We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic is just a nice word for old” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 4th Street North, St. Petersburg, FL 33701   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Historic is just a nice word for old”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Discribed as Historic Hotel and it is. But don't expect beautiful period setting & furnishings - just think small & old. Efficient check in, old elevator, small rooms. All the usual amenities were fine - comfy bed, good hairdryer etc. but public areas were neither stylish, period, spacious or comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
We thank you for staying at the Courtyard by Marriott St Petersburg, and certainly understand your comments regarding the lobby and public space. While we preserved much of the original elements when we re-opened the hotel in 2006 we appreciate that it may not please everyone. However, we are in the final design phase of our complete lobby and restaurant renovations which are scheduled for May of next year and are very excited about the new look.
I hope you will return to see our new look early summer.
Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    79
    38
    16
    7
See reviews for
47
77
14
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
clermont
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at the Courtyard. It was close that we could walk to everything. And if you did not want to walk, there is a FREE shuttle that will take you to most places and then pick you up. We were impressed by the friendliness of the entire staff. The doorman are wonderful. Ask them about all the local eating places.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Safety Harbor, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Marriott was wonderful. We were greeted by the Valet when we arrived. We then went to the counter to check in. The gentleman who check us in was delightful. Explain about the hotel, what to do while we were there. Explained there was a shuttle that would take us almost any where in the area. Room was clean and neat. Had a corner room with a beautiful view. For a old hotel it was very modern.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
796 reviews 796 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 168 cities Reviews in 168 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed here when there was an over flow of guests at a relative's house. This is a historic hotel that has been renovated. Still has the original plaster walls and tiles in the lobby floor, but the rooms are updated and very comfortable. We were very happy with our stay and the staff who were very helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
safety harbor, florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Although I live in the Tampa Bay area, I stayed at this Marriott to attend a wedding in downtown St Pete. Its an old hotel from from the 1920's thats been updated. The lobby is really charming with lots of marble high ceilings. The room was comfortable, suprisingly roomy for an old hotel. Contrary to what other people said, walking to other parts of downtown was easy and very safe. Sure there are some homeless people around, but you have them in every city. I wasn't crazy about the breakfast, but a short walk landed us near a few choices for a a good, inexpensive breakfast. Overall, suprisingly pleased with this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your stay at the historic Courtyard by Marriott Downtown St. Petersburg. It is good to hear you found our hotel to be a good fit for you during the wedding festivities. St Petersburg has so much to offer and we are proud to be a part of this community!

Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Had a dinner to run to so quickly checked in.Parked on the street next to the hotel rather than go through the procedure of valet. Was not recognized as a gold Marriott member by the front desk attendant who was busy on the phone during check in. Was not offered an upgrade until asked and that was declined because all were filled. Came back around 9pm and noticed a parking space on the street.2 hour parking enforcement stops b/w 6 PM and 8 AM. Had to leave the next day at 8 anyway, so avoided the $12 parking. Room was fine with very comfortable bed. Small valet closet (luggage rack fell when i opened the door- be careful!) adjacent to good size desk area. Room contained mini fridge. Bathroom was big enough with plenty of thick towels. One complaint: shower head was same height as me- 6 foot- causing me to duck down to wash hair. Used the workout room which contained 2 treadmills, an elyptical, 2 bikes, a bench and rack of dumbbells. There was an indoor pool next to this room. Had continnental breakfast ($5.99; hot b/f was $9.99)which had adequate selection and fresh fruit.Lobby area is original art deco for thisgrand old dame. Interesting pictures from old St. Petersburg travel brochures. It was fine and cost the same as another nearby Courtyard, but had more character. Nothing really close by that you could walk to.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the historic Courtyard by Marriott Downtown St. Petersburg. I am pleased that you found our hotel to be goo choice for you while in our city. I do apologize for not thanking you for your loyalty to Marriott and recognizing your travel veteran Gold Status. We do appreciate your continued selection of Marriott. I hope we have the opportunity to host you again when your travels bring you back to St Petersburg.
Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

My family and I have stayed at this hotel 4 times in the last 6 years or so, and would not think of staying anywhere else in the area. (OK - Maybe the Vinoy if we win the lottery) We have found the rooms clean, quiet, and comfortable and the housekeeping staff very attentive.

While I am not a big fan of valet parking (just the way things are in St Pete), I have found the contracted valet staff to be extremely friendly and helpful in their recommendations of things off the beaten path to see and do in the city. I am a smoker, and have chatted them up quite a bit, always good informative conversations.

The location is perfect. Within walking distance to a few great restaurants (Try Grattzi Italian and Ratchada Thai/Sushi). Close enough to the museums, pier, baseball stadium without being overrun with crowds for these.

Every member of the staff is professional and courteous and over probably around 25 nights of staying in the hotel, I have never found one complaint with the staff or the hotel itself, and we can be a needy group sometimes. (ok, the A/C in the pool is usually a little too cold - my one complaint)

We do walk a lot while in St Pete, and while there are a large amount of homeless people in the park a few blocks away, my family has never been confronted or bothered by them, even when walking home late at night.

We will hopefully be staying here again in the near future, and are looking forward to it.

Room Tip: Try to get high and facing the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardStPeteGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your very kind comments about the Courtyard by Marriott in downtown St Petersburg. I am very pleased that you find our staff helpful and accomodating. We certainly look forward to your next visit and would be happy assist in any way and I invite you to contact me personally.
Thank you again.
Kathy Cablish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown

Address: 300 4th Street North, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#7 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#8 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Marriott, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown Hotel St. Petersburg
Marriott Saint Petersburg
Courtyard Saint Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Courtyard
Saint Petersburg Marriott
Courtyard St Petersburg Downtown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott St. Petersburg Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.