We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BellaBrava

BellaBrava
204 Beach Dr NE, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
727-895-5515
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 706 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 2nd Ave NE
Transit: Looper Trolley Stop 4, Museum of Fine Arts, Beach Dr
Description: Contemporary Italian fare with a New World interpretation. Extensive beer & wine selection. Outdoor seating on beautiful Beach Drive.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This place had some great Italian food. Try their teas too. Seafood was great. Will go back! Wouldn't hurt to dress up a little since most people are dressed nice.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    187
    53
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto,
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This restaurant was highly recommended to us by several people so we were quite surprised that it did not meet our expectations.

We had a caesar salad which was a bit wet with dressing. The spaghetti and meatballs was mediocre and my chicken parmesan was dry and the fettucine very bland.

The worst part was the service.The minute we sat down the waiter asked for drink orders. A waiter should allow guest to sit down, settle, peruse the cocktail menu for a minute before rushing up to take a drink order. Perhaps serve water first, then ask. It immediately made us feel rushed. We asked for a minute to settle in and read the drink menu and asked for water. Water arrived and drink orders placed and well as food. Drinks were forgotten until a few minutes before the meal arrived. Bread also arrived with the meal, although the waiter had said he would bring a basket right away. We did not stay for coffee or dessert and instead went a few door down for gelato.

Our table was on the outside patio (sidewalk) which had a slope and that was a bit uncomfortable, plus it made the table wobbly, which was really annoying.

Overall....not true Italian. Lacking flavor. Poor service. Would I try it again? Yes. I think it might have been an off night. Friends love the food so we will try again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal River, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great Place, Good Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This was a positive experience from drinks to food. Fantastic blackberry mojitos! High energy spot with lots of chatter. Our server was extremely helpful and had some great recommendations for us. Food was good, not amazing but the overall experience was a good one. We would go back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

You can't put an Italian name and pretend to be an Italian restaurant. We had some appetizers that where not too bad. We had the Pappardelle, the spaghetti and meatballs and the rigatoni crostata. All of it was blend, didn't even resemble Italian food. I was born and raised in Italy so I should know. The service was good and that's about it. Very disappointed!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlsand, Owner at BellaBrava, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm disappointed that you didn't find our food as good as hoped. We are not, however, an authentic Italian restaurant. Our name refers to "New World Trattoria" which implies that we prepare our food with an Italian base and then make it our own, New World, interpretation. If you were born in Italy and expected to get what you would get in Italy, I am afraid we wouldn't meet that criteria. I have travelled in Italy many, many times, and the food is wonderful. We try to make our food appeal to most people. Please try us again next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Maryland, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great appetizers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

The atmosphere in coastal St. Petersburg is wonderful. The calamari and mussels were great. Pasta dishes were fine. The crostata was excellent but the spaghetti and meatballs were bland.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BellaBrava also viewed

 
 

Been to BellaBrava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BellaBrava, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.