We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for fish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Skyway Jack Restaurant

Skyway Jack Restaurant
2795 34TH St S, St. Petersburg, FL 33711-3532
(727) 867-1907
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 706 Restaurants in St. Petersburg
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
St. Petersburg, Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good place for fish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

My wife and I recently enjoyed a flounder and cod fish sandwich at this restaurant. We had both blackened although the normal way they serve it is fried. The fish was very good and they had great cole slaw. It is a locally run place not a chain. It hires local people who have been there a while. THey also serve a good breakfast. I am orginally from the North East where a product called "Scrapple" was served a a breadfast meat substitute... delicious! Try it I do not think you will be disappointed :>).

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    39
    12
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Top Contributor
191 reviews 191 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Good Breakfasts and Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is THE place for breakfast. The food is plentiful, tasty, and reasonable. The service is always good. Some of the waitresses are "sassy" but fun. All of them are efficient and just plain nice.

The best deal of the day is breakfast before 8:00 a.m. from Monday through Friday. Then you can get an enormous breakfast for less than $3 provided you order a drink such as coffee or juice. The total still comes to less than $5 for an enormous breakfast. For example, some of the specials ordered include a pancake, bacon or sausage, and two eggs. Another favorite consists of two eggs, a breakfast meat, toast, and grits.

The menu is incredible for both breakfast and lunch. You can have such usual items as brains and eggs, a skillet that contains Italian sausage, onions, cheese, peppers and eggs, many different kinds of omelets, etc.

The waitresses are always there to provide good service. Your coffee cup is always promptly filled and without asking.

The decor is rustic and the early morning crowd tends to be men who are either on their way to work or as in my case on my way to go fishing.

Be warned, however, of two things. This is a cash only place. The prices are low because no credit cards are accepted. But for less than $5 who needs a credit card. Second, on the weekends despite the absence of the breakfast specials, this place is packed.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houlton, Maine
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stopped in here for breakfast on our weekend trip to St Petersburg, and were very happy. The food was simple and good, and the prices were more than reasonable. Be warned - no credit cards are taken here, so bring cash. A great experience overall.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Pete
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Good food for not a lot of money! Lots of breakfast specials to choose from! Nice neighborhood diner.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best brunch ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We always try to come here whenever we are in St. Pete, we love this place, wish we had one in Ohio!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skyway Jack Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Skyway Jack Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skyway Jack Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.