We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Taste of Italy just around the corner .....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mazzaro Coffee & Italian Mrkt

Mazzaro Coffee & Italian Mrkt
2909 22nd Ave N, St. Petersburg, FL 33713
(727) 321-2400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Delicatessen, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Takeout, Delivery, Dessert
Florida
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“A Taste of Italy just around the corner .....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

If you're looking for a taste of Italy, but don't want to spend the money to fly there ... have no fear, your taste-buds can be satisfied at Mazzaro's. Sip a cup of espresso, and enjoy fresh pastries. Looking for wine & cheese ... so many choices, so little time. What about lunch ..... choose from the deli, a scrumptious sandwich, loaded, with your choice of meats & cheese, etc. We purchased two "Muffuletta" sandwiches @ $5 each. We split the first one and were too full to eat the second. It was just as good later, for dinner. The bakery has a nice selection of breads, cookies, etc., and don't forget the gelato (Italian ice cream). It's a must see, even to just walk through the building. One other important point ... everything is quite affordable, and the people working there are friendly & helpful. Ciao!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

97% Recommend
    444
    93
    10
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Maria de Dota, Costa Rica
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“St. Pete's Little Italy.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Mazzaro's is St. Pete's gem. There is nothing else like it for miles and miles, and people travel from all over to come here. Lots of imported wines, greater variety of cheese than you knew existed. Great sandwiches. Try the Cannoli Cake slice -- it's to die for. Sitting on the back patio creates just the vibe to make you think you could actually be in a cafe in Rome. Great date location (if you can handle crowds).

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Hair in 2 different food items on 2 different days”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Had hair raising experiences during my visits this April. 1 hair in my food I can excuse. 2 pieces of hair in 2 days, (2 different items) - this is a problem. I was disgusted to bite into a raspberry thumbprint cookie and encounter a hair baked into the raspberry jelly center. I gave Mazzaro's another chance a few days later. Guess what, my gelato had a hair mixed within it! Both items are made/sold on the bakery side of the operation so I hope the bakery manager is taking heed. All of our hot food items and sandwiches were very good as always.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“You can't go wrong at this place.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

What's not to like? You are surrounded by delicious food and pastries. The sandwiches and panini are made to order. Mazarro's has fresh baked pastries, cookies, and cakes along with delicious breads. Their staff is warm and friendly. Do not miss stopping at this place. You won't be sorry.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“We're going Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is what my husband emailed to me the night before. I had no idea what this place was and when we arrived and walked in Mazzaro's only after being greeted with a sample of their pork roulade with peppers, cheeses and meat from their grill outside, the angels sang and a nice warm feeling of happiness came over me.
Where do I begin? The large variety of olives, the cheese room, the wine tastings, fresh coffee, meats, seafood, deli, handmade pasta? This place was so much more. Mazzaro's is a fabulous authentic Italian market. It is crowded but prepare to taste exquisite cheeses, olives, sandwiches, panini, and wines. Take the time to sit on the patio with a fabulous sandwich and get a couple of sides. Loved the artichoke, red bean, and olive salad. Did I mention the bakery? You could do your shopping for the week. What a gem. Mazzaro's is fabulous. Will be returning soon. I'm almost out of olives.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mazzaro Coffee & Italian Mrkt also viewed

St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Mazzaro Coffee & Italian Mrkt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mazzaro Coffee & Italian Mrkt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.