We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, lovely old bldg” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Courtyard.com
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 4th Street North, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #10 of 47 hotels in St. Petersburg
Orlando
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good location, lovely old bldg”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just stayed one night while in town to have dinner with friends. Valet parking is required unless you can find parking on the street. The lobby is rather small, but very lovely with the old marble from the original hotel (1925). There is onsite breakfast for about $9 in the bar area. I believe the bar is open in the evening until about 10 pm. Our room was very large - king bed, refrig and flat screen TV. The bathroom was also very large. A couple of complaints though. There was a slight cigarette smell to the bathroom. That is maybe why the windows were left open when it was in the 40s outside. To heat up the room we ran the heater for a short time. It is rather noisy - just a lot of blowing noise. It worked fine and the room was comfortable once it got warm. The refrig started making a noise during the night which woke us up so that had to be unplugged.Upon checking out we were not asked about our stay or how things were. I did not bother to mention anything to the clerk.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give your comments regarding your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott St Petersburg, Downtown. I am pleased to hear that you enjoy our historic property. We are proud of the original elements that were preserved in the renovations. I do apologize for the smoke odor. We do make every effort to ensure compliance with our no smoking policy however; there are rare occasions it is not followed. Additionally, I am sorry that there was too much noise in your room. I have shared your comments with our engineering staff, so that we can take the proper steps to address issues such as yours. Thank you again for choosing the Courtyard by Marriott St Petersburg and Marriott. I hope we see you again should your travels bring you to St Petersburg.


Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    51
    27
    15
    6
See reviews for
32
55
13
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed recently at this Marriott because we were disenchanted with other St Pete choices and knew we could count on the Marriott reputation. We were fortunate to get in when we made the reservation 6 months early because of a 1/2 marathon race during the weekend. Many thanks to a staff member for working us in! We took advantage of the senior rate and had a very clean and welcoming room for 3 nights. Our young granddaughters joined us on the last night, and the sofa bed proved to work well for them. Many thanks to all the staff members who helped us with our room arrangements, upkeep, breakfast, directions to local spots, and parking. We will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
I am pleased to hear that your stay was a pleasant experience. I am glad that our staff was able to acomodate you during one of our busy St Petersburg weekends! We hope you will visit us again when you return to St Petersburg and thank you for sharing your comments with others.
Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I checked in to the Mariott while my husband was in the hospital at Bayfront. Sadly, I waited until I literally couldn't stand another minute at the neighbor hotel, The Hollander. The Mariott was spotlessly clean, the room fantastic, quiet, great staff and best of all, they offered a special due to my husband's medical situation.

We will return to this gem of a hotel and recommend it highly.
It would be nice if there were a place to grab a coffee or sandwich but another great find, the cafe at the All Children's Hospital. Believe it or not, they had fantastic food and very inexpensive.

Room Tip: My room was on a higher floor and away from the street so there was zero road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Thank you for your kind words regarding your stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott St Petersburg. We appreicate your sharing your impressions and hope that you will join us again in the future when it can be strictly pleasure! I hope your husband is recovering.

Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apopka
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

I had a wonderful stay at the hotel Debbie at the front desk is awesome. Thanks to Candy at the bar she is warm and welcoming after a hard days of work. The rooms are large and very clean which considering the age of the hotel is wonderful. Marco is willing to shuttle you around St. Petersburg with a smile. The work out room is large enough for the hotel I have stayed here many nights and have not had to wait on equipment. Thanks for making my hotel stay friendly and warm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding our staff. We are fortunate to have a group of friendly and helpful team members! I very much enjoy sharing your views with them. We certainly hope you will visit us again when your travels bring you back to the St Petersburg area.
Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our room was large, clean and had the usual Courtyard feel and furniture. You know what you are getting. This is an historical hotel which has a nostalgic kind of 30s - 40s feel to it which we liked. Gives it some charm. Several of the reviews I read mention that it is not in a good area. We had no problems. Parked right on the street by the entrance and left the car overnight. Quiet and convenient. It was only a 10 minute walk to the restaurant area and the water. We always like having the snack bar when we come back from a day of walking or after dinner for a little dessert. The only real suggestion I would give is to either position the tv closer to the bed or have a bit larger tv as it is kind of a distance when viewing from the bed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences from the Courtyard by Marriott St Petersburg. We appreciate your comments and certainly look forward to having you visit us again when you return to St Pete. I appreciate your comment on the TV's and their location and size. As we continue to upgrade we will keep your thoughts in mind.
Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecanto, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed the night of the discussion with Dave Barry at the Poynter Institute, and went to the Holocaust museum the next day. Very clean, stylish, convenient. Near the Dali and the Mahaffee. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Enjoyed my stay at this Hotel. The hotel is older (built 1925) but is very clean and obviously the rooms have been updated. No restaurant onsite, but they have a buffet breakfast that is filling, and fresh. Waffles and eggs to order! But I have to say the best part of the trip is the shuttle service. Takes you around downtown St. Pete at no charge (other than a tip). The shuttle drivers are full of information on where to go eat, drink, etc. A shout out to the valet who recommended the $5.00 restaurant (everything is $5.00).

Enjoy the weather!

Room Tip: I would say higher up the better. 2nd floor gives view of parking lots...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown

Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown Hotel St. Petersburg
Courtyard By Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown Hotel
Courtyard St Petersburg
Marriott Saint Petersburg
Courtyard Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Courtyard
Saint Petersburg Marriott
Courtyard St Petersburg Downtown
Address: 300 4th Street North, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown to your Saves list