We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some updates” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn North

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn North to your Saves list
Comfort Inn North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2260 54th Ave N, I-275 exit 26, St. Petersburg, FL 33714   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Pendleton, Indiana
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Needs some updates”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here for a college football game for 3 nights. It was nice having a continental breakfast every morning. Waffles, eggs, sausage, cereal, fruit, etc. Pretty average really. The front desk workers were nice and said hi and bye when you came and left. We stayed on the side of the hotel facing the highway. It was a little noisy but not terrible. Lots of things in our room looked very bad cosmetically. The paint was peeling from the ceiling, the tile in the bathroom was cracked and broken, etc. The bed was pretty comfortable (king size), also was a chair, older tv, and small desk. For $40 a night you can't really complain.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMFORTSTPETE, General Manager at Comfort Inn North, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I appreciate your feedback on your stay at our hotel in January 2013. Since your stay we have upgraded all of our rooms with HD flat screen tvs and have been conducting an ongoing renovation program that includes painting the interior of the rooms, changing some of the bathroom fixtures and patching up all damaged walls/floors.

I hope that your stay was pleasant enough to warrant you wanting to try our hotel again in the future.

We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    40
    23
    10
    14
See reviews for
24
26
13
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

For $55 a night over a holiday weekend, this place wasn't bad. The staff is friendly enough and checking in and out was fast. The king-bed room we stayed in was furnished nicely, the bed was comfortable and there was no road noise facing away from the interstate. Traveling around the Bay area is easy as the place is pretty close to everything around town. On the down side, this hotel is in need of some moderate maintenance and renovations. During our 3 night stay one of two elevators was perpetually broken, the fitness room was out of service, and the water pressure for all the plumbing fixtures in our room was rather poor. Breakfast was nothing special, but it was a nice free-be considering the price.

In short, stay here if you want to save some money, desire to be close to both downtown Tampa and downtown St. Pete, and don't plan on spending much time in the hotel.

Room Tip: 2nd floor not facing the highway is pretty quite and negate the need for using the small, crowded el...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COMFORTSTPETE, General Manager at Comfort Inn North, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
I welcome your feedback with regards to your stay in our hotel. I am sorry that the fitness center was closed during your stay, but we now have a fully operational fitness center that is open to our adult guests 24 hours per day. Also, our elevator issues have been addressed with new door sensors that generated most of the problems we had during the beginning of this year.

I hope your stay was good enough that your would return to our hotel in the future!

Thanks again!

Hetcor Acosta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
422 reviews 422 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 135 cities Reviews in 135 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Our room was comfortable and did not seem to have any of the drawbacks noted by other reviewers. We were on the side away from highway so road noise was not a problem but it would be on the highway side. The breakfast was ok too.
However, the exercise room was closed, the breakfast was as little as they could get away with, and our reservation at Choicehotels.com was for a room witha king bed. We were given 2 doubles and told that there were on kings available. When I asked about this I was told that they were all given away already ( at 5:30 pm ?!) This was not acceptable.

Room Tip: away from the highway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Let's see, what went right here?

The hot breakfast was very good! The front desk responded well.

Now for the rest. I finally figured out after the first night that the AC/heat was really just recirculating the air in the room without changing the temp. The outside temp was pretty much in between the two so that's why it took me that long to figure it out.

During that first night, one of the two elevators broke down leaving only one for the five floors. It's a good thing I brought my ear plugs because noise from people in the hall came right into the room. Fortunately, I had asked for a room facing away from the interstate or even the ear plugs might not have been enough. I reported the A/C or lack thereof to the front desk on my way out that morning and it was actually working properly when I returned that night(Christmas).

This morning after I finished up breakfast, I noticed that the second elevator was no longer running. The desk clerk seemed to be confused about whether it too was broken or had been taken offline so maintenance could work on the other one. There were quite a few others who had been at breakfast who found they would have to take the stairs to get back to their rooms and some mentioned they had disabled friends up in their rooms who would't be able to use the stairs. I hoofed it up the stairs, got my remaining things and checked out.

The reason I chose to stay here was that it was half the price of the Hampton Inn and it seems I got what I paid for. To compare to the Hampton, the Comfort Inn had barely 7' ceilings in the bathroom and entryway, the room is considerably smaller, the wi-fi and water pressure on the 5th floor were both weak, there were only two guest-usable power plugs, the toilet ran constantly albeight quietly, the "comfort" level of the bed and the room in general were inferior, the breakfast wasn't quite as good, and you actually had to check out at the desk to get a receipt. There wasn't one under your door on checkout day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the interstate and avoid the high floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This was a good value location for a base to use in St Petersburg for a few days. Check-in was efficient. The room was good, and had a window that opened, that was nice for northerners in December. Checkout was friendly, and resolved a minor check out issue very well.

Room Tip: Get a room facing away from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Night mare! Horrible! When I walked into the place I was greeted first by the smell. Only one person working the desk, very slow check in. Once getting into my room the smell was even stronger. Walls paper thin, the highway sounds were louder then the air condition and tv. Also some poor sole was dealing with a crying baby. Not sure what room the baby was in. I called the front desk and was moved to another room. Same floor same baby, but away from the highway. Now I was in a room with double beds instead of a king, the air condition didn't work and the toilet didn't flush. The walls were plastered over holes and no attempt to paint over it. There appeared to be food stuck to the walls, or God knows what it was. My shoes where off only for a few minutes and my feet looked like I was walking for miles without shoes. There was actual mud that looked smeared on the wall. The bed... OMG it was gross, the sign on the bed about washing the sheets was nasty and the bed looked like someone already slept there. I called the front desk again, and was told to wait in the room and they would call me back. After 10 minutes I grabbed my stuff, went down stairs and checked out. They refused to refund my money, they couldn't even give me a receipt! I have never in my life checked out of a place. I thought I booked a clean place, this place should be shut down. I did not receive what I booked, yet this establishment refused to refund my money! I did stay at a Comfort Inn, at 875 94th Ave North, St Petersburg, FL. This one smells clean, the air condition works, the bathrooms are nice and clean, and beds look and smell nice and fresh. I took pictures but sadly can't post them here.

Room Tip: Drive past this place, you are better off staying in a homeless shelter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

I agreewith the review that the lobby is nice and that is where it ends. The room are in desperate need of PROPER repairs. My room had holes in the walls around shower head. Repairs were attempted by unqualified people as the patches were unprofessional. Rough walls that hide germs, hles for moisture to seep in and cause mold.. They patch painted with pain that did not match. It is obivious that the owners don't care about the property.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn North

Address: 2260 54th Ave N, I-275 exit 26, St. Petersburg, FL 33714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 43 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you're traveling for leisure or business, alone or with your kids, Comfort Inn North hotel offer accommodations for every type of travel. From families to business travelers, everyone can enjoy Comfort Inn's great amenities like a free breakfast, free high speed internet- all at a great rate. From the moment you arrive our helpful staff is there to welcome you, and you'll find everything to suit your needs, including: • Free hot breakfast offering everything from eggs and meat to healthy options like yogurt and fresh fruit. Plus our guests favorite waffles - both original and flavored. • Free high-speed Internet access • Clean, comfortable and well-appointed rooms • Cozy beds Feel at ease knowing that your satisfaction is important to us. Make the Comfort Inn North hotel in St. Petersburg, FL your home away from home when visiting the Tampa Bay area. We're the perfect destination for your Florida vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Comfort Inn North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn North Hotel St. Petersburg
Comfort Inn St Petersburg
Comfort Inn Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Comfort Inn
St Petersburg Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.