We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Melting Pot

The Melting Pot
2221 4th St N, St. Petersburg, FL 33704-4313
727-895-6358
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Melting Pot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #81 of 739 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Cuisines: French, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 22nd Ave N
St. Petersburg, Florida
1 review
“terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

If you are planning on getting a good meal in a romantic settting, then don't waste your time or money on this restaurant. The service was terrible. The food was nasty. The manager (bald one) was rude and sarcastic. The prices were not reasonable. We went for our anniversary and ended up with upset stomachs.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    20
    5
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

It is just an amazing place. Perfectly romantic. Order a rose from the restaurant before you go and your partner will feel extra special. And they will take your photo and place it in a frame for an everlasting memory. Of course, the food is exceptional and so is the service. I can confidently recommend this restaurant for that special ocassion.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Just there last Saturday”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

We went to the Flicks and Fondue. We didn't want to pay additional so just had the two items and left hungry. What we ate was good, but I won't go back.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disgusting”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

e just got home and had to shower immediately as we smelled like we spent a day in a pot of frying oil. I put all of our clothing straight in the washing machine, it was that disgusting. Besides the terrible smell you leave with, we only had dessert and drinks and our bill was still outrageous. On the menu my glass of wine was $8, but when we got the bill it was suddenly $11 because somehow I got a larger size? A size that wasn't on the menu. Our dessert was good, but for what you pay the portions are small. Our friends got entrees and mains (I'm glad we only came for dessert) because they were incredibly small as well. This is very over priced considering what you get, the fact that you have to cook the food yourself, and the fact that you leave smelling like you took a bath in oil. Maybe some people might find this 'romantic' or 'special' but we found it more disgusting and expensive then anything else.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater
1 review
“Great server and great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

My husband and myself went here day after the wedding to celebrate our new life together and had a wonderful dinning experience. Like others have said if you are on a time crunch do not go here. We did the whole deal 4 course meal and it took us 2 hours but it was so nice and well worth it. The staff was amazing! Not only was our server friendly but the bus boys and everyone else was nice and polite to use too. Our server wrote "congrats" w/ little hearts in gel icing on a plate when we ordered dessert and the manager also came by and offered us a complementary champagne toast.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Melting Pot also viewed

 

Been to The Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Melting Pot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.