We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good theater” 4 of 5 stars
Review of American Stage Theatre Company

American Stage Theatre Company
163 3rd Street North, Raymond James Theatre, St. Petersburg, FL 33701
727-823-7529
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 126 things to do in St. Petersburg
Attraction details
Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good theater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have been season subscribers for over 30 years and still enjoy our theater experiences. Unfortunately this last season was a bit grim and not up beat. However, the Manager did listen to comments from the subscribers and has given a good list of plays for next year. I wish that he had not signed a 10 year agreement to produce an August Wilson show every year. Even though Mr. Wilson is an excellent playwright, the same theme comes through in each of his plays. Therefore, one of his plays every 2-3 years would be preferred.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    1
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seminole, Florida
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Pre-performance Lectures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The quality and diversity of performances offered by American Stage Theatre are just wonderful and consistent from year to year. We really enjoy the educational factor from the lectures prior to attending a play. They add a dimension to our enjoyment and understanding of the playwright, characters, and storyline that was missing before these lectures were offered.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Was in St. Pete for a few days and walked past here on my way to dinner. On the way back, grabbed a very affordable ticket and went in to see live theater downtown. THough the play wasn't really to my liking, kudos to this venue, which is comfortable, has great sight lines and delivers a feeling of excitement. Nice lounge with comfy chairs to wait in before the show, too.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
247 reviews 247 reviews
106 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Attended the play the Amish Project while on vacation. Theatre opened in 2009 and seats 182 people in high back chairs and allows drinks into the theatre. There is not a bad seat in the house.

If we lived closer we would definitely be regulars here. We will plan on attending the theatre when in the area again.

If in your travels you have the opportunity to see this one woman play, the Amish Project, it is indeed worth it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
570 reviews 570 reviews
268 attraction reviews
Reviews in 191 cities Reviews in 191 cities
330 helpful votes 330 helpful votes
“Fantastic theatre; fantastic performance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We got tickets for August Wilson's play, "The Piano Lesson," on February 6. Tickets were not cheap, but the performance was one of the best we have seen, in over a half-century of attending theatre performances around the world. The stage set and properties (maybe a little upper-class for the owners?) were great, and the acting superb. A relatively small theatre, there is not a bad seat in the house. The ASTC bills itself as "Tampa Bay's Best Professional Theatre," and I would not argue with that claim.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Stage Theatre Company also viewed

 

Been to American Stage Theatre Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Stage Theatre Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.