We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Tacos!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casita Taqueria

Casita Taqueria
2663 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33713
+1 727-498-8749
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 746 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Locally owned taqueria specializing in homemade corn tortilla tacos, veggie items, bowls, tortas, homemade soups and daily specials.
Fort Myers, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Tacos!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015 NEW

We stumbled upon this place while we were leaving the Dali Museum, so glad we did. The food was great, we tried 4 different tacos, the flautas, and churros... everything was great! We live a couple hours away but next time we are in the area we will definitely be returning! Everyone was very friendly and the service was fast, what more could you ask for?

And I recommend the carne asada and the shimp tacos, wowza.

  • Visited January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wilmington, delaware, usa
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fresh, Delicious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2015

We stopped here when we were hungry and restaurants downtown had a 90 minute wait. I was pleasantly surprised. The food was very fresh and the service fantastic. You can't beat the prices either - 2 tacos (1 the swordfish special) and ice tea for about $10. The also have beer.

  • Visited January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Converted gas station to fresh food place to hang!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

My daughter recommended Casita Taqueria before going to the movies. It is one of many casual places along Central Ave. but away from the hub. If you're ok with counter ordering and inside/outside casual seating the reward is fresh tasting ingredients in a variety of selections. We both had the casata bowls-she had the veggie and I added the camarones. The shrimp were a bit small and large ones would have enhanced this dish. However, the quantity was sufficient unless you're a huge eater. In that case I would definitely recommend adding a taco or two.They also offered 3 types of sauces in little squeeze containers. Everything was good with a Mexican beer. The Staff was young and funky. A customer brought in her dog when she ordered. On a nice day the garage doors are opened and the inside melds with the outside picnic tables. Great place for a bite and casual gathering.

  • Visited January 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“tex-mex”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2014

Go thru outside seating which consists of wooden picnic tables, inside looked for a table, one of the servers told us we would need to order and pay at the register before seating, we had never been here before, so, we ordered, and received two plastic cups for our soft drinks and were pointed toward the soft drink bar straight across from the register. Soft drinks in hand we found a table (the last one) inside, there is just a few of them. Sat down and in about 10 minutes one of the servers came out and delivered our food in a plastic basket, while setting in old fashioned steel seats we ate our food and compared tastes, my wife tasted the salsa and it was too spicy for her, she just had her steak whatever and some chips, my steak whatever was full of gristle rind, other than that it was okay. Don't expect too much here.

  • Visited December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Don A, Owner at Casita Taqueria, responded to this review, 3 weeks ago
Thank you for your review. Sorry you felt that we were a "tex-mex" place instead of a taqueria, unfortunately we don't serve fajitas etc..... We are an order at the counter type of establishment with some metal chairs and bar-stools as well so our apologies if that wasn't quite your style. I do apologize for the grissle as their is some in all good quality steak but it should definitely not be that noticeable. Thanks for giving us a try!

Regards,

Casita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2014

This little, out of the way place on Central Ace. Has the best, freshest, most delicious Mexican food at an affordable price. Good for take away, or to sit outside and enjoy the weather. Everything is fresh made, with fresh ingredients. Not fancy, just good!

  • Visited November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casita Taqueria also viewed

 

Been to Casita Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casita Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.