We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Budget Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Budget Inn to your Saves list
Budget Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   800 34th Street N, St. Petersburg, FL 33712   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    5
    5
    8
    10
See reviews for
1
7
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My girlfriend and i stayed for one night because it was late and we did not know the city , the next morning i find that my truck was broken into and part of our camping equipment was taken (propane stove $100 to replace) Asked if the management may have something on their security cameras and they just shook their heads and mumbled in Indian. No discount , no i`m sorry - nothing . Over the past 10 years of travelling around North America many hotels & motels have turned into real crap holes when taken over by east indian or pakastani families.

This place was very rough and many dirt bags came out of the woodwork the next day wandering around the street and parking lots.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Having just returned from the US on a business trip my first port of call was my doctor who took photos and stated he had never seen anything so bad. This place is disgusting! Never stayed in a place so dirty. Sat up all night nearly and watched creepy crawlies everywhere in the room. Even lizards in the room!! The phone was even filthy. Toilet and bathroom a nightmare!! The other residents in this place look as though they wouldn't even notice! Drug dealing and prostitution rife!! Cleaning is not carried out on any scale. Management not inspecting. Sheets and bedspreads are the worst I've ever seen and I've been coming to the States for the last 20 years two to three times per annum.

Room Tip: To help travellers choose a good room - go somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My boyfriend and i have stayed here at least once a week for the last 6 months and have always had a good stay. Contrary to reviews we read, the rooms are always exceptionally clean, its been safe and quiet. There is a nice pool and is conviently located near area beaches, downtown St. Pete, and Troicana Field. There are plenty of eating establishments in the immediate area. Management and staff are always friendly and courteous and tje rooms are reasonably priced.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

OMG We stayed here after driving all night and I was so scared I couldn't sleep at all! It was SO dirty, the sheets had "something" all over them, and the kind of people that hang around the hotel were sketchy!!! DON"T STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

It looked like a good deal online, however the neighborhood is fairly sketchy. There is good lighting at night do I felt okay having my car parked outside.

The bed is a block of foam. The decor is very outdated. There was no overhead lighting in the room. The hot water in the shower did not work.

Despite all this, the guy behind the counter was very friendly and talkative. Overall, I felt that the hotel was not worth the price paid for it.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

You won't find a better hotel for a better price. Clean, spacious rooms. And the staff is excellent! Close to tropicana field! Would rent over and over again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Budget Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Budget Inn

Address: 800 34th Street N, St. Petersburg, FL 33712
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Budget Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
50 clean rooms, each with a color T.V. w/ A.M./F.M. radio; 24 hour telephone service; free HBO & movie channels; daily room service and 24 hour management staff. Enjoy our sparkling, clean pool, & shuffleboard court at your convenience ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Budget Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Hotel St. Petersburg
Budget Inn St Petersburg

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Budget Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.