We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BIGGEST MISTAKE EVER GOING HERE! Seriously, stay far away!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of LottoBoat

LottoBoat
100 14th Ave. South, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
727 230-0990
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“BIGGEST MISTAKE EVER GOING HERE! Seriously, stay far away!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The manager is a piece of crap and the way tht they run their establishment is absolutely horrible!!! We had an appointment for jet skis at 10 and they didn't even get us to fill out our paper work until 1130... Then they made us go get a Florida boating license a place an hour a way even though we already had a license from New Jersey he never said over the phone we needed a Florida one.. He told us to our face that he would have a jet ski for us waiting when we got back and when we got back he said there were none available for an HOUR... He is actually the biggest piece of crap ever seriously if you ever go there you are going to regret it they have no customer service and we wasted an entire day with this company I would never go back even if I got a free pass (which he didn't offer). He is a horrible excuse for a human being I can't even express how angry we are with this business living social needs to take this business off their website because it is embarrassing to have such a company featured on it!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
av8tor14, Manager at LottoBoat, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
This person called last minute to schedule a wave runner knowing that according to the voucher he purchased one must possess a Valid Florida Boaters safety certificate if they were born after January 1, 1988. This is posted so that anyone purchasing the voucher would understand terms and conditions and if there were any question they should call or confirm that there would not be any problem. It was not until after we were filling out the paperwork that this client was under 25 years of age and did not pay attention to the fact that it is illegal to operate any boat or watercraft without the appropriate documents. When we brought this to his attention he requested that we overlook this since he was close to the right age. This is not something we will do to service customers. We located a place close by where he was able to go get the proper certificate and two hours or so later he returned and demanded that we have a wave runner for him immediately since he was in a rush to get out on the water prior to his other engagements or plans that he had for his friend who was visiting him for the weekend. We never assured him that we could or would hold a wave runner for him since we had back to back bookings for wave runners and boats all day long, but we would do our best to fit him in. The soonest that we would have been able to do so would have been between 45-60 minutes after he returned back. According to him this was not good enough for him and he claimed it was our fault that he could not rent the wave runner initially or as soon as he arrived back without delay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    4
    4
    1
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Schedule ahead...for your fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I'll start by saying I had a Groupon...now that said...I usually encounter scheduling challenges when any type of "Special" discount is envolved as everyone wants in...so be persistent and patient. We didn't get the boat initially discussed but hey, you really aren't promised anywho. the boat we did have was nice, roomy, handled well and we enjoyed a fabulous day on the Tampa Bay.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great expierence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Alex, was very helpful in booking the boat, and giving us directions and hints on where to go. A island where we were able to snorkle and gather shellls, seen a dolphin and went tubing
The price for 4 hours was reasonable.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
2 reviews
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“DO NOT RENT A BOAT FROM LOTTO BOAT”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We rented a boat from Lotto Boat through Travel Zoo and it was the biggest disappointment ever!!!! We were so looking forward to it. It was my son's birthday present and my sister-in-law was visiting from Philly for only 3 days. The boat would not go over 8 miles per hour and it was so loud.The engine smelled like gas the whole time. They told us it would take 20 minutes to get to Skyway Bridge. At almost an hour after the long NO WAKE, we called them. They said there was nothing they could do, we could turn around, but they didn't have any other boats. Knowing it would take another hour and since we only had this one day (my son took off work), we decided to fish under bridge and hopefully get a credit. On the way back, boat broke down. They said they didn't know what to do!! We ended up getting coast guard involved. Finally they sent someone, after towing us, his daughter called and told us to look for the kill switch. The people running the company didn't even know about it! It took them 3 hours to get us in!! We missed my son's birthday dinner. They (Alex) were so rude and not only didn't he give us our money back ($180), he was nasty and laughed when we asked for a credit for another time. They are advertising through Groupon and Social Living too. DO NOT GO ON THEIR UNSAFE BOAT! Did I mention there was NO anchor on boat? Everytime we tried to fish, we drifted back under bridge. Boats are unsafe and company is CROOKED!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
av8tor14, Manager at LottoBoat, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
The review that was filed by this person that went out on the boat as mentioned took the boat shortly after it had been returned by another customer without any problems noted. Within an hour of these people departing they called in and said that they seemed to be experiencing issues with the boat not performing with speed. They were told to return the boat to the dock if there was problems with the boat and we would reschedule them at another time due to all of the other boats being rented out for the day. They refused to return the boat back and ended up flipping the engine disable switch so that the boat would not start. After repeated calls with them stating that the boat would not start or run I continued to ask if this switch was in the correct position which they insisted it was. It took one of the dock help to go out to the stranded boat and customers to find that the switch was not in the proper position. We strive for safety of our clients along with our vessels. Due to the fact that this customer would NOT heed to the instructions given to them by one of the employees who talked to them twice reiterating that if they were experiencing any problems to please return so that no other issues would arise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed LottoBoat also viewed

 

Been to LottoBoat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage LottoBoat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.