We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food Nice Decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Mesa

Red Mesa
4912 4TH St N, St. Petersburg, FL 33703-3819
+1 727-527-8728
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: Latin, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Of Mexican origin, fused with flavors and favorites from Latin American, Tex-Mex & Caribbean kitchens. A St. Pete landmark, known all over for inspired dining at its best, garnering numerous awards and kudos, most proud of our personal service.
Pahrump, Nevada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good Food Nice Decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We enjoy the food at Red Mesa and would stop once and a while when visiting St Pete. It's shooting for high-end Mexican cuisine as reflected in the prices and decor. I had the Pork Verde ($9.50) and it was delicious. Hubby had something called Chicken Fernando ($9.50) and wasn't as impressed. It was good, just not special. It annoys me that they charge for chips and salsa, but I guess you can't be upscale with free chips? They're doing something right, though, because the place was packed. Service was friendly and efficient. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    93
    31
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Mexian food I ever had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Really really good. My friends and I loved everything from apps to dessert. Allison was our server and was just as sweet as can be...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, IN
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Food, Friendly Service, Enjoyable Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I was interested in stopping at Red Mesa from the reviews I've seen here on Trip Advisor. I was not disappointed.
Stopped in at about 1:00 p.m. on Fathers' Day. Definitely busy and the hostess informed our party of four that it would be about a 20 minute wait. Within five minutes we were seated, nice start. The chips and salsa were a brought to the table while we viewed the menu. Didn't ask the server to bring them, didn't check to see if there was an extra charge for them. Didn't care we would have ordered them anyway.
I had a combo plate with a tamale, tostada, enchilada, and refried beans. The food was served quickly, great flavors, and a good presentation. I requested some of the house hot sauce. Fantastic. Heat and flavor both.
We will definitely return to Red Mesa on our next visit to St. Petersburg.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Will not go back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

First no free chips and salsa. $3 for something most give you as a complimentary appetizer. Was disappointed. Food was way over priced and didnt have a wide variety of things to choose from. Some items on menu had to come as is with "no exceptions". Felt out of place here. Had valet parking but the parking lot was only 25 yards if that.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best of St Petersburg”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Red Mesa has been my families favorite restaurant for years. It's also the go to restaurant for our out of town guests and the one everyone wants to go back to. We have never had an issue with the service or the meal. Love the red sangria!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Mesa also viewed

 

Been to Red Mesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Mesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.