We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay if you are working in the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park

Save Saved
You added Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   950 Lake Carillon Dr, St. Petersburg, FL 33716   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Explore Dali Museum
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in St. Petersburg
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay if you are working in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I've stayed here probably 20+ times and found it to be consistently enjoyable. The front desk staff is efficient and friendly. The rooms are large, clean and well appointed. Equipment is all free to use in the business center. Gym is open 24 hours. Good food in the restaurant and the executive lounge offers a good breakfast buffet too.

The only drawback would be for leisure travellers this is not an ideal location to see St. Pete, but if you need to be near Carrillon Park, this is THE place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony facing the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    112
    29
    8
    6
See reviews for
86
110
20
174
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I stayed at this property for 3 nights in January 2013. I was a little taken back at the location - in a business park and a confusing and wandering one at that, but the staff and accomodations were spot-on. My room had a balcony that overlooked the front of the hotel. You could see a spot of the the bay in the background - so the view wasn't scenic, but it was still nice to experience the FL weather with the fountains as background noise. Room service was OK, nothing remarkable, but not bad either. I did enjoy the 9th floor concierge for breakfast in the am, and one evening. Very nice selections for breakfast and evening snacks & staff was very accomodating when I needed a bottle opener for some non-macro beer selections. I'm looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is about 10 miles north of the Dali Museum, but quite easy to get to. Clean, quiet, the public rooms and the guest rooms are what you would want in a Hilton. Staff is friendly, and our dinner of filet medallions were quite good, and a freshly prepared breakfast was more than adequate. Since we stayed on the "executive level," I guess I was expecting a more spacious room, but it was certainly large enough for an overnighter. The countertops are granite, and the bathroom sized is adequate. We had two beds, but if there were more than two people in the room, the room would probably shrink quite quickly. Our requested view over the lake was a good choice. There really is nothing to complain about at this hotel, I just expected from the reviews to be wowed, but instead, by reaction was "nice."

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

This is a clean hotel with a very friendly staff. There is a restaruant I did not eat at BUT while at dinner one night a local person said it was a very good place to eat. There is an awesome place to run behind the hotel around a lake/pond. It is a great place to stay if you are visiting nearby businesses such as RayJay, TransAmerica, Franklin Templeton, HSN and so on

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here for two weeks during Christmas and New Year, clean and beautiful hotel, lovely pool and hot tu, restaurant was not bad too, stuff were very friendly as well, especially this hotel was very quiet which I really preferred. There were free wi-fi in each room which was excellent. overall, great !

There is a lake outside the hotel, sometimes I can see a small alligator inside.

Btw, there is a supermarket very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I recently stayed at this Hilton and was of course impressed with the classy lobby, beautiful restaurant with great food. The staff were generally very polite and attentive to everything. The room was "clean" and the housekeeping staff were very thorough. Several people have already commented on the desirability of a view of the lake - I would second those comments. HOWEVER - I found out that the CORNER ROOMS are very prone to cockroaches. I was there for two nights, three days. On my first night while working at the desk, a cockroach about the size of silver dollar was scurrying across the floor. Being the city boy I am - I jumped to high heaven. Eventually collected myself and smashed the little critter. When I called the front desk to complain, the response was quite flippant and it really annoyed me. "This is south Florida you know" was what he said. EXCUSE ME??? So because I'm in south Florida I'm supposed to be okay with a cockroach in my room? If I were by the pool - ok. In the lobby - maybe. Heck - even on my balcony...but in my room? On the 6th floor???

He did say I could change rooms if I'd like but I was pretty settled and he even said that every now and then one gets in from outside so I chalked it up to being an anomaly and stayed. Nothing else seen the rest of the night or the second the night.

But then...

The morning of my third day, as I was brushing my teeth right over the bathroom sink, what scurries out of the little drain hole right below my chin? You guessed it...another huge cockroach! After disposing quickly of this one I let the front desk person know and they laughed it off. I asked about some sort of compensation and they said "maybe" a free night or points. I said points would be great...and you know what...NOTHING. No follow up, no points, no nothing. So - while I will have to return to the area some time in May - I will be much more judicious in my room selection. Highest floor possible and NOT on the corner with a balcony.

Room Tip: Avoid corner rooms as they are more prone to having critters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
346 reviews 346 reviews
164 hotel reviews
Reviews in 141 cities Reviews in 141 cities
325 helpful votes 325 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Located in the business park district of Carillon Park, this property is somewhat of a hidden gem in the area, as it is somewhat "in the middle of nowhere". Located approximately 15 minutes away from Tampa Int'l airport, off I-275, this property is next to a lake and a small park/preservation area, which is surrounded by several business offices including Raymond James, Franklin Templeton, Smith&Nephew - just to name a few. It is not "close" to the beach area - located about midway between beaches and airport.

The property, although obviously not new, has been extremely well maintained over the years. Catering to the needs of the nearby business community, the hotel features a mix of standard and suite-like rooms. Although not a "long-term stay" hotel, the suites are relatively comfortable and have amenities such as a separate dining area.

The Executive Lounge, small in size, can get crowded with larger families during the week-end. the breakfast offering was excellent, offering a warm egg dish, warm meat (sausage/bacon), pastries, toasts, juices, cereals, oatmeal,... On the coffee side, the lounge was equipped with a Nespresso machine. Staff in the lounge was helpful and extremely friendly. One area of improvement though would be around what I considered to be safe food handling. With many people allergic to nuts/peanuts these days, I find it unacceptable that pastries that do not contain nuts, are puts in the same serving tray as items that do. There were nuts crumbling all over each pastry tray making it unsafe even for those with a "mild" allergy.

The room provided was clean and of a good size (I stayed in a suite). AC/Heat was a bit of an issue on day 2 as the heat did not kick-in. Other than that, everything was in working order. The room featured a nice balcony with a view of the lake and the actual Carillon. High Speed internet is complimentary and worked fine during our stay. We also had to use the sofabed during the stay which I found to be surprisingly comfortable (sofabed, especially hotel ones are know to be notoriously uncomfortable).

We did order room service during our stay. Room service staff was accommodating (eg: allowing for a late snack item to be ordered during regular business hours) and the price quite reasonable for hotel food. I would not say that this was great value however as the food taste was quite underwhelming. Portion size was acceptable for the price.

This hotel is extremely good value for the leisure traveller/family for week-end stays or holidays - as the hotel is virtually empty at those time (the focus being the weekday business traveller, going to a nearby office). Those that are members of the Hilton Honors point may even be able to score a premium room (like a suite) for less than what is usually required for a regular room!!!

Other than a walk around the lake (very nice boardwalk, with birds/marine life to be seen), there is very little to do for the leisure traveller near the hotel. There is one or two restaurant nearby, as well as one Publix market but this is about it. It is a fairly central and convenient base for somewhat who wants to visit the beach area, as well as enjoy the mainland activity, such as theme parks, zoos and downtown Tampa.

There is a nice heated pool on-site

I definitely would go back

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park

Address: 950 Lake Carillon Dr, St. Petersburg, FL 33716
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > St. Petersburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Romantic Hotel in St. Petersburg
#3 Family Hotel in St. Petersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Carillon Nature Reserve, the Hilton St. Petersburg Carillon Park offers guests comfortable accommodations for your business or leisure stay. Unwind in our heated outdoor infinity pool or state-of-the-art fitness center. Our over 20,000 square feet of flexible meeting space is ideal for your next business meeting, wedding, or corporate event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park Hotel St. Petersburg
Hilton St Petersburg
Hilton Hotel St Petersburg
Saint Petersburg Hilton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Saint Petersburg Carillon Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.