We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hits the spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casita Taqueria

Casita Taqueria
2663 Central Ave, St. Petersburg, FL 33713
+1 727-498-8749
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 725 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Description: Locally owned taqueria specializing in homemade corn tortilla tacos, veggie items, bowls, tortas, homemade soups and daily specials.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hits the spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 NEW

Craving some Mexican food during a September Florida rainstorm, we headed down Central Avenue. There we found Casita Taqueria. We were not disappointed. Staff were cheery and enthusiastic and helped us with our choices of tacos and burritos together with their delicious bowl of rice, beans, guacamole and salsa. Definitely worth the trip. It even stopped raining on our way home.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    5
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Good, not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2014 NEW

The tacos here were good, but nothing special. Very typical of any number of small taquerias around the area. The fish taco was by far the best of the lot--I would rate that excellent. The others --especially the carnitas--were mediocre at best. The menu is relatively limited to tacos, burritos, salads and sandwiches and a few other items. You can order taquitos, but are required to have all three with the same filling. That's basically the entire menu.

The thing that put me off the most was the high prices. Tacos are $3-3.50 each and do not come include side orders. That puts you at $10 for lunch, again with no sides. There is no salsa bar. A bowl of the soup of the day is $6! I believe that's the same as the price at the local Hilton. These are higher than than table service prices at a self service restaurant. Knock $1 off each taco and this place would be a reasonable deal, but at these prices, I'd recommend a sit down Mexican meal instead.

  • Visited September 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fresh and local ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2014

Does Casita mean "seriously good corn tortillas?" Come to Casita for the Pescado Casita Bowl with a side of corn tortillas. The guacamole is fresh and they don't cheat you out on it! They give a huge spoonful on every bowl. It's fresh, the flavor is great, and the hot sauces are different and delicious. Who doesn't love local? Casita is my new go-to! Keep St. Pete local. Chipotle who?!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

Today was our first time here, and we stopped in for lunch. The food was excellent! We had veggie tacos, chicken tacos, chips & salsa, & beer. The homemade corn tortillas used for the tacos were yummy. I had the veggie taco, and it was very tasty & fresh. Hubby had the chicken taco & loved it. We will definitely be going back!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
682 reviews 682 reviews
559 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 152 cities Reviews in 152 cities
192 helpful votes 192 helpful votes
“love the new location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

This new location is great. More eating space with indoor and outdoor areas. The food is just as good as ever. Salads are amazing as are the bowls. Such unique food. You order at the counter and your food is delivered to your table. Great, friendly service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casita Taqueria also viewed

 
St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Casita Taqueria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casita Taqueria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.