We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, free shuttle!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 4th Street North, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #9 of 42 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient location, free shuttle!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

We had asked for rooms next to one another. That was provided in fortunately they weren't connected. Clean and very friendly at front desk. We skipped on breakfest and went 6 blocks down to the dome... Better food for the value then I we would have paid for breakfest in the hotel. But if you need late night snacks bring you own! It would have been nice if there was a few complimentary bottle waters in the fridge

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of our Courtyard by Marriott St Petersburg. I am pleased that you found our staff and shuttle service pleasant and helpful. We understand that there are many places in the area for food and beverage, and are glad that you enjoyed the Dome.
We hope that you visit us on future trips to St Petersburg!
Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    93
    42
    16
    7
See reviews for
54
90
17
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Discribed as Historic Hotel and it is. But don't expect beautiful period setting & furnishings - just think small & old. Efficient check in, old elevator, small rooms. All the usual amenities were fine - comfy bed, good hairdryer etc. but public areas were neither stylish, period, spacious or comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We thank you for staying at the Courtyard by Marriott St Petersburg, and certainly understand your comments regarding the lobby and public space. While we preserved much of the original elements when we re-opened the hotel in 2006 we appreciate that it may not please everyone. However, we are in the final design phase of our complete lobby and restaurant renovations which are scheduled for May of next year and are very excited about the new look.
I hope you will return to see our new look early summer.
Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clermont
Level Contributor
206 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Courtyard. It was close that we could walk to everything. And if you did not want to walk, there is a FREE shuttle that will take you to most places and then pick you up. We were impressed by the friendliness of the entire staff. The doorman are wonderful. Ask them about all the local eating places.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Marriott was wonderful. We were greeted by the Valet when we arrived. We then went to the counter to check in. The gentleman who check us in was delightful. Explain about the hotel, what to do while we were there. Explained there was a shuttle that would take us almost any where in the area. Room was clean and neat. Had a corner room with a beautiful view. For a old hotel it was very modern.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
864 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here when there was an over flow of guests at a relative's house. This is a historic hotel that has been renovated. Still has the original plaster walls and tiles in the lobby floor, but the rooms are updated and very comfortable. We were very happy with our stay and the staff who were very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
safety harbor, florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Although I live in the Tampa Bay area, I stayed at this Marriott to attend a wedding in downtown St Pete. Its an old hotel from from the 1920's thats been updated. The lobby is really charming with lots of marble high ceilings. The room was comfortable, suprisingly roomy for an old hotel. Contrary to what other people said, walking to other parts of downtown was easy and very safe. Sure there are some homeless people around, but you have them in every city. I wasn't crazy about the breakfast, but a short walk landed us near a few choices for a a good, inexpensive breakfast. Overall, suprisingly pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at the historic Courtyard by Marriott Downtown St. Petersburg. It is good to hear you found our hotel to be a good fit for you during the wedding festivities. St Petersburg has so much to offer and we are proud to be a part of this community!

Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Had a dinner to run to so quickly checked in.Parked on the street next to the hotel rather than go through the procedure of valet. Was not recognized as a gold Marriott member by the front desk attendant who was busy on the phone during check in. Was not offered an upgrade until asked and that was declined because all were filled. Came back around 9pm and noticed a parking space on the street.2 hour parking enforcement stops b/w 6 PM and 8 AM. Had to leave the next day at 8 anyway, so avoided the $12 parking. Room was fine with very comfortable bed. Small valet closet (luggage rack fell when i opened the door- be careful!) adjacent to good size desk area. Room contained mini fridge. Bathroom was big enough with plenty of thick towels. One complaint: shower head was same height as me- 6 foot- causing me to duck down to wash hair. Used the workout room which contained 2 treadmills, an elyptical, 2 bikes, a bench and rack of dumbbells. There was an indoor pool next to this room. Had continnental breakfast ($5.99; hot b/f was $9.99)which had adequate selection and fresh fruit.Lobby area is original art deco for thisgrand old dame. Interesting pictures from old St. Petersburg travel brochures. It was fine and cost the same as another nearby Courtyard, but had more character. Nothing really close by that you could walk to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the historic Courtyard by Marriott Downtown St. Petersburg. I am pleased that you found our hotel to be goo choice for you while in our city. I do apologize for not thanking you for your loyalty to Marriott and recognizing your travel veteran Gold Status. We do appreciate your continued selection of Marriott. I hope we have the opportunity to host you again when your travels bring you back to St Petersburg.
Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. Petersburg hotels
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.9 mi away
Staybridge Suites St. Petersburg Downtown
0.1 mi away
Hollander Hotel
Hollander Hotel
#4 of 42 in St. Petersburg
4.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
Hilton St Petersburg Bayfront
#12 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 942 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downtown North
Hotel Indigo St Petersburg Downt...
#17 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 376 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ponce De Leon Hotel
Ponce De Leon Hotel
#20 of 42 in St. Petersburg
3.5 of 5 stars 338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown

Address: 300 4th Street North, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Marriott and Odigeo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown Hotel St. Petersburg
Marriott Saint Petersburg
Courtyard Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Marriott
Saint Petersburg Courtyard
Courtyard St Petersburg Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.