We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Took a chance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Three Birds Tavern

Three Birds Tavern
1492 4th Street North, St. Petersburg, FL 33704
727-895-2049
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #151 of 739 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Price range: $0 - $16
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Largo, Florida
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Took a chance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

As hubby & I drove by on a Monday evening we passed here and thought it had an interesting character to it. So we decided to give it a try and liked it from the beginning.
The atmosphere was of an older St. Petersburg home that had been renovated to a restaurant in a neighborhood with lots of mature trees, and although set on a busy road, it still felt set apart.
We found the service very good, and the food tasty. I had the grilled chicken salad, and hubby had the ribs. All were generous enough that we could have a meal another night. We will definitely visit here again.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    28
    12
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Unremarkable food and service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

If you are looking for a place with loud outdoor seating and a live band on the weekend, this is your place. If you are looking for something a bit more quiet with some uniqueness to the menu, try someplace else.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“We go here a lot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Lots of choices in St. Pete and we often come here. The creative chef usually has a delicious special. I love their soups, too. British looking but not British tasting! Everything on the menu is good.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Will never go back again!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

While the food was very good, it is clear to many that there is some kind of arrangement between the restaurant / the business across the street and the tow company. We arrived when it was dark, there is very little parking so we parked in the vacant parking lot. The hostess watched us park 3 cars there and said nothing / we finished our dinner and came out to find all three cars towed.
We had to take a cab to retrieve our cars and cab driver said this has been going on for years!! The restaurant could have warned us - instead they did nothing!
We are local to the area and will tell everyone we know to stay away.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, FL
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“A great tavern, as long as it isn't too chilly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

As usual, I'm going with 3.5 stars and rounding up.

This is a nice pub. Food was good, service was good. I liked the set up with the large patio (though it was a cold night) and the Irish music the band was playing was pretty good, too, though to be honest, Irish music isn't exactly dinner music.

We started with the beer steamed muscles - different, but very good. Highly recommended. I got their beer braised pork shoulder sandwich, essentially a pulled pork sandwich that was beer braised. Pork was cooked well, but the sauce was the highlight - the chipotle BBQ sauce was really good. Also have to give their fries credit - house cut with sea salt. Very tasty.

So why drop to 3.5 stars instead of an even 4? Firstly, just a weird issue, but you have a fire place and its in the 50s outside. You don't have many reasons in Florida to have a fireplace lit, but when you get a perfect night, you should use it. Secondly, the tarps they dropped down on the patio were clearly for rain only, because they only dropped about half way, which meant we were still really cold on the patio. Finally, while they had heaters outside, they (a) needed more and (b) needed to put them closer to the tables. If you're going to sit people outside on a chilly night, you could try a bit harder to keep them warm.

Still, well worth a visit if you're in the area.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Three Birds Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Three Birds Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Birds Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.