We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice way to see a ballgame” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tropicana Field

Tropicana Field
1 Tropicana Dr, St. Petersburg, FL 33705
888-326-7297
Improve this listing
Type: Arenas/ Stadiums/ Fields, Theaters & Stadiums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Home of the Tampa Bay Rays, this major league park is the first to feature naturally looking FieldTurf.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very nice way to see a ballgame”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Tropicana Field isn't an old time baseball experience, not like Wrigley Field, but it does do a good job to make it a true experience. With the Tampa's famous Columbia Restaurant in center-field and the live Sting Ray tank right beside it there are some genuinely unique things about a quaint little stadium. I say little because the dome often impedes the game, seating is very vertical, and you can walk all the way around in less than 5 minutes. It does keep the torential summer rains off your heads so our local team can play through though. So take it from a St. Pete native, this stadium will be missed if the Rays ever move out...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    344
    303
    116
    54
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pinellas Park
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“I Love this Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

A constant 72 degrees. No thunder, lightning or rain to deal with in the lightning capital. Besides that, the RAYS play here!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Organized, clean, expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We went for a band event not a baseball game. They had police security and plenty of parking attendants. All of the facilities were clean and pleasant. Parking and tickets were very expensive. Interesting architecture of the dome and great air conditioning. Bring a sweater. Easily accessible to the highways.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“First Baseball experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was my first baseball experience as my partner is the one that follows and watches it. We went to a Tampa Bay Rays vs Boston Red Sox in May and i loved the atmosphere. Everyone was so friendly and respectful of the other teams supporters. Loved the food and the organisation of the car parking was so good, out of the packed car park in no more than 10 minutes. The perfect end to our america holiday!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Better than the National Media Says”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I have been to quite a few Rays games at the Trop and other events. I have never been in a bad seat. There is a variety of food options, though some are overpriced in my opinion. Their always seemed to be a restroom near by. The fact that you are indoors is quite nice. If you have only seen the stadium on TV it is a real disservice. There are a number of family/kid activities.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tropicana Field also viewed

 

Been to Tropicana Field? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropicana Field, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.