We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Burgers for burger people.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Engine No. 9

Engine No. 9
56 Dr MLK Jr Street, St. Petersburg, FL 33705
+1 727-623-0938
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 744 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Bar, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Local burger restaurant. Large bar, beer and wine only. Won best burger Tampa bay 2013
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Burgers for burger people.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

After a lifetime of searching for great burgers, I have found one that rests close to, if not at the top of my list. I am aware that some people only care about giant patties or cheap prices. If you fall into those categories, or if you prefer burgers well done and slather them in ketchup, no need to spend the $10-15 for these burgers.
However, for those like myself who prefer burgers at medium (at most) and appreciate the balance between flavors and amounts of each component, you must try Engine No. 9.
The apps are wonderful (try the duck wings).
Burgers, as mentioned above, are tasty and very well put together.
The beer and wine selection is pretty good. They seem to really care about supporting local breweries. They are, at this point, the only place where I can find Rapp gose outside of the brewery itself.
I also cannot forget the fries. The curly fries are amazing!
It is a smaller place, so if you are going during peak hours, be prepared for a little bit of a wait or grab a drink at the bar and mingle. Also, pay attention to the schedule for the Rays as they are located only a few blocks from Tropicana Field and things get hectic during game nights.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    23
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best sweet potato fries anywhere!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

What do these people do to their potatoes?? every single thing is phenomenol!.. tater tots, fries, sweet potato fries.. so they have that down!.... burgers are exceptional and well seasoned.. we had to wait for a few minutes as it's more like a dive bar they made look pretty so there is limited seating!... who cares about that! us foodies are looking for good food right??
I would say the only thing wrong this place is no dark beers on draft and their burgers could be a tad bit juicier.. however it was my first time!... I got no complaints. you should try it out!... The saint is more like The DEVIL!....LOL

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Burgers, Burgers, Burgers!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

Went here for the first time with some friends. Great service, waiter explained the menu and made great recommendations. We were not rushed. Food was delicious. Marvelous combinations and cooked exactly as ordered.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Tennessee
Top Contributor
228 reviews 228 reviews
188 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Must try for burger lovers ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

If you love a great burger you must try this place. Not the best location but a high quality place. Great service. Wonderful beer selection. And surprisingly some awesome wings as well. I would come back here again and again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best Burgers--Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Had read all the reviews, and frankly was snickering a little--how can a burger place be the "best"? I've eaten so many over 60 years, all over the country, that I found that humerous.

Not any more. It was, in fact, the best I have ever had. Perfectly cooked, perfect bun, selection of toppings to match anything you wanted and then applied in just the right mix...even with the fries being below average (way below), I still give this place 5 stars. That is how good the burger was...just get a different side than the regular fries.

I was in the area, 4 hours drive away, for another reason. I will be looking for any excuse to make that drive again for these burgers.

Outstanding

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Engine No. 9 also viewed

 

Been to Engine No. 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Engine No. 9, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.