We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Thai in St Pete” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thai-am Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Thai-am Restaurant
6040 4th St N, St. Petersburg, FL 33703-1420
727-522-7813
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #181 of 739 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Best Thai in St Pete”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Thai-Am gets it right. They understand a request for "Thai hot" and don't decide for their customers that westerners can't take it! Huge menu of delicious choices, particularly the curries. Prompt, accommodating service both for eat-in and take-out. Beware of the Pad Thai -- it comes covered with a strange red sauce that detracts from the dish.
Parking can be an issue because it shares a strip mall location with a very popular family-oriented pizza and pasta restaurant.
Thai-Am has an old fashioned, but sort of charming punch card loyalty program that offers $10 off for every $100 spent there.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    11
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Neighborhood Delight for Thai Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We've been visiting this Thai restaurant for years. We ate here again and enjoyed the entrees of salmon with ginger sauce and tamarind shrimp. Both dishes were plentiful and featured robust flavors, although the Tamarind sauce was somewhat watery. The service was attentive throughout the meal. The prices have been going up over the years, like everything, yet a meal at Thai Am is a very satisfying one.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinellas Park, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very Good for Certain Dishes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We had dinner at Thai-Am, and most of the food was wonderful. If I could give 1/2 a circle, I'd really rate it 3.5, not 4. My wife wanted a papaya salad, and that's where we had the letdown. Compared to Thai Town, this salad did not measure up. I tried it as well, and it wasn't spicy enough, and the papaya was limp - it didn't appear that fresh. They gave us a discount on the bill because she wasn't happy with it. The service was excellent. Attentive and friendly. My and my son's dishes were also very good. He had a fried rice dish, and I had a new one, the Pad Thai Wonton - with fried wontons instead of noodles. It was very delicious!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Just received take out... Was really good- have been going there for a while- always consistent- best Thai in my area! Will go back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage MI
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had dinner. I had the beef with garlic and black pepper. It was OK, but the beef was a bit tough, and I didn't taste the garlic or pepper. My wife had curry with tofu and said that it was good. My food was warm enough but not hot. The waiter gives you a serving of rice, and had to repeat that midway through the meal. Service was slower than it should have been with two waiters and only 5 occupied tables. The atmosphere was what you'd expect, except the music didn't fit the setting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai-am Restaurant also viewed

St. Petersburg, FL
St. Petersburg, FL
 

Been to Thai-am Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai-am Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.