

We stayed in unit # 202 in March 2012. Very disappointed, excessive noise from the cars, trucks, motor cycles, etc. Condo was very cheaply decorated, not worth the $1200 we
paid for one week. We will never return.

David Macuga---Michigan

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boca Ciega Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boca Ciega Resort & Marina

Address: 8800 Bay Pines Blvd, St. Petersburg, FL 33709
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boca Ciega Resort & Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Boca Ciega Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boca Ciega Resort And Marina
Boca Ciega Resort & Marina Hotel St. Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boca Ciega Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.