We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have never had better!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 4th Street North, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$20 Daily Credit
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
southwest, fla
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Have never had better!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

I don't post reviews often but this hotel really did go above and beyond. I had to travel to St. Petersberg for my son to have a procedure done at the children's hospital. I was really nervous about picking a place to stay because I didn't know the area and I have been really sorry for the hotel choice in the past for whatever reason. To the point, we arrived early for checkout and even though they didn't have any rooms available the front desk clerk was very apologetic that they didn't have any ready. I should have called ahead. No harm no foul. She did ask me how many children I had. I told her I had two but I only had one with me. She said she would have something for him when I came back to check in. She said they would have a room by three. We came back at 2:45 and they had our room all ready. Then she handed over a packet of papers that she had went online and printed out for my son with all kinds of mazes and activites for him to play with. It really helped for the hospital the next day. We got to the room and I recieved a call asking how things were and if we needed anything. Now maybe you have had someone do that but I haven't. It was really refreshing. The hotel staff went out of their to help us out. The room was nice. I was kind of concerned when I first saw it. It was previously a historic site. They did alot of renovating and it was probably one of the best I have stayed in. Real personal service. I would definitely stay there again.

The only downside is the mandatory valet parking.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    74
    37
    17
    7
See reviews for
45
72
14
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medellin, Colombia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

Stay in Courtyards all the time, over 100 nights in 2008, so know what to expect, this hotel did not meet those expectations.

Front desk service doesn't seem to care, breakfast buffett overpriced, rooms have been renovated but still not quite up to standards, at $159/night plus $10 for parking plus $10 for breakfast you can find better deals.

In this economy where hotels are usually begging for customers, I found the attitude of the hotel employees way below par, poor management, poor training.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2009

I stayed here for a business trip. This is a old hotel that as been completed renovated. The front desk area and lobby gives you an initial scare as it looks very old. However, the rooms are very clean and extremely nice. I would stay here again in a heart beat!

  • Liked — Rooms were very clean
  • Disliked — Local- a little off the beat and path.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2008

This hotel was a surprise for me. I wasn’t expecting much but the room was large, clean and comfortable. The bathroom looked like it has been recently renovated.

I was there on business so it was great to unwind to lots of choice in TV channels after my conference. The hotel is also within walking distance to shops and restaurants,

The lobby is small and there are two computers available for you to use free of cost. Breakfast is available but that was the only time meals were served.

Overall service was very good.

  • Liked — Location, service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
missouri
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2008

the lady at hotels.com recommended this hotel. wonderful beds, comfortable everything, quiet even though close to the st petersburg airport. price was excellent.

  • Liked — the beds
  • Disliked — no breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

Excellent service, from the warm welcome at check in. The rooms where very clean. The staff was very freindly.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EXTERMINATOR
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

My husband stayed at your hotel from Monday May 5 until he checked out on Thursday May 8th. He did not share the room alone he was joined by roaches not small ones but big ones. He complained at the front desk and they offered to change his room. Why roaches do not travel from room to room. He also got the number of the manager who he contacted by phone. He left a message and was not contacted. On his way to his conference he looked and everywhere he passed there were no vacancies otherwise he would have checked out. So he was stuck there until he left. I am shocked at the lack of consideration for guests who stay at this hotel. There is no excuse for roaches in this day and age. I have an exterminator that comes every other month to prevent any unwanted pests from entering our home. Maybe someone should enlighten the owners of this hotel. I am glad my husband is out of there and if he brings any of those pests into our bug free home you will be hearing from me further.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — The roaches
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown

Address: 300 4th Street North, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#9 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown Hotel St. Petersburg
Marriott Saint Petersburg
Courtyard Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Courtyard
Saint Petersburg Marriott
Courtyard St Petersburg Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.