We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gateway to India” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gateway to India

Gateway to India
8300 Bay Pines Blvd., St. Petersburg, FL 33709
727-828-9977
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 744 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Seminole, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Gateway to India”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This restaurant has not been open long, we had the lunch buffet and the food was nice but not a lot of selection some of the food was lukewarm. The staff were friendly and the restaurant was clean. We will give it a try later on to see if it has got any better.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    20
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing Indian Food (with a nice vegetarian selection)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I have been waiting to find a really tasty (& clean) Indian restaurant in St. Petersburg. The food is made to order so there is often a wait. I tend to order under the vegetarian section. I usually order my food with a medium spice ... sometimes here that is a bit spicy, but the mild is just not enough.

Here is my opinion:
Best: Channa Masala (chickpeas), Navaratan, Vegetable Briyani, and Aloo Gobhi
OK: Baingain (eggplant) bland, Curry (they only have red) is good because there is no dairy but it was just OK.

Overall the service is friendly and efficient, the food is delicious, and the environment is cozy. I wish the location was closer to downtown St. Pete.

The hours are:
Monday - Sunday
11:30am-2:00pm, 5:00pm-10:00pm

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

If you have a craving for a good Indian food, this is the place. We were warmly greeted by a friendly host. Papadums were immediately served. We ordered lamb korma, chicken with mint and coriander, dahl mahkni, aloo paratha, plain naan and basmati rice; more than enough to bring some home. For dessert, we shared a kulfi-like orange sorbet served in a hallowed-out orange fruit - refreshingly tasty. My folks have become regular clients at this establishment. We enjoyed our dinner outing.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Indian food at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

If you like Indian food, this is the place. Unpretentiously situated on a major artery, this restaurant is for the serious eater: the basics were excellent: we gobbled up the papadams, the garlic naan, even before we tasted the butter chicken, the eggplant, the lamb, each dish as savory and as well-cooked as the next. We usually take a Pepto-Bismol before dining at an Indian restaurant (to buffer the stomach against the spices that our systems might not be used to); my wife suffered the consequences in a restless, sleepless night; I didn't. Still, even in retrospect, she enjoyed the meal thoroughly, and would willingly pay the restaurant a return visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“At last a good Indian meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

I cannot accept the last review. No doubt never had an Indian meal before. Having travelled to Florida for the past 26 yrs we now have an Indian Restaurant that has the quality of good Indian food. The staff were excellent. The food very good certainly compared with Indian food back home in England. Surrounding are very much presentable. A restaurant we would highly recommend to others. Our first visit and certainly not our last. For our party five star.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gateway to India also viewed

St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Gateway to India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gateway to India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.