We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unit 307” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Boca Ciega Resort & Marina

Save Saved
You added Boca Ciega Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Boca Ciega Resort & Marina
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   8800 Bay Pines Blvd, St. Petersburg, FL 33709   |  
Hotel amenities
Indiana
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“unit 307”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

We have been coming here for years,yes traffic sounds,but The veiw is beautiful,you can have your pet,washer and dryer and pretty much clean. we always leave it alot cleaner and better then we found it,as that is who we are,we even mop our way out. BUT this year we walked into unit 307 and were disgusted! The glass on the tables broken and glass on floor,dirt and dust balls with hair all over,The carpet in the bedroom was so stained and bad,I had to not look down when in there so not to puke,the silver ware drawer nasty and food on the silverware, the broiler had what looked like speggetti sauce poured all over..The ceiling fans were thick with black dust.the kitchen wall looked like some one kicked the plaster off, the blinds broken and missing slots,the lock on slideing glass door broken,and the halls in parking area cleaner then in this unit. we called and complained and they sent someone to clean but they did not do carpets,the maintance came and replaced blinds and gave us a new furnace filter which was very much needed,no one fixed locks or cleaned the carpets which look like they were puked on.whoever was last in this unit distroyed it,and it looked like someone came in put a paper strip over toiliet and then rented it to us.If we had, had our dog with us, I would not of let her on this floor,till it was cleaned.my husband has been cleaning black marks off the walls for days.the handles on the refrigerator were actually black with dirt. I could say more.I must say this is for this unit this year.our other stays here had not found this type of filth.But, This has made us wonder about staying here anymore.That someone let this go.Our carpets still have not been cleaned.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    10
    7
    4
    6
See reviews for
25
18
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

How can there be such a discrepancy between reviews ? Some people love it and others hate it giving polarized reasons.. Those giving negative reasons would have problems in Heaven.
This is a wonderful place to stay. The office staff is nothing short of excellent. Book through the offfice and you will have a good experience. REMEMBER not all units are controlled from the office and therein lies the problem people encounter. Get things straight and stop badmouthing a fine place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2011

Do not expect to rest or relax! The entire building sits within feet of a major bridge with very loud and constant traffic 24x7! We were very disappointed to have booked this for 5 days anticipating sitting out on the balcony enjoying our breakfast coffee and night cap. But the traffic was so loud it actually hurt our ears so we were constantly heading back inside just after a couple of minutes. We couldn't even escape it at the pool. I'm not sure how this could be classified as a resort - It has rooms and a very small outdoor pool.The property is not watched. We had a number of suspect visitors jumping in the pool after they were finished fishing for the day along the property and then would just walk off with their fishing geared all nicely cooled down - yuck!

Room Tip: Go across the bridge and stay on the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

I recently stayed at Boca Ciega on 2/25 and 2/26 with my wife and 6 month old while visiting relatives in Tampa. Our reservation # was 121036 and is included as a scanned image. Upon check in our room was musty, we were given one tiny bar of soap for 2 days, and the toilet would not flush properly. Check in is at 5pm and checkout is at 10AM. On 2/27 we called the office at 9AM requesting a late checkout because my son was sick and we had just put him down. I asked to leave at 11am, a one hour late checkout. The front office told me that we needed to be out by 10AM and if we were not out by 1030am they would call the police to remove us. I am not kidding. Reasoning with them was not an option. Again, the checkout is at 10AM, the check in is at 5PM.
Overall a terrible, almost comical experience for both the room condiditon. We paid $302.62 total for 2 days. I realize this sounds outrageous but it did happen, a scan of our contract is included below with our name and the office manager's last name removed. Beware.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRStom, Front Office Manager at Boca Ciega Resort & Marina, responded to this review, March 7, 2011
This guest states that check in is 5pm. This is incorrect and is actually between 3-5pm. This guest asked for a much later check in than what they state in this review. This guest went to the front desk demanding a late check out and was informed at the time he asked for a late check out that it would not be possible as there was another guest arriving the same day into the same condominium unit and we could not provide a late check out in order for their son to be able to sleep in. He then laughed at the front desk personnel and said we will be staying anyway and you can't do anything about it. The front desk staff stated that yes they could do something which is if the guest refused to leave the only option we would have would be to call the police and have them removed. The guest makes it sound like they didn't know what the price of the stay was with the comment about the cost of a 2 day stay. This guest doesn't let everyone know that price includes 12% tax and that they agreed to the rate in the first place and paid in full upon check in.
Management of the unit this guest stayed in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, KS
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

This was one of the few places we could find that allowed pets. They have a nice grassy area for walking your dog and a place to dispose of the leavings. Our one bed-room condo was clean and well equipped. Having a full kitchen was a real plus. The only caution I would have is that the units on the end closest to the highway have lots of traffic noise when you're sitting on the balcony. The view helps to make up for it, but it does take away from your pleasure. We saw dolphins quite often and the pelicans and cormorants kept us entertained watching them dive for fish. We stayed there for two months and were treated well by the office personnel when we picked up our mail or had questions about the area. The individual who owned the condo we rented was very accommodating and brought us flowers to welcome us. I would recommend this place highly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2010

We stayed in Unit 110 and were thrilled with everything--- location, view , wildlife, and especially the on site office staff. I just can't understand the negative comments. We can't wait to go back.
Everything you want is 5 to 10 min drive or less from the complex.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paducah, KY
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

This is the third year we have stayed here for the month of February. I don't understand some of the comments. There is a staffed office on site and I have always found them to be completely cooperative. There is plenty of free parking with a nice restaurant just across the parking lot. The site has been clean all three seasons we have stayed here. The pool hasn't seen any use this year because it has been in the 50's most of the month. There are many nice restaurants within a 5-10 drive, Walmart, Target, Walgreen's, etc. In other words, anything you could want/need is near by.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Boca Ciega Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boca Ciega Resort & Marina

Also Known As:
Boca Ciega Resort & Marina Hotel St. Petersburg
Boca Ciega Resort And Marina
Boca Ciega Resort & Marina Hotel
Address: 8800 Bay Pines Blvd, St. Petersburg, FL 33709
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty lodging in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Boca Ciega Resort & Marina 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Boca Ciega Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boca Ciega Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.