We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fourth Street Shrimp Store

Fourth Street Shrimp Store
1006 1/2 4TH St N, St. Petersburg, FL 33701-1724
(727) 822-0325
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #69 of 707 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Solid seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Tonight we decided to get some seafood. Our party of seven were promptly seated and the staff was professional and courteous. Substitutions were handled with no problem and the atmosphere was welcoming to parents with children of all ages.
The food was solid. Some items were great, others good and some items were fair.
My wife had the crab legs and she thought they were really good. I had fried shrimp and scallops. My portions was big and the seafood was good. The only complaint is that the food was served hot, but the food could have rested for a couple of minutes to let some of the food completely drain the grease.
The cole slaw was tasty, the fries were nothing special, and the hush puppies were well executed. We will go back, but this place could be better with just a little more execution in the kitchen.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    93
    31
    8
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Crook, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wish we could have eaten more”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

My wife had a plate full of crabs legs and I had grouper sandwich, both excellent. Service very good as was the atmosphere

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Greatly Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

What a disappointing experience. The staff was unpleasant and the food tasted as tho the oil wasn't heated to temp before they started cooking. Results ~ Under cooked and dripping grease! Would not recommend this place, which is a shame as the setting was nice!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
THE VILLAGES
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“FUN ATMOSPHERE & GOOD FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is our third visit to the Fourth Street Shrimp Store (restaurant) and once again we were very pleased with the food, service and friendliness of the staff. They have a varied menu and aim to please. We, as usual, had our meals prepared specifically to meet our dietary needs. We enjoy going to the area because St. Petersburg is such a very interesting city and is in close proximity to the Gulf Beaches as well as the activities in the other direction in Tampa, Florida. We highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“First time here - loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We visited during Dine Tampa Bay week and basically got a two-for-one deal! Three couples and everyone liked everything. For appetizers we had clam chowder (thick and rich) and peel and eat shrimp (perfect), for entrees grilled fish tacos (just the right amount of spice) and fried shrimp (hot and crispy right out of the fryer!), then we each got one of the three offered desserts and shared - key lime pie, bread pudding and blackberry cobbler. Portions are generous and everything was delicious. We will definitely go back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fourth Street Shrimp Store also viewed

 

Been to Fourth Street Shrimp Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fourth Street Shrimp Store, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.